We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place! A gem in Orvieto”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa San Giovenale

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The view of San Giovenale, the quarter hosting our holiday house
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
The view of San Giovenale, the quarter hosting our holiday house
Orvieto is the city of the Duomo, the beautiful Gotic cathedral
Orvieto is also famous for its network of caves, tunnels in the underground of the cliff
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Orvieto, Province of Terni, Umbria

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Gigi M
San Francisco, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place! A gem in Orvieto”
Reviewed 26 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Ornella and Piero, the owners are wonderful people. They picked us up from the train station in Orvieto and took us to their beautiful Casa San Giovenale. What a great service they provide! The place was amazing with a great view of Umbria hills, vineyards and beautiful sunset from the window. It is very clean. comfortable, spacious and has a true authentic medieval atmosphere. I was able to cook comfortably in the kitchen throughout our stay in Orvieto although there were tons of great restaurants in the town. My husband and I would come back again for sure. If you are somebody who likes to party, loud and messy please respect this place and the neighborhood because it is an authentic medieval town with locals leaving peacefully.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paula3201...
South Portland, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“A very special place”
Reviewed 23 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We've just returned from our trip to Italy, and our stay at Casa San Giovenale was definitely a highlight! Piero&Ornella were waiting at the apartment when we arrived and could not have been more friendly and helpful, offering suggestions on what to see and where to eat. The apartment was quite comfortable for a family of 4 (2 adults, 2 teenagers), with plenty of room. The views are spectacular, and we loved hearing the church bells ring in the morning. Easy walking to everything, Quiet and lovely. We would definitely recommend!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: We liked everything!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wyongahfe...
wyongah
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely property, outstanding hosts”
Reviewed 4 April 2016 for a stay in October 2015

My wife and I stayed for one week in this property and thoroughly enjoyed all that it and the village of Orvieto had to offer. We had visited the village for a day trip a few years previous and decided that it was one of our favourite locations and so decided to revisit.
We were so glad that we booked Casa San Giovenale, as its position and amenities were perfect for us. The view from the property over the Umbrian countryside is outstanding. The unit is located in a very peaceful area of the village but close enough for an easy stroll to the shops and restaurants.
Piero and Ornella were perfect hosts and ensured that we had everything that we needed and were always ready to provide advice as needed. We really enjoyed meeting them for a coffee morning in the village. We did not have our own car at this point in our travels and Piero and Ornella were kind enough to ferry us to from the railway station.
We would highly recommend this property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and great outlook over the countryside.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
halchorp
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Amazing home base...incredible hospitality”
Reviewed 20 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We drove to Casa San Giovenale after dark, and would never have found the way without excellent directions (with photos via PDF) from Piero. After we arrived and Piero and Ornella showed us the house, they helped us find a free parking place down the hill, and since shops were closed and we needed milk for the next morning, Piero ran with me into town to two different bars where we obtained milk. Piero and Ornella also provided good recommendations for restaurants and bars and things not to miss in Orvieto.
When we awoke the next morning, we were literally stunned by the incredible view from the huge front window at Casa SG (see photo). Perched high above the beautiful Umbrian valley, you see olive trees, vineyards, old estates, and verdant hills. We also loved being so close to the church, which has amazing frescoes and church bells.
The house itself is the most comfortable we stayed in while in Italy. It is charming, with very high ceilings, lots of light, an enclosed courtyard (which functions like another room in good weather), and a recently updated bathroom which includes a clothes washer. The kitchen and dining area are very functional and great. (They also left a supply of staples: everything from balsamico to olive oil to sugar and coffee.)
Our son stayed on a very comfortable pull-out bed in the dining area. The bedroom was very comfortable, too, and Ornella's artwork graces the walls of Casa SG.If you are looking for charm and atmosphere, you will love the living room that includes a view down to an ancient cistern dug into the tufa.
We really loved our stay there...and can't wait to go back and stay longer!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and the hosts
Liked least: Driving in Orvieto ; )
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raquel444...
Albany
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Immersed in History”
Reviewed 2 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We enjoyed our stay in this sweet and beautifully appointed home. It is wonderful when special attention is given to the bed linens...something that is always appreciated and makes one feel luxuriated! We especially enjoyed hearing the church bells from the home and the view at sunset is truly magical. Walking back from town each evening made us both feel like residents of Orvieto. We highly recommend this spot for a single or a couple. The home is well appointed and personally decorated by the owners beautiful artwork. You will not be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The decor and the history of the home..
Liked least: Wish there were screens on windows.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing