We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Save
Review Highlights
Loved the experience!

We had a great experience on the funiculare. It ran every 30 minutes each way. It’s a fun time. We... read more

Reviewed 2 November 2018
cpixok
,
Stroud, OKlahoma
via mobile
Visited when we arrived in Montecatini Terme

The first day when we arrived we went to Montecatini Alto. We took the funicular (Funicolare - 7... read more

Reviewed 23 October 2018
jackiera1
,
Raleigh, North Carolina
Read all 2 197 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Montecatini Terme
from US$144,40
More Info
from US$79,70
More Info
Reviews (2 197)
Filter reviews
2 197 results
Traveller rating
1 329
727
120
12
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 329
727
120
12
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cable car minute ride fun trip every half hour great view old town nice ride great fun at lunchtime takes about minutes lovely trip both ways until midnight worth a trip euros return return trip funicular railway
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 2 197 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

No hassle travel. Regular timetable which you will probably find a copy of in you hotel, every 30 mins , with a siesta from 1.30-14.30.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank HerDudeness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

An easy ride up to Montecatini Alto rather than an exhaustive treak. Gradient reached 38 degrees at one point. If you are in Montecanti it is well worth it for the 7 euros.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank ace97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

Very steep railway upto montecatini alto. Just too hot to walk in midday heat. Superb views from summit

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Davehume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

Unless you are a fitness fanatic it’s the best way to get up to Montecatina Alta. A village well worth visiting for both the views and the quaint town. A wonderful experience going up in the funicular with the gradient going up to 38 degrees in places. I recommend sitting in the town square watching the world go by. There is an interesting memorial garden next to the church to the local patron saint, who seem to be a favourite with the army & fire service!

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank johnbeaumont43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018

For a mere 7 euro, you can take a return trip on this old cable car to Montecatini Alto.
Enjoy the experience and the views.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Lockemup1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews