We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing! View,location, size, Did I say view yet...”
other traveller has booked this property
One of the most beautiful terraces in Positano with a breathtaking view over town, beach and gulf
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
One of the most beautiful terraces in Positano with a breathtaking view over town, beach and gulf
The terrace Living room with French doors opening to the terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
One of the most beautiful terraces in Positano with a breathtaking view over town, beach and gulf
The terrace
Living room with French doors opening to the terrace
The living room, massive wooden dining table, sofa-bed
The Kitchen
The kitchen
Bedroom 1 with double bed and ensuite bath room
Bedroom 2 with double bed and French doors opening to the terrace
Bathroom 2
Bedroom 3
Bathroom 3
Bathroom 3
Bedroom 4 with two single beds convertible in a double
Bathroom 4
Mosaic decoration on the terrace
Blloming Amarillis in the garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Positano, Amalfi Coast, Campania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Larry C
Monroe, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Amazing! View,location, size, Did I say view yet? WOW”
Reviewed 2 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Ok, let’s start with the view. The moment you arrive at the villa you can’t help but gasp at the view from the balcony and yes it looks just like all those pictures you see in travel ads! The patio is huge and has two umbrellas and some lounge chairs and you will need them because every minute you are here you will spend on the patio. The entire apartment was spotless and had every amenity you could possibly want including all the things necessary for your gourmet cook to use cooking up fantastic dinners. The villa is on the high side of the town with many steps to go up but once on top there was a grocery store, bar, Pizza shop and most everything you need for your stay. Of course there are many steps down as well (much easier) that lead to the heart of the town, the beach area with many shops and restaurants and plenty of activities. I do recommend you get a bus ticket since the walk up the steps is tedious and time consuming.
Our host Marco was very helpful with recommendations on getting around and he arraigned some awesome tours for our group as well such as the private boat to Capri, just ask him and he can make it happen and he speaks perfect English as well. We were a group of 6 (three couples) and he was in touch with us the whole time making sure everything was perfect, he even had porters come to the villa to help tote the heavy luggage back up the steps on our last day.
The place was perfect for our group and had room for more and I won’t elaborate anymore and spoil the fun of arriving and seeing this place so you will have to do this on your own and believe me you will not be disappointed!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The property was perfect for our group of three couples.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaffa9
Adelaide Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stunning views”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Firstly, apologies to Marco Messimo and Giovanni for my belated review. I have had the fortune of staying at Don Giovanni twice, once in 2012, with a large group, we leased the whole property and had a fantastic stay, even though the weather didn't,t play ball . And again in November 2013 with my son and his friend, this time the weather was unseasonably good. The accommodation is fantastic, excellent, and exactly what you want when staying in this iconic section of Italy. Please, don't stay in a western style hotel or a new building when you can immerse yourself in the history of Positano. This accommodation sets the mood for a great holiday in one of the most pictured landscapes of Italy. Added to that, is the history of this family and building, not enough room for me to get into that story, but if you are lucky enough to meet the very cultured and educated owners, you may get some background. I could write about the amazing style and artistry of this " villa" but what makes this property so unique is the views and the wide expansive balconies, upper and lower. The only drawback is the views make it to easy to decide to stay at Don Giovani's and not explore the area of Positano and the beautiful neighbouring towns/ villages. Do yourselves a favour take the opportunity to stay at one of the most charming and historic accommodation options in one of the most charming and historic areas of Italy. It,s a no brainer.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ester G
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A piece of heaven!”
Reviewed 10 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed for one week at Casa San Matteo with seven girlfriends. We had the time of our lives! Waking up to the terrace views over Positano was pricesless! The house was clean and tidy. The housekeeper Giovanni was a sweetheart and the owner, Marco, was an amazing guide! We can't wait to come back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We loved the terrace view and the centrale location!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC920
Lebanon, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don Giovanni not worth”
Reviewed 30 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We rented the Don Giovanni and could not wait for the week to be over and be out of there. I am so sorry for the owners, they are very nice people and I am sure they are trying hard, but this apartment needs a lot of TLC to be worth your money. The bathrooms were very dirty when we arrived, although the owner promptly addressed the issue, it was too late for us. I wish I could post the pictures. There s way too much grime, and the only way to get rid of it is a true renovation..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Gorgeous views from the terrace
Liked least: Dirty bathrooms. Very damp bedrooms
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jul 2013
There are occasionally guests, fortunately very rarely, who have a hostile attitude from the very begin of their stay, maybe because they realize that they have chosen the wrong destination for their holidays, maybe because of some tensions inside they group or for some other obscure reason. There have admittedly been some problems with the cleaning on the day of arrival; these were however promptly removed to full satisfaction, as the guest confirms in her comment; the critical attitude continued nevertheless to the limit of arrogance. After only two days the replacement of all towels was imperatively requested, a services normally not included in our prices. We discovered that the towels were taken to the beach and soaked with sea water, something we obviously don’t expect our guest to do. Moreover, as a beam of the large sun shade parasol was found broken by our housekeeper, the guests refused to know anything about it; we have not asked for a compensation of the damage, as we could not prove that it was their fault and we didn’t want to create further tension. The presence of these guests for one week in Casa San Matteo was rather stressing and we admittedly took a breath of relief when they left. I hope that they will find for their next holiday a destination and a place more suitable for their tastes. As for us, we will continue to strive for improvement and hope to attract to Positano and Casa San Matteo the right people who appreciate the fascination of this romantic spot unique in the world.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stalala
San Francisco
1 review
“Exceeded expectations!”
Reviewed 3 June 2013 for a stay in July 2012

I rented Don Giovani, Tosca and Otello for a week to celebrate my birthday and had a fabulous time. Marco was a great host and offered us lots of advice. Ad he organized a wonderful dinner for our last night at the villa. The apartment is spacious and the views amazing. We spent many a sunsets enjoying cocktails on the patio. The patio is huge and the highlight of the house. Positano was a great base for a large group and everyone had so much fun. I hope to come back and visit many times and I will always stay here if I can.

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing