We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“truly magical christmas”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of La Portette

La Portette, stunning converted farmhouse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
La Portette, stunning converted farmhouse
Traditional Christmas Beautiful, spacious living room with log fire
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
La Portette, stunning converted farmhouse
Traditional Christmas
Beautiful, spacious living room with log fire
It's snowing outside......
... but it's cosy inside.
Snuggle up around the log fire in the living room with a glass of wine
The living room has 2 grouped seating areas: this one faces the TV, DVD player and gamestation
TV/ games area
The dining room is down 5 steps from the living area, with huge windows looking out at amazing views
Salmon mousse with recipe from Andy's mum!
Home made tarts to delight.
Bright and friendly twin bedroom on the first floor
Bright and friendly twin room. All our bedrooms have stocked bookshelves
Romantic four poster bed in this huge suite in the oldest part of the house
Romantic four-poster bed
Armchairs in the family suite
Fairy-tale wooden beds
Double bedroom with built-in wooden four poster
Double bedroom with wooden four poster bed and traditional wooden walls
Double bedroom with amazing views of Mont Blanc
Small double bedroom with beamed ceiling in the old part of the house
View from the balcony: Mont Blanc at sunset
Skiing in La Plagne
Comfortable living room
Roche de Mio, one of the high points of La Plagne.
Powderfield above Montchavin
Mont Blanc
North Face of the Bellecote
Les Arcs
Montorlin from above, walking home via the footpath through the trees
The balcony in summer is a great place to chill
Wisteria outside the family suite in spring
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Montchavin, Savoie, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
JoFielder
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“truly magical christmas”
Reviewed 9 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We stayed at La Portette for Christmas week with my 3 children (4-11years) and teenage niece, plus another family with similar age children. The chalet is absolutely beautiful and a really magical place to be at christmas. Liza (chalet owner) has made the chalet feel like home from home, our chalet hosts were fabulous with amazing food. The all-round service was first class (arranging ski-hire with fittings at the chalet, lift passes, lessons, lifts to and from the slopes multiple times a day etc.) and we were made to feel that nothing was too much to ask! I would absolutely and fully recommend La Portette to anyone and everyone. Amazing!!!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jan 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely review; we're really pleased you enjoyed it! I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Atmosphere of the chalet, special attention by the hosts
Liked least: not ski in / out
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
10 Jan 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We enjoyed our Christmas too with a houseful of such nice guests; a really fun start to this winter season! I hope we get to welcome you back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
krummeh
Eastern Finland, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Chose to stay at La Portette for a night while going north through Routes Grandes Alpes and this was a fantastic place to relax and rewind after days riding. Directions were easy and welcoming was most friendly. Parking wasn't a hassle either, plenty of room in the village to park to the motorbike close by.

The room was large, clean and to my pleasant surprise there was heaps of books to get lost within. Besides the reading material I got served a delicious supper and the breakfast was just as tasty. Can heartily recommend La Portette to anyone!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Friendly service
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe C
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just about perfect: a splendid week”
Reviewed 21 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Its never easy being the organiser of a group of demanding, eccentric, loud-mouthed thirty-somethings. You worry about everything: will it snow (can't control it), will the journey be boring (just drink wine in the bar carriage), will people get on (of course they will). Mainly you worry about the accommodation, but if you stay with Andy and Liza, you don't need to. It was great. Comfortable rooms (especially mine), a really fantastic communal space, ski equipment delivered to the chalet and fitted there and then, ski passes waiting on arrival, even Gold by Ryan Adams in the (extensive) CD collection (sadly I couldn't find Heartbreaker, but I'll give Andy the benefit of the doubt and assume it was there somewhere). The food was great, too: Jamie and Kirsten looked after us really well, came out on their boards on a couple of days and STILL had time to have a cake waiting for us when we got home. The main worry was the distance from the lifts - but that was not even an issue: Andy or Jamie dropped us off by the main lift up whenever we wanted, and were there with the van within minutes of the text at the end of the day - often before we'd even had time to finish the vin chaud. Really, really good: you should go.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The view from the upstairs area
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Feb 2014
So happy you all enjoyed yourselves! Yes, 'Heartbreaker' is in there somewhere - you'll have to find it on your next visit, soon, we hope.
Liza and Andy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Feb 2014
We take our business very much to heart; and it is heartwarming to get such lovely reviews! Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing