We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Small Chateau with Excellent Host”
other traveller has booked this property
Home Holiday Rental, Blaye, Bordeaux,St. Emillion, Medoc. Luxury Chateau
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Home Holiday Rental, Blaye, Bordeaux,St. Emillion, Medoc. Luxury Chateau
Luxury Gite Rental Blaye
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
Home Holiday Rental, Blaye, Bordeaux,St. Emillion, Medoc. Luxury Chateau
Luxury Gite Rental Blaye
Chateau Rental Blaye
Chateau Rental Blaye
Chateau Bavolier Friend....
Chateau Rental Blaye
Wedding Venue Blaye
Kids Play 3 minutes from Chateau Bavolier
Gite Rental St Emilion
Lake,St Christoly De Blaye, 3 Minutes from Chateau Bavolier Rental
Figs at Chateau Bavolier Rental Blaye
Luxury Chateau Accomodation Rental Gironde
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Saint-Christoly-De-Blaye, Gironde, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
RoseInCam...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Lovely Small Chateau with Excellent Host”
Reviewed 19 August 2010 for a stay in July 2010

Stayed at the chateau for 1 night with my husband & 7 year old son. We stayed in the enormous Master Suite which was spacious, clean & well appointed. Ann was very welcoming and helpful - giving us a glass of champagne on arrival and suggesting local restaurants & places to visit. She has created an elegant but relaxed atmosphere and we really enjoyed talking with her about the beautiful home & business she has created. We were able to access the internet for no charge via Ann's WIFI system.

This is a great place to stay for a few days with children - Ann is very child friendly & relaxed, her lovely young grandaughters were very friendly & let our son plav with their equipment in the garden. There is also a bathing lake 5 minutes drive away with a beach & swimming that we enjoyed.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catriona4...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful Chateau”
Reviewed 18 August 2010 for a stay in August 2010

Ann made us very welcome with a huge pot of tea and chilled white wine, and nothing was too much trouble. We stayed for one night only in this beautiful house and would love to return for a longer visit. Ann recommended a restaurant five minutes drive away on the lake - service and food were great with a real holiday atmosphere.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeakinLon...
London
1 review
“Magical Bavolier”
Reviewed 16 August 2010 for a stay in August 2010

We had a magical stay at Chateau Bavolier. Ann Roberts has done the most amazing job lovingly restoring this atmospheric chateau. The bedrooms are magnificent, as are the breakfast and sitting rooms. Ann is an attentive and helpful hostess, providing wonderful breakfasts, not hesitating to recommend brilliant local restaurants, and helping organise day trips. We cannot recommend Chateau Bavolier enough and are hoping to return as soon as possible!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hateens
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Doesn't live up to Tripadvisor reviews”
Reviewed 9 August 2010 for a stay in July 2010
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in Chateaux Bavolier for 6 days in July and it was booked based on the reviews I had read on Tripadvisor. 'We' being my husband and two year old daughter. I will summarise our stay under good points and bad points.

The Bad
- We did not get to stay in the larger room as advised previously but the rates are the same no matter what room you stay in.
- There are only two rooms to let so there aren't many people around for breakfast to speak to.
- For six mornings in a row we had orange juice, tea and croissants. Nothing alternative like a cereal, fruit or eggs were offered. You can imagine we were fairly fed up with croissants by day 6. We may have been spoiled in all other Chambre D'hotes that we have stayed in (a good few) but usually there is a much wider range for breakfast. I have to say however that Ann tried to accomodate our two year old and gave us coco-pops one day and milk for her weetabix the others.
- There was no fridge, tea/coffee making facilities etc in the bedroom or even a communal one (which is tres difficile with a two year old - yoghurts, juice etc) and we had to store our bits in cold water in the bath, which our host would have seen each day when cleaning and didn't offer an alternative solution.
- There was no shower curtain so the shower water sprayed all over the place, or any toiletries (apart from liquid soap). I thought that was a bit minimalistic even though I always use my own!
- We felt like we were staying at a friend of a friends house and had outstayed our welcome.
- There is no internet access or computer however Ann leant us her laptop for a short time twice.
- There was very little reading material about things to do in the area, places to go, places to eat etc and none recommended by our host.
- The worst part - when we arrived to find our deposit cheque (Euro350) on the table we were shocked to discover that it hadn't been cashed months previously when we sent it, so we had to cough up the goods in total for our stay instead of just half which we were expecting. Not everyone are like us but we hadn't double checked this and weren't expecting it. Ann stated that it cost Euro18 for her to cash the cheque but that's hardly our problem. We should have been informed of this or asked to pay by cc or cash at the time of booking.
- There is no swimming pool and we didn't feel comfortable staying around during the day to rest or sunbathe.

The Good
- Ann is a very nice host, there are just a few things missing compared to the Chambre D'hotes we visited previously and following our stay at Chateaux Bavolier.
- Ann's grandchildren live at the house and are adoreable and were good buddies for our daughter during the stay.
- When we decided to leave a day earlier than planned (we had overlapped the booking on our second weeks accomodation by one night) Ann did not charge us for the last night so that was pretty fair.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jarica23
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“perfect location for quality relaxation time”
Reviewed 26 July 2010 for a stay in July 2010

My husband and I have just had a two day break at Ann Robert's wonderfully restored chateau - she's attentive to individual needs, cooks and serves a wonderful 4 course dinner with locally sourced food. Whilst there are only two guest bedrooms it proved to be the perfect place to 'chill out' and relax. We stayed in the master bedroom (photograph on the chateau's website) and it comes complete with sunken bath in the ensuite. Two very relaxing days - thanks to Ann, our hostess for a wonderful time!!! (Christine & Frank)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing