We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect location perfect property in the lovely...”

Review of Villa Menaggio

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
4 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Menaggio, Lake Como, Lombardy

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JulieTour...
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect location perfect property in the lovely town of Menaggio. Lake Como.”
Reviewed 22 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

House was spotless lots of room for 2 families 8 in total. All kitchen equipment was clean and new. Great outside eating and garden area sunbeds tables etc. Location location the sound of the lake lapping outside the house was awsemoe. No need to have a car everything handy. Bakers supermarket fruit shops cafes just perfect.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ktg201520...
Vienna, Austria
1 review
“Incredible!”
Reviewed 2 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We were 4 couples staying in the Villa prior to a Wedding in Belaggio. The house was perfect for us, the location was beautiful, the view of the lake was amazing. Within a very short walk were were in Menaggio where there were lots of Restaurants to choose from and the Ferry area which was well connected up until early evening.
The Taxi boats are a fun experience too!
The service we had through booking this place was great and the owners very very friendly. We loved staying here and had more than enough space, very easy going and a lovely Italian flare! We would do it all over again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the size
Liked least: That one bedroom was connected to another, and the twin beds were terribly hard and not very comfortable. The main bathroom upstairs was a bath and we had to go downstairs to shower.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kdig42
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed 28 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My words can't express enough how amazing this trip was. I spent a year and a half planning our wedding at Villa Del Balbianello and the most important part was where everyone was going to stay. We rented two houses from Happy Holiday Homes this being the main focal point.

This house made the whole experience magical. My new wife and I (along with our children) spent 10 days here with my parents, my wife's parents her sister and brother in law.

The house was impeccably clean, the grounds fantastic and the hosts amazingly kind. The house is less than 5 minutes from the center of town, yet it seems secluded. There are way too many things to list that we did as a family and group, but suffice it to say there was enough to do for 22 people that no one was bored. It was truly a trip of a lifetime. Everything went perfectly well. The only thing that maybe possibly was not right was that it was slightly warm on the day of the wedding. I will take it!

What topped it all off was the team at Happy Holiday Homes. Without them things would have been a lot more challenging. The whole team, from Harold and Sarah (the owners) to Manuela, Danilo and Juliano was amazing. I would write for many pages if I could. Bottom line is that I would truly recommend them to find you a perfect holiday location around Lake Como. I don't know if it would let you, but feel free to email me and ask any questions. kdig42@yahoo.com.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, beauty and atmosphere of the house combined with the people.
Liked least: We saw an occasional roach
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy K
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful Property, But Beware Unkept Promises”
Reviewed 21 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012
5
people found this review helpful

This would have been a 5-star rating if the property management company had not been so misleading. First, the good news. Villa Mennagio is beautiful, well-maintained and was a good value for our group of six. The kitchen is large and well equipped. The decor was charming and bathrooms modern. The location was perfect -- easy walking distance from the boat dock and town center, but away from the crowds. Beds were not all that comfortable, but not terrible. The covered patio and garden was a lovely setting for cocktails and conversation. The elevator was a nice amenity for transporting luggage and travel weary bodies between floors. WiFi signal was a bit weak, but functioned well enough in certain areas of the house. All would have been perfect except for a couple "misunderstandings" with the property management company. Our confirmation email clearly stated that we would be greeted on the day of our arrival with a complimentary dinner prepared on site by a private chef. Upon arrival we were given several different reasons why this was not going to happen even after we showed the property manager the email that unequivocally stated that the meal was included in the rental package. We would have felt much better about the snafu if we had received a consistent explanation or a discount on our rental or an alternative -- dinner on another night, dinner at a restaurant -- really, any sort of accommodation to right the situation. Then there was the "orientation for your stay in Menaggio" which was really a pitch to buy property from the property management company that lasted over an hour and was every bit as annoying as the dreaded time share condo pitch that often accompanies free or discounted lodging packages in the U.S. The problem here is that we had no idea it was coming. Finally, although the property manager 's pitch included an offer to help us find best services, make reservations, etc., we quickly came to feel uncomfortable with asking for assistance. For example, an inquiry for recommendations about local wines was met with an offer to arrange to have wine delivered to the villa at a ridiculously high mark-up. Bottom line -- I highly recommend Villa Menaggio as a wonderful place to stay but beware broken promises, hidden motives and skip the "orientation." Other advice for your stay at Menaggio -- be sure to take the cooking class or make a reservation to dine at Il Caminettto, a short boat ride to Varenna to experience Chef Moreno's warm hospitality and fabulous food -- a highlight of our stay in the Lakes area. And, if you defined good restaurants in Menaggio, please share, as we had some really mediocre food there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Villa.
Liked least: Questionable honesty of property management.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing