We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely place, perfect for visiting Tuscany”

Review of Alice del Lago

Alice del Lago country house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Alice del Lago country house
lake view swimming pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Alice del Lago country house
lake view
swimming pool
park
bedroom with two single beds
Alice del Lago by night
park
swimming pool
kitchen
bathroom
Alice del Lago in the evening
landscape
park
park
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Pistoia, Province of Pistoia, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Danish first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
rayodelso...
Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lovely place, perfect for visiting Tuscany”
Reviewed 3 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Due to a delay we arrived in the dark and unable to find the country House we called Roberta and she came to pick us up by car. Our spacious 2-persons apartment on the ground floor was perfect with good equiped kitchen, nice shower and goof wifi signal. Roberta had put together a table full of information, even a guide in Dutch! Roberta speaks English very well and is always ready to help you. We got a parking ticket in Pistoia and Roberta made arrangements for us so we didn't have to spend our holiday time to get it sorted out. Very nice garden (including vegetable garden where you can take some to cook with, as we did!) with pool and sunbeds. We loved the location, a few minutes by car from Pistoia with lots of restaurants for dinner and a few minutes away from the Autostrada to go to Siena (our favourite!!), Florence, Pisa and Lucca.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Stellen
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thrifty_T...
Germany
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Beautiful secluded property that lacks... toilet paper!”
Reviewed 12 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Alice Del Lago is located just south of Pistoia off the Autostrada. If you have a car, this is a great location. There's very little traffic on the road in/out of Pistoia, and getting on/off the Autostrada to head to Firenze, Pisa, etc is easy.
Roberta and Lucca welcomed us personally and were extremely friendly. They even helped carry our bags up to the apartment.
The whole property is decorated with the same theme; even Roberta's office has the same decor on the walls and fabrics. It's not as "old lady" as it looks in the pictures, and the owners are quite young.
There are five apartments here, and the owners also live in the house in their own apartment. It was a family house that was renovated a few years ago.
We stayed in apartment 4, upstairs. There are two bedrooms, but one of the bedrooms has only a single bed in it. The living room has two daybeds with real mattresses instead of couches. Wifi worked well, and the satellite tv was a bonus.
The kitchen is adequate - large fridge and dishwasher - but no microwave. There's a hot pot, an American-style coffeemaker and an Italian-style coffeemaker.
The shower was very tiny. My two little boys barely fit in there together. More than enough towels were provided, including the biggest, fluffiest pool towels I have ever seen!
The pool is not kid-friendly. There are no steps to get in, only two ladders, and it is quite deep.
Laundry here is communal and free of charge, but we never had to wait for a machine. Two washers and one dryer.
There's an herb garden and a vegetable garden for guests to use. Unfortunately, all the vegetables were gone when we arrived except the tomatoes.
The biggest problem we had with Alice del Lago was the lack of supplies provided. This would have been acceptable - but nowhere were we notified that we would have to stock these items. I would have appreciated a heads up that we needed to purchase toilet paper, hand soap, dish soap, dishwashing detergent, and paper towels in advance.
Other than that, a nice stay.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aussielei...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A wonderful oasis in Tuscany!”
Reviewed 20 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Driving into to Alice Del Lago can be a little daunting- you do wonder what you are in for. The further along the drive you go, through the large iron gates, the more your anxiety is eased. When you see the pool and house you are quietly happy, by the time you meet the gorgeous Roberta, see your room and the rest of the facilities, you are simply delighted that you booked to stay here. Not quite in the country, but not in the city, this country house makes a great launching point if you wish to see Tuscany, or if you want a week or two in the sun. A five minute drive to Pistoia station opens up a world of possibilities- Firenze, Lucca and Pisa are just a few places in easy reach. What's more- our room had everything we needed, beautifully clean, fresh with a lovely bunch of hydrangeas to welcome us. Our two children loved the immaculately clean, large salt water pool, especially after a day trip to a very hot and dusty Florence. Roberta is an excellent host, nothing is too much trouble, information about the surrounding area is left for you to peruse, she invites you to use her guest laundry, her herb garden and even has board games in the room for the children. We loved our few nights at Alice Del Lago- we wished we had booked for longer!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinmelv...
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to visit with lovely owners.”
Reviewed 20 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We are just back from a week away at this lovely villa. Roberts and Luca were very welcoming and were always at hand to help in any way to make our stay comfortable. The apartments were immaculate and well kept, with fresh bedclothes and towels. Swimming pool was lovely and well maintained. We travelled with a young child who was made to feel very welcome by the owners. This was a great place to stay and use as a base for all areas of Tuscany. I would highly recommend this little gem of a villa. Great owners and a lovely villa.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Your age range 25-34
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johan_Van...
Heverlee, Brabant, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay when visiting Tuscany”
Reviewed 23 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We're just back from a wonderful holday in Tuscany. We stayed in lovely Alice del Lago where we were warmly welcomed by Roberta and Luca. For us (family with three children) this was the perfect place to discover the northern part of Tuscany. Firenze, Pisa, Lucca, Pistoia, Vinci, Viareggio, San Gimignano and even Cinque Terre are easy reachable.

The apartment was simply perfect. Bright new (the house was completely restored only very recently), very clean, well equiped and with a great view overlooking the swimmingpool and surrouding area. The pool is large and is cleaned every day. The property is very well secured (remote operated gate, security camera's) and has a very nice garden. Roberta and Luca are super friendly, they will do everything to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

Alice del Lago is a highly recommended place to spend your holidays. When we visit Tuscany again, we'll book this apartment again without any doubts.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;