We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent !!! A true Italian experience.”
other travellers have booked this property
panoramic wiew
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
panoramic wiew
swimming pool by night Gazebo by the pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
58 reviews
panoramic wiew
swimming pool by night
Gazebo by the pool
Spa, Jacuzzi
Villa Carda spa
the terrace
suite
suite
junior suite
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
6 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Arezzo, Province of Arezzo, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
CatainC
tuscaloosa,alabama
1 review
“Excellent !!! A true Italian experience.”
Reviewed 30 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Our stay at Villa Carda was everything our family had hoped for in our Italian vacation..Our party consisted of grandparents and three grandchildren 8,10 and 12 with 8 people total. There was more than adequate space for everyone to enjoy the villa, pool, spa and the lovely grounds surrounding the property.. The owners were very accommodating and are readily available to offer recommendations on restaurants and sights within the area.
This is not your typical Tuscan vacation spot (IE Siena) with traffic, large crowds of tourists and scores of cheap souvenir shops but if you are looking for a true Italian experience this is it.
Recommended day trips include the monastery at LaVerna, Arezzo and Cortona. The owners are also available to prepare dinner at the villa which was the #1 highlight our stay. Francesca, the owner's wife is a trained chef and allowed our grandchildren to "assist" in the preparation of the meal. Warning !!! bring your appetite... the dinner was fabulous with sufficient leftovers for dinner the next day. Our only regret was that we had only planned a one week stay rather than 2 weeks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property and location exceeded our expectatations
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DANAH100
Worcester Park, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous villa with fantastic views”
Reviewed 25 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

10 of us stayed at Villa Carda for our family reunion.We couldn't have picked a better place to celebrate our get together. Very well equipped villa, very clean, fantastic breathtaking mountain views, very spacious grounds,sauna, bicycles,games, there was something for everyone. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Villa itself and the views
Liked least: The kitchen
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pstewarti...
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Top Ten Reasons To Stay at Villa Carda”
Reviewed 5 November 2012 for a stay in October 2012

1. Villa Carda is in an area of Tuscany that is not overrun with tourists.
2. Villa Carda is exceptionally clean as well as artfully and tastefully decorated.
3. The location is beautiful with impeccably cared for grounds.
4. The host, Andrea, visits in the morning and is available by phone to answer questions and make recommendations and reservations.
5. You can arrange for Andrea's wife, Francesca, to prepare a fabulous, multi-course dinner, a real treat after a long day of sightseeing.
6. You'll have enough leftovers for another delicious meal, making your initial meal cost very reasonable.
7. The kitchen is equipped with all manner of pots, pans, coffee maker, etc.
8. There are good restaurants within a few minutes drive.
9. There are interesting medieval hilltop towns within a few minutes drive.
10. The separate doors for each room allow a lot of privacy.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The beauty of the villa and grounds.
Liked least: The distance to major tourist attractions in Florence and Siena.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlPen4
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
“A fabulous Italian villa vacation”
Reviewed 2 November 2012 for a stay in October 2012

Four couples from Colorado, all in their seventh decade, thoroughly enjoyed this luxury villa and most all the amenities. The October temps were a little too cool for using the large swimming pool. Villa Carda has received many rave reviews, and this is yet another. Far and away, this is the finest accommodation we've had in our many travels to this region over the last 15 years. The real highlight of our stay was dining in. On three occasions, Andrea and his wife (chef) Francesca prepared gourmet meals. The food, the wine, the ambiance, and the company provided a vacation experience we'll not likely duplicate.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Dining In
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringSte...
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Exceeded High Expectations”
Reviewed 1 November 2012 for a stay in October 2012

About us: A group of four couples in our early 60’s from Colorado, USA who spent 11 nights in early October 2012.

First impressions are important. Eight months before our trip, I was in contact with Andrea and his responses to my inquiry and subsequent follow up questions were prompt and thorough. I had the feeling that he would be a gracious host. Andrea gets an A for pre-trip communications.

Arrival – Villa Carda was in pristine condition when we arrived, the last guests of the 2012 season. Due to our planned schedule, and that it was getting later in the season, we did not take advantage of the pool. But it certainly was beautiful! Having the downstairs bedroom entrances from the outside provided extra privacy.

The property has fig, chestnut, pear and apple trees. We used some tomatoes and onions from the garden for cooking. But our favorite was eating fresh picked figs almost daily. For our group of 8, the shared space (kitchen, family room, dining room) was perfect. If there had been 12, it might have been slightly crowded as we were inside more as evenings became cooler in early October. We had 3 rental cars and were able to park close to the house. A+ facility.

Location – Villa Carda is 35 minutes from the center of Arezzo. For our group, we loved the quietness and countryside location. But if you expect it to be close to major Tuscany attractions, such as Sienna or Florence, you may be disappointed. I found that the smaller the town, the more I liked it – so we enjoyed the close towns of Rassina, Poppi, and Bibbiena which made enjoyable day trips. Of course our favorite local town name was Santa Mamma!

Meals – One of the best choices we made was to have meals cooked in. For the 11 nights we were there, we had meals prepared by Francesca and Andrea 3 times. It was wonderful to come in after a day of touring being greeted by the fabulous smells throughout the upstairs and see homemade pastas drying. Francesca gladly put up with all our questions and willingly shared her recipes. We could have been satisfied with just the appetizers and wine, but there was much more food to come. In fact there was always enough leftover for a meal the following day. My personal favorite pasta was the pici and the pork as main course was delicious. Others had their favorites, but it was all great! Francesca – we loved your cooking and enjoyed your bright personality and excellent English as well! Of course we all give you an A+!

Hosts – Andrea and his wife, Francesca, were fabulous hosts. Since we had ordered a meal cooked in for the first evening, they were both there when we arrived. We truly appreciated Andrea’s availability to respond to any requests we had. He helped us with restaurant recommendations, called for reservations, made arrangements for a fabulous winery and lunch tour (highly recommended at Colle Bereto), and helped with directions. We also had the pleasure of meeting Andrea’s parents – and his father Antonio grilled the steaks for one of our evening dinners. We looked forward to Andrea’s arrival each morning and answering our list of questions. Perfect hosts!

This was a dream vacation and the Villa Carda experience was an integral part of making it such a great time for all of us. We felt comfortable and “at home” here. Thank you, Andrea and Francesca! You have my email address – feel free to share it with anyone who might want to ask any specific questions about renting Villa Carda. And we hope to see you in Colorado someday soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Feeling at home - and making friends with the host family
Liked least: Intermittent Internet connection - not the fault of the owners, part of staying in more rural Italy.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing