We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (600)
Filter reviews
600 results
Traveller rating
443
120
23
12
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
443
120
23
12
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 600 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I stayed hear twice; last year solo and this year with my wife. Hotel Da Barba is situated about two miles from the center of Asiago. The hotel is near the base of a ski hill adjacent to forests and has a great view of the town and surrounding mountains. There is a nice walking path to the town center and easy access to the many hiking and biking trails that cover the area.
The hotel is named for the nickname of the owner who became known as "Da Barba" (the beard) when he skied for Italy in the 1952 Olympics. Da Barba (Giacomo Mosele) is up early every morning working on the grounds of the hotel and at 88 still teaches ski lessons and is incredibly fit. His daughters and son in law now run the hotel. The hotel has modern, clean, comfortable rooms that are also quite quiet. A nice breakfast buffet is served that includes fresh made breads, local jams and preserves, cheeses, sausages, pastries, cakes, cereals ans juices. Half board is available which has a menu that changes daily with three different first and second course options many of which are homemade pastas and regional dishes. A simple salad bar is included along with a nice selection of desserts. There is also a small ,well stocked bar offering a large selections of the local grappas.

Daniella speaks good English and treated us like family. She, her husband, and her ,along with the desk manger Pinot were so kind and welcoming that we felt like family.

But Da Barba is more than a nice, romantic hotel. It is also home to the Gnome Village and playground area that are known by families and children throughout the region. The village and trails are built in the forest behind the hotel. During the nice summer days there are a lot of children enjoying the area. In the quiet, empty, morning and evening it is nice to walk the trails to see the (and hear ) the Gnomes. Often, deer are visible on the hillsides . The area is magic for adults too!!!

It is too bad more non-Italians do not get to visit this area to enjoy the trails, explore the many WWI monuments, eat the local food, drink the grappa and meet the friendly people. I hope to get back again next year and in the future. I will, for sure , stay at this friendly place!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daydreambeliever007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnimatriceNocciolina, Animatore at Hotel Da Barba, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

Hello, mr Daydreambeliever77! We are missing you! Thanks for your nice words! Mr “Barba” is still INCREDIBLY fit! Maybe he received the secret of a very long life by the Gnomes! Or maybe, it’s the clean and pure air of the Altopiano, the genuine food made with local milk, cheeses and veggies… who knows!
Now we have some news: we’ve built a very beautiful spa, with a view on the park…now you can relax in the Jacuzzi, watching the green landscape (or the white one, in winter)!
Our hotel now offers entertainment for children (with : external playground area, laboratories, baby dance, games, a well-equipped play room…) and for adults, with guided hikes on the best paths, quizzes, games…. So… came, and join us!
A hug from the Gnomes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We weren't quite prepared for Hotel da Barba. This is Gnomesville plus! The management and staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly and we enjoyed our stay, but the hotel is rather eccentric. It's all about gnomes! Thousands of them in all shapes and sizes. It really appeals to the under 12 year olds, especially with the fun park right next door. The hotel is about 4 km high above the town of Asiago and many rooms have a great view of the surrounding valley. The dining menu is short, simple and I guess adequate. The cost was included in the tariff, as was the usual basic breakfast. Our rooms were spacious, simple and clean (and about the only places that were gnome free!). As I said, we enjoyed our stay, but were a little surprised at the bill. It would pay to confirm the tariff carefully on check in.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Phillip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

I visited this lovely place for 4 days. The warm welcome by Daniela & Alvise set the tone for a great holiday. A beautiful hotel with excellent views all around.The rooms are clean & spacious. There are organised events to keep you occupied & good food served with a smile. An enchanting place, will definitely visit again !

Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
Thank TravellorGlobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnimatriceNocciolina, Animatore at Hotel Da Barba, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

Thanks TravellorGlobe! We would like you to come and see all the news we have... maybe in summer, so you can visit the Village of Gnomes too, and speak to them! and enjoy the beautiful atmosphere of italian ospitality, the paths in our woods, the sounds of Nature....and finally relax in our new, little but well-equipped and welcoming spa!
Hope to see you soon!
the Gnomes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews