We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just about perfect: a splendid week”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of La Portette

La Portette, stunning converted farmhouse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
La Portette, stunning converted farmhouse
Traditional Christmas Beautiful, spacious living room with log fire
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
La Portette, stunning converted farmhouse
Traditional Christmas
Beautiful, spacious living room with log fire
It's snowing outside......
... but it's cosy inside.
Snuggle up around the log fire in the living room with a glass of wine
The living room has 2 grouped seating areas: this one faces the TV, DVD player and gamestation
TV/ games area
The dining room is down 5 steps from the living area, with huge windows looking out at amazing views
Salmon mousse with recipe from Andy's mum!
Home made tarts to delight.
Bright and friendly twin bedroom on the first floor
Bright and friendly twin room. All our bedrooms have stocked bookshelves
Romantic four poster bed in this huge suite in the oldest part of the house
Romantic four-poster bed
Armchairs in the family suite
Fairy-tale wooden beds
Double bedroom with built-in wooden four poster
Double bedroom with wooden four poster bed and traditional wooden walls
Double bedroom with amazing views of Mont Blanc
Small double bedroom with beamed ceiling in the old part of the house
View from the balcony: Mont Blanc at sunset
Skiing in La Plagne
Comfortable living room
Roche de Mio, one of the high points of La Plagne.
Powderfield above Montchavin
Mont Blanc
North Face of the Bellecote
Les Arcs
Montorlin from above, walking home via the footpath through the trees
The balcony in summer is a great place to chill
Wisteria outside the family suite in spring
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Montchavin, Savoie, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Joe C
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just about perfect: a splendid week”
Reviewed 21 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Its never easy being the organiser of a group of demanding, eccentric, loud-mouthed thirty-somethings. You worry about everything: will it snow (can't control it), will the journey be boring (just drink wine in the bar carriage), will people get on (of course they will). Mainly you worry about the accommodation, but if you stay with Andy and Liza, you don't need to. It was great. Comfortable rooms (especially mine), a really fantastic communal space, ski equipment delivered to the chalet and fitted there and then, ski passes waiting on arrival, even Gold by Ryan Adams in the (extensive) CD collection (sadly I couldn't find Heartbreaker, but I'll give Andy the benefit of the doubt and assume it was there somewhere). The food was great, too: Jamie and Kirsten looked after us really well, came out on their boards on a couple of days and STILL had time to have a cake waiting for us when we got home. The main worry was the distance from the lifts - but that was not even an issue: Andy or Jamie dropped us off by the main lift up whenever we wanted, and were there with the van within minutes of the text at the end of the day - often before we'd even had time to finish the vin chaud. Really, really good: you should go.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The view from the upstairs area
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Feb 2014
So happy you all enjoyed yourselves! Yes, 'Heartbreaker' is in there somewhere - you'll have to find it on your next visit, soon, we hope.
Liza and Andy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Feb 2014
We take our business very much to heart; and it is heartwarming to get such lovely reviews! Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sandra B
Reykjavik, Iceland
2 reviews
“The perfect Christmas skiing”
Reviewed 7 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

We stayed a family of five at La Portette for the Christmas week and we loved it. Right from the start Liza, the owner, was very friendly and helpful. She got the ski passes for us and recommended a ski rental that delivered the skis to the chalet. No waiting in lines. Very comfortable.

Liza or Jamie and Kirsten, the chalet hosts, dropped us of for skiing and picked us up whenever we wanted by the Montchavin telecabine. It is a very short and quick drive and we found it no trouble at all that we were not directly by the lifts and ski slopes. The Paradiski area is beautiful, with endless ski slopes, suitable for all levels. The chalet is located by the middle of the area so you can ski both Les Arcs and La Plagne.

The chalet is rustic and charming and the view from the balcony is amazing. After skiing it was great to relax in the cosy living room, in one of the big sofas, with a cake and a drink. There is free wifi, lots of books, DVDs and music. Our boys of 9, 11 and 18 really liked the Playstation. Dinner was three course. Lots of fabulous food and wine. Loved all of it.

Liza, Jamie and Kirsten did absolutely everything to make our Christmas skiing wonderful. Thank you! Unfortunately we did not meet Andy as he went to England to bring a new car to France and encountered some problems.

We highly recommend La Portette. Excellent value for money.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Feb 2014
Christmas in the chalet with our friendly guests was magical for the hosts too! Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H5221
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Unarguably the best accommodation in the area”
Reviewed 5 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

You would be a fool to look else where for accommodation.
We stayed in the chalet over the Christmas period for a week, the lifts in the area had only opened the day before we arrived. I cannot fault our stay at La Portette!
The accommodation was homely and very warm. There was the opportunity to have baths as well as showers, with hot water available at all hours, just what you want after a day of skiing. Liza and the chalet hosts bent over backwards to ensure that our stay was the best it could be, and the price for the service we received was well worth it. The food is to die for- 3 course meals on an evening; you do eat late however there is cake and coffee when you get in after skiing. Liza and the chalet hosts (Jamie and Kirsten) will amend the menu for you if have and dietary issues or dislikes. Drink is free flowing both wine and juice. There is nothing that I can possibly think of to improve the holiday, we even got our skis delivered to the accommodation.
I would recommend taking a torch if you wish to walk to the larger town on an evening if it is rather dark on the way there: ask Liza where the short cut is otherwise it is not a short walk.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The food
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Feb 2014
What a great start to the season with our new chalet hosts Jamie and Kirsten. Thank you to our lovely guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Reviewed 24 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
27 Sep 2013
Thank you so much for such positive feedback. We greatly enjoyed your week with us too and look forward to welcoming you back, winter or summer!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$83
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing