We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (380)
Filter reviews
380 results
Traveller rating
220
127
22
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
220
127
22
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews terrace overlooking spent days nooks and crannies pools wedding sea setting car steps town relaxation
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 380 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2016 via mobile

We've been back a month from our wedding at Hotel Villa Delle Meraviglie, and are still astounded by how perfect and truly magical it all was!! Our friends and family absolutely loved it too.

We can't express our gratitude enough to our wedding planners, Slow Dreams, for making our dream a reality. We would recommend them to anyone thinking of getting married in Italy. Lucia (based in the region) is simply amazing. We visited her last year and she spent 2 days showing us around the area and different wedding venues. She could not do enough for us. Nothing was ever too much trouble, and communication was always so easy and instant throughout the whole year running up to the event. Janie (based in America) is also an absolute pleasure to work with. She was always on hand and so helpful to family / friends that contacted her with any queries.

We definitely made the right choice in venue too. The hotel is picture perfect and was like having our own private Mediterranean style villa with staff for the week. All the staff were so friendly and eager to please. Despite the language barrier we were able to communicate and wouldn't see this as a problem (we just need to learn more Italian!). The staff arranged for us to have a pizza party one night which was fab, and stayed by the pool serving us until we decided to go to bed. They were also brilliant on the wedding day, and the manager stayed all day and night to oversee things. There was nothing I would change.

We have memories to last a lifetime and can't wait to go back to this special place (maybe on our anniversary!).

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank Lorna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2016

If you’re looking for a spectacular seacoast, diving from rocks into deep clean blue waters, few sand beaches, majestic mountains towering above and a nature as green and full of flowers as it can be, you’re in the right place. This is still the best kept secret in Southern Italy. The Hotel Villa delle Meraviglie is a little jewel, simple and elegant. There are suggestive areas to sunbathe, read, eat. The management is eager to help and friendly, but is new and could improve. Don’t count too much on the hotel Wi-Fi. Unless you want to eat salads and sandwiches, go to Maratea Centro Storico or to Maratea Porto where you’ll find real local food. A caveat: avoid the “economy” rooms. In a place like this, you should treat yourselves.

Room Tip: Don't take the economy rooms
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DuccioF4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2016

We've been in 5 hotels on the Maratea coast. This is the best one. Nice quite & beautiful place. You'll need a car to get there. There's no restaurant for dinner but its not a problem if you have a car.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VasilyGoncharov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2015

This place is hard to find but well worth it. Best not to rely on GPS - we ended up at the top of the mountain and had to call the hotel for directions (take SS18 towards Sapri, hotel is located near km 230). Beautiful spot nestled on the side of the mountain; beautifully landscaped with different levels; two swimming pools, different terraces with sitting areas; stairs down to the sea level which doesn’t have a beach but huge rocks, very picturesque. There is a bar by the pool. The room we had was fairly small but it overlooked the water, it was clean and the bed was very comfortable. I would definitely stay here again and probably for longer than a couple of days if I could.

Cons for hotel: wifi was not good
Pros for hotel: stunning location and landscaping on the grounds; hook in bathroom!

Room Tip: We had a standard room with a sea view and while the view was lovely we found the room to be a bit small and rather spartan in decor.
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2015

Spent 10 wonderful days at this outstanding place. Located close to the sea, no neighbours whatsoever, nicely designed venue. Comfortable rooms, however a little small. The rooms in the main building have sea view but no balcony, the others have a nice little terrace. Friendly and individual service with a smile. Two pools, one for children.
Downsides are:
- not well suited for elderly people, all very steep
- no restaurant for dinner (only breakfast and snacks)
- many many mosquitos, we recommend the fantastic Bite Away stick

In the area there are great beaches and a wonderful landscape, and some nice remote villages. Finding good restaurants is possible but sometimes tricky, don't go there without tipps from local people or a good travel guide book. You definitely need a car.
It was a great holiday with good value for money!

Room Tip: Rooms with terrace have no sea view but offer more privacy.
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kai F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews