We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Place for a Mini-holiday!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa San Giovenale

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The view of San Giovenale, the quarter hosting our holiday house
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
The view of San Giovenale, the quarter hosting our holiday house
Orvieto is the city of the Duomo, the beautiful Gotic cathedral
Orvieto is also famous for its network of caves, tunnels in the underground of the cliff
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Orvieto, Province of Terni, Umbria

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
tuttopepe
Hamilton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Place for a Mini-holiday!”
Reviewed 5 August 2018 for a stay in July 2018

We knew about Casa San Giovenale because our friends had stayed there a few years ago, but we finally had an opportunity to go and stay in July. All of the positive reviews capture the pleasures of staying there -- wonderfully comfortable, spacious, immaculate, and well appointed (full kitchen, lovely courtyard, etc.) and well situated with great views but close to everything in the city centre. In addition to amazing accommodation, you get to meet the fabulous hosts, Ornella and Piero. They will make sure you know everything you need to know to ensure a terrific holiday in Orvieto, from advice on things to see and where to eat. There are a few local food shops and a terrific enoteca almost on your doorstep and it was nice to be just a few steps beyond the tourist clutter. It is a treat for a short-term stay, but would also be great for a long-term stay. We plan to make Casa San Giovenale 'go to' every year.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massarell...
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Beautiful Rooms, View and Wonderful Hosts”
Reviewed 23 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

This is a 1000 year old B&B located on the wall of Orvieto. The view from
the front window was spectacular, looking over the valley below the wall.
Our hosts picked us up from the train station, far below the town, on our
arrival and took us back to the station when we departed. Yes, they speak
English. With the four of us and our luggage, this was so much
appreciated.
We were perfectly situated to walk anywhere in the city. Our hosts made
reservations for us at a recommended restaurant (Trattoria La Palomba).
They gave us suggestions for touring and had bikes available for our use.
The apartment is large and airy with a beautiful outdoor patio.
The kitchen was well equipped so we could make breakfast and dinner with
the local produce and pastas.
We loved our stay, Orvieto and our hosts and you will too.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia...
Nantheuil
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed 28 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Apart from this property being superb with arguably the best view in Italy, the owners Ornella and Piero make it a very special experience. It is well presented and extremely comfortable and help is always just a message away. We stayed for 3 weeks and can't recommend it highly enough. By the way, make sure you book well in advance as it is extremely popular.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kalp-51
california
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best view in Town ”
Reviewed 31 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

This was my second visit to Orvieto. Stayed for 4 Nights at this Property. It is a beautiful home
Well cared after with all the amenities.Piero
& Ornella Are excellent host. Communication with Pierluigi was always prompt & he was very
Helpful. I would like to return & spend some
More time in Orvieto. The house also has
Some Etruscan dwelling under the current
Home & you can see it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F
Nampa, Idaho
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“It Surpasses Even These Lovely Photos”
Reviewed 10 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

What a delight to spend our week here, comfortable in Casa San Giovenale. While the photos on the TripAdvisor listing are faithful pictures of the place, it is impossible to fully capture the nearness you feel, as Piero and Ornella's guest, to the peace and beauty of this little incredibly interesting town with its historic structures (and endlessly intriguing lacework of caves beneath), people-watching cafes, pleasant hikes. And always there's the Umbrian landscape stretching out below, to to remind you of the beauty of this part of Italy.

Whether walking to a nearby market (we cook many of our own meals during such weeks) or hiking to Etruscan ruins, or beholding the a.d.1240 era duomo, , or or striding along the paved trail that surrounds the tufa tabletop that it's all built upon, or just walking along cobblestone streets in the magical light of evening, pretending to be a local part of the Passegiata... it is all done pleasurably from here; always you have in Casa San Giovenale a safe and comfortable place to rest and recover energies at day's end, to ponder the refreshment you are discovering for your soul.

All of these superlatives are polished even more by these incredibly vital, imaginative and interesting hosts. Really.

Book as soon as you know your travel dates, as this one's calendar will fill early!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing