We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nice clean place to stay with friendly...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of La mimosa

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Marsala, Province of Trapani, Sicily

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
629annea
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice clean place to stay with friendly accommodating owner.”
Reviewed 19 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed two nights at La Mimosa and found it quite comfortable. Antonino was very accommodating and met us on the main road to lead us to the property. We were welcomed with chilled water in the frig and a nice bottle of wine. It was hot and the air conditioning worked very well. Antonino shared fruits from his garden and let us pick basil for our salads we made in the well equipped kitchen. The property was close enough for us to tour the Florio winery and enjoy dinner at Le Lumie as well as a day trip to Tripani. He has several units, the one we had was 1 bedroom downstairs with a bathroom plus a loft upstairs that has a futon. I would recommend La Mimosa for a nice quiet place to stay outside of the city.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2015
Grazie alla prossima
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
8double8
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
Reviewed 29 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I must bear out the other reviewers. La Mimosa is recently refurbished to a high standard as well as being well equipped. Double glazed throughout, with air-conditioning in the bedroom.
A firm mattress meant a good night's sleep. Also, we got a change of linen after five days, which we weren't even offered when we stayed near Catania. Great shower with loads of pressure and piping hot water if you wanted it. There was also a bidet.
However, the best thing about the holiday was our host, Antonino. Although he speaks little English, his son can always come to the rescue, and Antonino is extremely helpful and willing to help you with local restaurants or excursions. He also was very generous to us, giving us free range of his vegetable garden as well as on occasions bring us samples of his wife,s excellent cooking to try.
His wine is very drinkable and reasonably priced.
The location is convenient to the supermarket and the sea, which has some great windsurfing and kite surfing water. Shallow, almost landlocked and with a clear steady breeze.
A great find that we would like to return to.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: My host
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Sep 2014
Salve Signor Peter e Signora grazie della sua ottima recinsione,è il trattamento che facciamo a tutti i nostri ospiti e sopratutto grazie dei bei consigli,via auguro una ottima salute a presto
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asia_PL83
Warsaw, Poland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A fantastic weekend at La Mimosa”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We stayed in the small apartment for two nights. The place is very independent, clean and welcoming. The apartment had everything you may need: there's a kitchen, tea and coffee, a fridge with a complimentary water. Antonino and his wife were both amazing, so warm and friendly. We received a bottle of complimentary wine and some biological veggies from Antonino's garden. We had a late flight the day we were supposed to check out and the owners told us we could keep the room until the late evening..with no extra charge!This is Sicilian hospitality at its best. Will definitely stay at La Mimosa the next time I am back at Marsala.Oh and we loved the German shepherd , ciao Nemo!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the cozyness
Liked least: nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thecassyp...
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“A lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 22 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Antonino is lovely, helpful and very generous - he let us pick fruit and veg from his garden and gave us some lovely cannoli and pizza too. His wine is well drinkable and well priced.

The properly is as shown in the photos, well appointed (though some sharp knives in the kitchen would be a good idea!) and secluded, With the shutters closed we slept really well.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleS...
Malta
1 review
“The best holiday home we ever rented so far”
Reviewed 31 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

I rented this house for me and my family just out of coincidence because the staff offered us the best price out of all and for its serene location. We were surprised to receive such a warm welcome by the owner, Antonino Donato. La Mimosa has the perfect location because it is secluded, surrounded by its own grounds yet close to all everyday amenities. Since we have three young daughters this is very important to us. The lovely beaches and the beautiful Egadi islands are really near too. I loved the fact that you get to pick up as many seasonal, organic vegetables as you like from the owners' grounds together with his excellent wine and cold pressed olive oil. For us this was also the best vacation home we ever rented because Mr Donato goes out of his way to make you feel so welcomed and helped us in everything especially when one of my daughters fell sick. Overall we recommend this house to everyone because it feels like home away from home. Thank you so much Signor Donato.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: lovely warm house, exceptionally clean and the owner is very very nice and helpful.
Liked least: I have nothing to complain about.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing