We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (363)
Filter reviews
363 results
Traveller rating
226
97
16
13
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
226
97
16
13
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake view gala dinner fantastic views a lovely stay walk into town fantastic hotel boiled eggs italian food each morning every evening superior room nothing is too much trouble just returned from a week large balcony yogurt renato kettle
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 363 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2018 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for a week for a wedding at the castle. A really lovely hotel,spotlessly clean,excellent food and friendly staff. Nothing was too much trouble and they we're all helpful and informative. All the food was delicious and the gala and buffet evenings were fabulous. Would not hesitate in staying there again

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank jacbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018

Another visit to our the beautiful Malcesine (we realised that we first came here 21 years ago, although we have missed some years)!
Beach Hotel du Lac is our favourite hotel (having tried a few in the town).
So, a lovely week:
All staff are friendly, cheerful and efficient.
Lake-view room was spacious and cleaned well every day.
Kettle and fridge in room are always useful.
The pool is beautiful, with lots of loungers available.
The jetty is ideal for sunbathing before swimming in the lake, although this year many guests preferred to put their lounger on the pebble beach.
Extensive buffet breakfast now includes eggs cooked to order every day (no extra cost).
We stayed B&B but chose to eat at the hotel every evening. Plenty of choices, and 4 courses amazing value at 15 euros. Why walk into town when you can dine with the sun setting on the lake so close by.
The special buffet and gala dinners were delicious and generous. The chef and kitchen team obviously take a pride in their work.
Maria and her team of waiters make sure that everyone is happy. Renato (the owner) is always around during dinner - chatting to guests and serving desserts.
This year there was a grappa tasting evening - free to guests, and very interesting.
We had a late departure, so our luggage was stored while we spent the day in town before a final swim in the lake.
Debora was, as always, helpful and efficient in arranging our booking and transfers.
We are always sad to leave, but look forward to future visits.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank DorsetEeyore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018

We spent 4 nights in a superior room with great views of the lake and mountains from our bedroom. It was amazing waking up each morning to such fabulous scenery. The room was a good size with a comfortable bed and room for a settee. The balcony had 2 chairs and 2 sun loungers and plenty of room to move around. We had a kettle and a fridge (with mini-bar). You could ask for tea bags but we had brought our own and kept fresh milk in the fridge.
There was an extensive selection of cold foods each morning, cereals, ham,cheese, yogurts,rolls, pastries etc, plus boiled eggs which were kept warm, and one item perhaps bacon or pancakes was cooked to order each morning. At breakfast the menu for dinner was provided and guests were asked to indicate whether they wanted dinner in the hotel and if so to choose what they wanted.We had dinner in the hotel on 2 nights.It was good value for 3 courses. Staff were pleasant and helpful and we really enjoyed the scenery from the dinning room.
The hotel has a good pool and a jetty which guests can use to swim in the lake. Swimming in the lake was lovely-a very pleasant temperature with clean, clear water.
It takes 15-20 minutes to walk into Malcesine.
We really enjoyed our stay and would love the chance to return some day.

Room tip: It was worth paying extra to have a lake view.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank juliawhittaker698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018 via mobile

Had the pleasure to spend 2 weeks at the Du Lac Hotel in Malcesine. The location of the hotel, amenities and rooms were top class. Dined a number of times in the hotel and the food was very well presented and again top class. However what strikes you most is the warmth and dedication of all the staff. They could not have made our stay a more memorable one.

Steve and Caroline

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank steveperici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2018 via mobile

Just arrived home from beautiful Malcesine. Our stay at Du Lac was perfect for our needs . Lake view rooms were fabulous. Very peaceful and Tranquil with amazing views . My husband was a little apprehensive about Italian food but must say he was pleasantly surprised with the hotel food. Wasn’t so impressed with children’s menu . We spoke to the lady on reception about how disappointed we were on this matter and she was quite rude saying ‘ What food do they want ‘ she did explain to us that if we let them know they would try and . Beds were not changed very often only the once in 7 days . Otherwise this hotel is fabulous in a great location with a super couple in the restaurant who couldn’t do enough for you . Maria and Mr Maria . Will most definitely be back . Very happy guests . Jayne and Glenn Barry and family.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Glen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews