We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very romantic setting and great value”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Atlantic Shores, Christ Church Parish, Barbados

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
AshfromMe...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very romantic setting and great value”
Reviewed 6 November 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Rosalie No. 5 for a week in October at the end of hurricane season. There was a tropical storm passing over for two days during our stay, but other than that the weather was beautiful and we loved our stay.

We received a wonderful greeting from Jean with a pickup at the airport and then a tour of the local area. We were also taken to the shops to buy a few supplies before our stay(although some were already provided). Jean also provided details of a hire car company.

The apartment is amazing and in a great spot right at the southern tip of the island. The only thing I would say is that it's a 20-30 min walk to the nearest shops and decent beach, and in the humidity and heat that can feel like a long way. We hired a car through Jean's friend and that helped to make things a lot easier to get around. It was also great for seeing the other parts of the island.

Regarding the apartment, the views from the entire front and side of the apartment are incredible. And the sound of the ocean is amazing. Some nights we had to shut the windows and shutters as the sound from the waves was so loud.

I guess it's probably worth noting the negatives:

The airconditioning in the house is very poor. The AC unit in the lounge room is not working at all (lost remote apparently), and the one in the master bedroom is old and needs a service. It is basically a fan. The fine print mentioned that each of the bedrooms would have at least AC or a fan working, which was true. But overall the whole house was very stuffy and hot. We acclimatised eventually, but had to get used to not wearing a lot around the apartment... which brings me to my next point...

The apartment does not have any curtains. At all. This isn't too bad in the master bedroom as the windows face out to the ocean and no one can see in, but in the lounge room and other bedrooms it results in a major lack of privacy. Especially at night! We got used to it, but when you have to dress down because of the heat, you are on show for the neighbours. Oh and I almost forgot, the lack of curtains results in a 5am wake-up with the sun. We got used to it, but it's also nice to sleep in on holidays some times!

The last thing was that the internet was very intermittent. It runs well for a few minutes and then disconnects. I'm not sure if that's just standard for the island, but it can be frustrating. It's not a major problem, but if you intend to skype/work while you're at the house then you may need to reconsider this rental.

So that's it. If curtains were installed, and the AC in the master bedroom was serviced and the lounge room AC was fixed I would say this place was perfect. As it stands we still had a great stay, but were occasionally left wanting.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view!
Liked least: The poor/lack of airconditioning, the lack of curtains and the poor wifi connection.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jan 2013
Thank you for your review - You appear to have failed to mention the following:

1. We always encourage guestes to rent a car - but utlimately it is the guests choice.
2. We arranged collection from the airport at short notice to accoummadate your lack of arranged travel management at no extra charge.
3. We do not state that there is a/c working in the lounge and being on the sea front there is plenty of breeze from the sea when the doors are open saving you the guest the cost of the power. There is a large ceiling fan in the lounge for dining in.

We note and thank you for your other comments but ultimately it is our holiday home offered for rent at a competative price for its location.


As you are aware we were very accommadating with you regarding payment terms as you were travelling from Australia which you appear to have not mentioned.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 May 2012 for a stay in November 2011
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the ocean views and spotting the turtles
Liked least: having to come home
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 May 2012 for a stay in November 2011
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size of the property and the location just on the sea front, we couldn't have been closer!
Liked least: Nothing it was blissful!
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 March 2012 for a stay in July 2010
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 February 2012 for a stay in October 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the space and the views
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing