We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Most Difficult Review”
other travellers have booked this property
Rainbow Lodge 
A tropical rainforest experience at a beautiful private waterfall
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rainbow Lodge 
A tropical rainforest experience at a beautiful private waterfall
West Bedroom Living/Dining room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Rainbow Lodge 
A tropical rainforest experience at a beautiful private waterfall
West Bedroom
Living/Dining room
Caribbean Sea
Shower
Veranda/ Deck
Trevor`s Water fall
East bedroom
Bath room
Kitchen
Rainbow Lodge
Wooden Windows
Overview
Chalet -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Parlatuvier, Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ChrisFrom...
New Jersey, USA
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“The Most Difficult Review”
Reviewed 7 February 2018 for a stay in January 2018

This is the most complex review I've ever written. We were a group of 2 couples who who rented Rainbow Villa for 2 weeks.
The 2 men thought this place was heaven on earth. Set in a rainforest location that was simply stunning.
The drive up to his place, from the airport is long and difficult, particularly the steep and rough road to the house. I would not want to do this in anything but a 4x4 but others did in regular cars.
The truly open-air construction allowed birds, bats and bugs to fly around all living spaces. The latter could be rather annoying when the wind was down. The night was filled with bat visits, obviously attracted by the bugs, who were attracted by the lights. I thought this was way cool, my wife- not so much.
The house is totally rustic with plywood counters, wood plank floors and few electric outlets. There is satellite TV (never used it) and rudimentary wifi. The bathrooms and kitchen do have hot water. There are 2 bedrooms with ensuit bathrooms - but be warned that the walls only go part way up to the ceiling and give visual but no sound privacy.
This is not the place to rent if you're looking for a sterile suburban house in a rainforest.
The area around the house is stunning, with lush vegetation, gorgeous flowers and enough spectacular birds to keep Audubon happy for years. The waterfall is also an amazing sight.
Trevor is a very nice guy who wants you to love his setting as much as he does.
This is the most accurate description I can give. Please contact me for more details.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atrione
Sint Maarten, St Martin / St Maarten
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Rain Forest of Your Dreams”
Reviewed 1 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The owner did a beautiful job planning his property and arranging the cabins. He certainly has an eye for unfussy, yet charming décor and providing modern amenities (electricity, flush toilets, TV, WiFi) without negatively affecting the deep-in-the-forest vibe. There are birds all over, lush foliage and surreal views.

This dreamy little get away is about an hour to an hour and a half from the Tobago airport. If you can drive patiently and cautiously, definitely rent a car. There are some tight spots on the road and many blind turns, but worth the mobility. The drive to Parlatuvier is an important part of the experience - so much to see! A taxi is about $60 one way and more for late at night.

Multiple cabins (close enough to visit but far enough for privacy) provide a great setting for an active group of friends or small families. I used it as a personal retreat and still made friends with the other guests. Great also for a chill out weekend or romantic holiday. Not appropriate for young kids or those mobility impaired.

Hike to the waterfall or down, down, down to the quiet, clean beach. You must have healthy legs as the hills are very steep. No restaurants within walking distance, but a full kitchen in each cabin solves that issue. Castara is a short drive away with several restaurants and a great coffee shop with breakfast. You likely won't find anything open really late.

I'm already planning a return trip soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Ambiance & Vibe
Liked least: That I didn't book a longer stay
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teckel02
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Back-to-nature living in a gorgeous location with an abundance of birdlife”
Reviewed 19 July 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Rainbow Lodge is akin to staying in a simplistic tree house in the middle of a beautiful forest with wonderful views and the most stunning birdlife (parrots, chachalacas, hummingbirds & many many more).

The dawn chorus is like no other & is guaranteed to make a lasting impression. By day, you can chill by the refreshing, deep pool admiring the view of the island & sea, the forest and the birds surrounding, & occasionally, in the house (if only for a brief visit!). At night, you can sit on the deck and watch the garden come alight with fireflies (wear plenty of mosquito repellent though to avoid being munched!).

The photos shown on the website are a mix of the 2 larger houses on the plot. The owner, Trevor, lives behind Rainbow Lodge and is v helpful and happy to recommend good restaurants and arrange rainforest tours if required.

Rainbow Lodge is a perfect retreat for nature lovers. We were so pleased to have stayed here and experienced the true Tobago.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2015
We all at Nature Retreat Tobago thank you very much for your most appreciated review
The Retreat continues to Love and promote those that seek a Green and Serene World
Trevor
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CherylA41...
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“WOW! Magnificent!”
Reviewed 20 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We can't say enough about this wonderful "tree house" and our congenial host, Trevor. My husband and I were celebrating our anniversary here and we could not have found a more romantic location. The view was spectacular, the pool sparkling, the top of the hill private, and we had everything we needed to make our 10 day stay comfortable and convenient. We like to cook and ate most of our meals in (including the delicious papaya and bananas straight off the tree) and the kitchen was more than sufficient. Trevor has done a beautiful job building Xanadu to make the most of the magnificent surroundings and he is a wonderful host. He was a wealth of information and was always available to answer our questions but never intrusive. You will enjoy his company as much as this beautiful setting. We can’t wait to return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and our host
Liked least: Absolutely nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaryHarve...
1 review
“Great Tobago nature getaway!”
Reviewed 10 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Beautiful place with amazing views and with friendly service from Trevor and Ranger. We felt well taken care of. Beaches were close by although you need a car to access them and enjoy all that the area has to offer. Pool was lovely and perfect for kids. Lots of outdoor living space for eating and relaxing. It felt like a tree house!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$175
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing