We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“excellent place to recharge”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
Dining room leading to the kitchen
Kitchen
Bedroom 1
One of the two Norman churches
Our local pub 'The Victoria'
Keble Bridge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Southrop, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ranjeet W
Southall
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“excellent place to recharge”
Reviewed 7 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We stayed at Clumber cottage with our children and their spouses and were immensely impressed with the cottage. It's set in very well kept grounds, well planned flower beds, orchard and the rest. All the linen, bedding, utensils are of high quality. The bathroom is huge with a full size bath and a spacious shower cubicle. Well placed roof lights in the bathroom and kitchen let in so much light that one hardly needs to turn on lights. The kitchen has all the mod cons and well equipped. There's a piano for anyone who cares to play and the living room is stocked with a fabulous collection of wide ranging books. The owners, Kate and Wyn (and Lewis, the well behaved pooch) made us feel so welcome that we felt we were visiting friends and Kate had prepared delicious Flap jacks for us which went down like a treat.Definitely recommend and would stay there again..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: very hard to say as everything was superb
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2016
Thank you Ramjet we too also felt as though good friends were staying with us . We would love to meet you all again sometime.
Kate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K4815TRro...
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Everything we hoped for”
Reviewed 23 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

I know I speak for everybody in our group of four when i say that this cottage is set in an extraordinary beautiful location, looks beautiful outside and has the most beautiful interior. Am I over-beautifulling? Not a bit - it really is that good.
The village is made up of what must be grade two listed chocolate box. full of that lovely, honey-coloured stone so typical of the area. The cottage is a real charmer, one half of a larger property - the owners use the rest - and is set in a huge garden available for a visitor's. Things to note inside are the booklined study, the dining area with the huge and ancient table, and - putting the modern exactly where you need it to be, the light and airy kitchen with the patio doors leading out to yet more greenery. The beds are comfortable, and the bathroom spacious and much more than adequate for our party.
The host could not have been more friendly or helpful - they coped beautifully with the arrival of a very small child - and Louis the dog won all our hearts.
Check out the photographs - they do not lie. Then book and visit.

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SFMarinaM...
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Adorable Cottage with Fabulous Hosts”
Reviewed 28 March 2016 for a stay in August 2015

The Clumber Cottage far exceeded our expectations. Everything was perfect from the beautiful flower garden out the front door to the kitchen garden with fresh lettuce and sugar snap peas just ripe for the picking off of the kitchen. The rooms were wonderfully decorated with a modern bathroom to boot. But what makes this property stand out in my memory were the wonderfully welcoming hosts. When we arrived Kate gave us a packet of flap jacks and had drinks for us ready in the fridge. The next morning we awoke to birds chirping and fresh bread being backed which Kate gave to us as well. A few evenings we were invited to sit outside and join in a glass of wine when they were entertaining friends. On my last morning I even joined Wyn for an early morning walk through the countryside where we saw several foxes and other wildlife. I would stay here again in a heartbeat and would highly recommend Clumber Cottage to anyone looking for an authentic English countyrside experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Loved the flower garden and hosts
Liked least: Everything was perfect.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne M
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
“A perfect country retreat, quiet and serene”
Reviewed 25 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Lovely stay in a cosy, clean, spacious cottage with a fully equipped kitchen and a fantastic garden to enjoy with ponds and a wealth of flowers. The hosts Kate and Wyn were super friendly and helpful, and the area offered both great sightseeing and idyllic, relaxing walks. It couldn´t have been better. We will definitely come back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cosy house, lovely garden and the hosts who made us feel right at home from the start, very helpful and kind.
Liked least: I wish we could have stayed longer!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePotCaf...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful, peaceful getaway.”
Reviewed 13 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Visited here with my partner on 14/07 for an evening getaway from the city & we are already planning our next stay.
It’s a beautiful cottage in a quaint village surrounded by fields & idyllic scenery, like something you would see on a postcard!
The Cottage has 3 bedrooms, with a kitchen that opens out onto a lovely rear garden where we sat and had our morning coffee listening to birdsong (something you don't get in the City).
It is a short drive away from local amenities, and nestled amongst lots of small historic towns; perfect for sightseeing.
We thoroughly enjoyed, and would definitely recommend.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing