We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We came back again for the second year!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Gite du Garzhou

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Loguivy-Plougras, Cotes-d'Armor, Brittany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Florence...
Burnham-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“We came back again for the second year!”
Reviewed 16 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed there last year and enjoyed it so much that we decided to come back again! We stayed at le Gite du Garzhou for 10 nights in August. Same quiet and peaceful area!
Anne was there to welcome us when we arrived. All the facilities were as described. They provided an additional bed for our child.
Anne and Christophe very kindly took us fishing for cockles and razor clams one afternoon, culminating in a very enjoyable evening meal. This was an overall memorable experience, which our child really enjoyed.
Our child had access to their personal pool, which was much appreciated.
We were lucky to take part in the local Festnoz, where all the locals get together and celebrate their culture, which included a meal (with wild boar) and the world championship of menhir throwing.
Another lovely holiday!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful and quiet
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence...
Burnham-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Quiet, well situated, great place.”
Reviewed 15 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We are the second family staying in this gite, two adults and a ten-year old. We stayed for ten days early August 2015. The owners, Anne and Christophe (speaking both very good English) and their children made us feel very welcome from the word go! Nothing was too much trouble. They were available and very accommodating.

The gite is described exactly by the previous reviewers, who stayed in July 2015. Anne very kindly installed a second small bed upstairs, for our daughter, so that she did not feel on her own downstairs. Moreover, we could watch TV/DVDs at night, whilst she was in bed. Their son let us even borrow his beloved Wii!

The location is Plougras, not Loguivy Plougras, as indicated on Trip Advisor. The difference is about 6 kilometres, closer to the next town Gerlesquin. Gerlesquin has a small supermarket, petrol station and a number of shops, including a bakery. It also has a useful tourist information office. Guerlesquin has a farmers’ market every Monday.

Plougras is ideally situated, about 15-20 minutes off the N12, one of the main motorways going all the way through north Brittany. Plougras is near a large range of activities/places to visit. We completed the following:

- Boat trip around the 7 islands’ ornithological reserve (off Perros-Guirec) about 120 minutes from Plougras
- Boat trip to the Brehat Island off Paimpol about 70 minutes from Plougras – fantastic day
- Visit to Morlaix (large city good for restaurants and shopping, which also has timbered houses and a large viaduct) about 30 minutes from Plougras
- Visit to Mûr de Bretagne (prehistoric menhirs and burial mounds) about 75 minutes
- Visit to Huelgoat (part of the Parc Naturel Regional d’Armorique) (about 35 minutes -
- Visit to Plouigneau (visit to EcoMuseum – le village Breton Museum) about 20 minutes
- Visit to Le Cloitre-Sain Thegonnec (Wolf museum) about 30 minutes
- Visit to La Vallee des Saints (Large local granite sculptures of Breton saints) at Carnoet – about 25 minutes
- Visit to the Cairn of Barnenez (4500 BC megalith)– about 25 minutes

The above were mostly recommended by Anne and Christophe. During our first evening, where they invited us very kindly to an aperitif, they shared their local knowledge as well as their passion for their region. They spent time to explain how to get to some places (for example where to find the harbour to sail to Brehat island, as well as the timetables). In the gite, a number of brochures are also available with local information.

Not only can you reach lots of places from Plougras, it is really lovely and quiet. It is at the end of a dead-end road, with no passing traffic, other than a local farmer on his tractor.

The swimming pool was a very big hit with our daughter. She spent hours in it.

We would love to return to this gite and can only recommend it very highly. It has been a real pleasure staying here. We have enjoyed every moment. A huge thank you to Anne and Christophe.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and overall welcome
Liked least: Nothing - we loved our stay
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2015
Thank you so much for your visit, We were very happy to meet your family, and we hope see you another time
Kénavo Anne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan H
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely little hideaway”
Reviewed 15 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We were lucky enough to be the first guests to stay in this recently refurbished property. It has been made into a Gite from an old stables so it is big enough for 2-4 adults.

We absolutely love Anne and her family they were very welcoming and very helpful.

The property is located at a dead end of a road a short trip out of the village of Plougras. It has gorgeous views! You can walk from the Gite to the local lake/reservoir about 5km across countryside.

The GPS takes you into the town but with Anne's directions you can not get lost unless you are me but we gave Anne a call and she came and found us and we followed her back to the property.

In the Gite as you walk in you are in the living/dining area there is a sofa which turns into a bed for additional guests, TV with French free view, Dvd player, the dining table and 4 chairs all very comfortable.

Next you go into the Kitchen which has the following large appliances a dishwasher, fridge with a small freezer compartment, toaster and a microwave. The crockery and cutlery are provided along with tea towels and cleaning liquids/dishwasher tablets and matches for the gas oven.

Along the hall you come across a small closet which houses the washer and a big freezer along with the mop, hoover and airer dryer for your clothes. Anne had provided us with washer tablets but we had bought our own.

In the bathroom you have a wet room floor with a big Italian shower it was lovely, a sink and toilet. The sink holds several towels.

Going back to the living room you will find just before the open staircase a set of canvas drawers for clothes. As you walk up the stairs you enter the bedroom with a small hanging rail for other clothes and the bed which my partner says was the most comfortable bed he's ever slept on.

Outside you have a gravel patio area which is your private garden with table and chairs provided. For the umbrella and BBQ just ask Anne we never got chance to have use it.

The pool and playground are in Anne's garden so you share with her family but if you would like the pool warm you just ask and she switches the heater on it gets as hot as 30oC. The pool table is in her house but again just ask to use it. The family have several pets including a golden retriever who is so soft and gentle but she will bark when you get near to the farmhouse however that is all she will do.

The area as a dog owner is very pet friendly lots of fields and paths to walk. The walk from the Gite to the lake was a bit muddy due to the recent rain but it was a public footpath all the way.

The property is a quaint little building but is perfect for someone who wants to be in the middle of the countryside. You have a space for 1 car near the gite. We have a mondeo so it was a long space.

You are about 5 minutes away from a small supermarket with a petrol station and there is a lovely bakery and village shop in Plougras.

We are definitely going back we loved it that much. Anne and her family are what make the property so special.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Anne and her family
Liked least: There is nothing that we didn't like
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escape730...
1 review
Reviewed 6 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017
Google Translation

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie T
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing