We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (171)
Filter reviews
171 results
Traveller rating
55
75
28
8
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
55
75
28
8
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 171 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2017

Unless you need to stay at the top of the pass do not bother to stay here.It's clean and tidy but very unkempt and extremely tired looking.
The restaurant is appalling with plastic chairs and paper table cloths, waited on by people who clearly do not like their jobs.
When I informed the management it was shrugged off........
It's only saving grace was that we were able to put our motorcycles in a locked garage overnight.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mjcopcutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017

hotel dont look very special, but staff were very helpful. room was not big, not small, but clean. hotel contains indoor pool. the most interesting thing is piece of nature around. stelvio is amazing place.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ceasar11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano D, Direttore at Hotel Quarto Pirovano, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2017

Dear Sir,

Thank you for leaving your review
Hope to see you again.

Hotel Quarto Pirovano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017

The location of this hotel is excellent - it is a first building next to the cable car and is just next to the "centre" of the Stelvio pass. It has a big parking and nice views to the mountain tops.
The hotel, as most others in the area, was built in the 70s and this is quite obvious. What is suprising is how they manage to keep rooms and public spaces in such a good condition - everything is very clean and proper, while the hotel stays closed under the snow for 6 months a year. Rooms are spartan, style and decoration are from the 70s, yet everything is working properly. Wi-Fi worked well everywhere in the hotel. For convenience, the hotel has a bancomat and a small ski rental.
I had a small room with two separate single beds, which had tiled floor, quite a big wardrobe (with a new safe) and a table. The room was nicely warm and quite spacious and the window had the views of the surrounding mountains. The bathroom was of a normal size, old-style, but clean and functioning (shower-tub with a curtain). The hairdryer was functioning normally (it was newer than from the 70s ;). Towels were white and clean, but "old style" too.
Breakfast was quite varied, but average for my taste. Yet, it had quite a big choice - at least 4 sorts of cereals (all with sugar added), fruits, white and flavoured yoghurt, croissants, cheese, eggs, bread, cakes. I understand that dinners are very good though - unfortunately I had no chance to try one, but the hotel arranged for us cold plates full of excellent quality meat and cheese cuts. Everything local and very tasty.
The hotel also has a swimming pool with the Turkish bath, sauna and whirlpool (a bit weak though). The floor is very slippery there, so be sure to bring rubber flip-flops.
Finally, the staff. For all my stay everyone was very nice and helpful. Ready to answer any questions, give information, advice, smile, help. My friend got injured and the hotel staff could not be more accommodating to help us solve any issue, from the reception staff to the manager. Really, 10 points for staff and service! Hope to be back this year.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank a_erre_a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano D, Direttore at Hotel Quarto Pirovano, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Ladies and Gentleman,

we are very happy to read your impression.
Hope to see you again.
Best regards.
Direction and Pirovano Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2017

One of our great bucket lists adventures was going up the Passo dello Stelvio in Italy on the motorbike. So as part of our two week Europe trip we included this pass, we thought we stay at the top and see some amazing stars at night time and imagined the village at the top would be buzzing with bikers. Well in the day this is very true however once the clouds rolled in we soon realised we were the only ones sat on top of the pass on a mountain, in a thunderstorm. The hotel itself is lovely and offered us to keep our bike in their underground parking garage. We felt the evening odd, we were almost the only people staying it would seem, there was a bar area with a man in a tuxedo and an entertainer with a keyboard but it was just for us, the atmosphere felt odd. We went up to the ginormous restaurant as the storm went overhead (no star gazing occurred) and were told where to sit even though there was literally only one other family there. We ate our tea and went to bed. The rooms were basic and we were given two singe beds at opposite ends of the room which was disappointing and noises from the corridor lasted all night. The shower was a challenge and almost a waste of time. We left swiftly in the morning and it was very cold, nothing like we had thought. I would recommend staying here only if you are into skiing or really need to, if not carry on into Switzerland as there is much more going on.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed here on a driving holiday through Italy. Even though it was June, there was still much snow and even a fresh dump overnight!

The hotel is pleasant enough for an Alpine hotel - I can see it being very very busy in winter. I was a little taken aback when they wanted to keep our passports behind the counter for the duration of our stay. Anyone who's done much travelling knows you NEVER let your passport out of your sight - and behind the desk were individual pigeonholes for each room with every traveler's passport in full view. Still, they accommodated my request and took only a photocopy, but I think if they want a security guarantee there are better ways to do it.

Food is ok - but make sure you get there on time otherwise there's NOTHING else open. I went to do a little sunset photography (the view was stunning) and when I came back I thought I would be condemned to eating half a pack of pringles for dinner - thankfully the restaurant staff looked kindly on us and persuaded the chef to stay a few minutes more. So full marks for that!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Winchester83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pirovanoquarto_12, Direttore at Hotel Quarto Pirovano, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear Guest, thank you for having described her experience at our hotel. We take note of what you mentioned about the passports. For this purpose we inform you that the hotel reception is guarded 24 hours 24 so as to guarantee the preservation of the documents requested by us. Each customer is required to deliver a document for the purposes of tax authorities of public security.
Also like to inform you that the Stelvio Pass and consequently the pass is open only in the summer months. Consequently, the practice of sports related to skiing is possible in the summer months are from late May to early November.
Thanks again and see you next time.
Hotel manager and Pirovano Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews