We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A hidden gem!”
other travellers have booked this property
L'esterno della Villa dei Mandarini
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
L'esterno della Villa dei Mandarini
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
10 reviews
L'esterno della Villa dei Mandarini
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Cefalu, Province of Palermo, Sicily

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

444dresch
Grabels, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pretty good but some bad points not mentionned in annoucement”
Reviewed 27 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
3
people found this review helpful

On one hand, the owners have been really helpful. The property is clean and pretty, the bathrooms and rooms are light and offer some space.
The linen really clean as well. The house is equiped with mosquito screens everywhere which really makes a difference.

On the other hand, the stairs are extremly dangerous. We came with a little boy and we wanted to use the rooms upstairs so that he could get his own. It was very difficult to get down the stairs with our son in our arms because it is so steep and not wide enough (less than a meter). There is no oven and no dishwasher. The so called living room is in fact a very wide corridor in which we placed the kitchen table. You can't hope having lunch inside with more than 4-5 people. Given that outside is packed with mosquitoes, it gets difficult at night.

No air conditionning. If wind is from the south be prepared to roast upstairs. Downstairs stays cool.

There is a camping just outside which can be noisy at night. Fortunately, they tend to respect the 10 o'clock closing time. However, their spot on the beach displays music.

The private path to the beach is a plus, and the garden is fantastic.

Soms ups and downs :)

Date of stay: September 2015
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Dec 2016
Hello dear 444dresch, thanks for your review!
Sorry if a part of the villa has not been to your liking. We will use your suggestions to improve ourselves!
For us it was a pleasure to host you!
See you soon and thanks again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 30 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxing outside and walking to the beach
Liked least: We would have enjoyed a softer place to sit to relax at night. Maybe some arm chairs or a couch would make a good addition.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
11 Dec 2016
Hello dear Betsy, thank you for your 5 star review and for his title!
For us it was a pleasure to host you!
See you soon and thanks again!
Sincerely
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lonningar...
Wilmslow
2 reviews
“Lovely peaceful location, close to the beach and perfect for children.”
Reviewed 27 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Good accommodation. It is what it says on the tin! It would benefit from a microwave, but otherwise we'll appointed. Difficult to find but extended directions made it possible. (Not to be confused with the Appartments del Duomo!!
Very friendly and hospitable hosts living next door. Very safe environment for children.

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Safe access to good beach
Liked least: Lack of indoor seating
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2015
Thank you very much and see you soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C A
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Fantastic Stay at the Villa of Tangerines in Cefalu Sicily”
Reviewed 29 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We had a fantastic stay at this beautiful location in Sicily - the hosts Salvatore, his parents Giuseppe and Maria treated us like we were family - their villa was more than we expected. The villa was spotless and clean with all the amenities were there as described - the pictures on the website are a true depiction of the villa. The owners live next door and Maria even gave us espresso and biscotti our first morning after we arrived. The villa is on a gated property and the beach is a short walk from the villa. Giuseppe provided us with restaurant locations and directions to the local areas. We will definitely be back to this beautiful villa in Sicily again - it was the perfect way for us to start our 15 day vacation on the Mediterranean - even the weather cooperated. We will be back to this villa again!!

Date of stay: October 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the location and cleanliness of the property
Liked least: wi-fi was not consistent
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2015
Thank you very much and see you soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard A
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Friendly and convenient”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Tangerines was our last extended stop in a 4 month tour of Italy. We stayed for just under 3 weeks and left feeling we could have stayed on much longer.
The villa is well equipped and spacious. We like to cook every day and it was pleasing that the kitchen was large and had plenty of utensils. We would have liked an oven but appreciate that this would not normally be provided in a holiday let in Italy.
Beds were all comfortable and there was plenty of linen, towels etc. The only improvement we we suggest is that it would have been nice for there to have been a settee to relax in.
The owners are next door and extremely friendly and very helpful.
The proximity of the beach ( just outside the back gate) is a real bonus and at the time of year we went very quiet; something we really appreciated.
We would recommend Tangerines to any of our friends, It would suit almost any combination of holiday makers from couples to families with young children.
We certainly plan to return.

Richard and Pauline Andrews

Date of stay: May 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting of the Villa and the friendliness and flexibility of the owners
Liked least: Not having a settee to slump down in.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2015
Thank you very much and see you soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.