We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent People & Priceless Sunsets”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Palm Loop Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Woodlands, Montserrat

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
KJTripps
Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent People & Priceless Sunsets”
Reviewed 18 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
3
people found this review helpful

My boyfriend & I had the pleasure of staying at Bunkum and enjoyed our hosts, Sunny & Kristina. They are the kindest people ever, extremely helpful and try to accommodate their guests in every way possible. We stayed in the 2 bedroom villa for New Year's and enjoyed the most beautiful sunsets! It was nice to be able to dip into the pool and relax throughout the day. We also had fun watching/feeding the iguanas as they are hanging mostly near the cliff wall. For a change of scenery, we took a nice walk to the beach nearby .
I absolutely recommend "Sunny's Tour!" It is money well spent and you will truly be pleased with all the knowledge he shares about the island and volcano plus you can't help but just be blessed by his presence as he is known by all on the island. If you don't do anything else on the island, TAKE SUNNY'S TOUR!!!! Even if you are just there for the day or aren't able to stay overnight at Bunkum, you should still inquire about and take the tour. In all honesty, everything you need to know to venture the island he can share with you. He gave us the tour and we were able to find our way around and plan our events for the next 10 days. I can't say enough about Sunny & Kristina as they are just the kind of people you want to be around! ;)
As for the one person who wrote the negative review, are you sure you stayed here?

Value Location
Cleanliness Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoriD8510
Issaquah, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A lovely, friendly part of the Caribbean”
Reviewed 22 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Bunkum Beach Guesthouse in the pool side suite. We appreciated the wonderful view, the sound of the surf, and the peaceful setting. The kitchenette was perfect for our breakfasts each morning, overlooking the pool. The suite was clean, well kept, and had everything we needed.
Kristina was so helpful to pick us up at the airport, then helping us get a driver’s license and groceries before dropping us off at the house, where our rental car waited. She went above and beyond when we put a dent in the rental car, going with us to have the damage estimated. Sunny provided an awesome tour of the island, answering all of our questions with an insider’s knowledge and taking us into the volcano exclusion zone. They both made us feel very welcome and made it easy to relax.
We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it to those looking for a quiet, beautiful, friendly part of the Caribbean.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoho0482
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
Reviewed 3 November 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This was our second visit to Montserrat and the second time we stayed at Bunkum which is easy to recommend for the location and the view alone. As some others have mentioned, the house is quite old, but is kept clean and is slowly being renovating. Indeed it's perfect for Montserrat.

We had 5 villas booked in total, as we brought family and friends to the island for our wedding. Despite having some booked that were many, many times more expensive (Camelot by the Sea) we chose Bunkum for ourselves. The location on the cliffs, the views, the friendly iguanas, the quiet setting, all add up to a perfect villa.

The new owners are friendly, easy going types who can help you get orientated when you arrive, or to arrange trips, etc. Kristina even helped out before we arrived to ensure we had what we needed to know about getting married on Montserrat and left us a fantastic wedding gift on the day itself.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
otter369
sydney
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“repeat offender returns”
Reviewed 31 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Back to Montserrat this year and once again stayed at Bunkum Beach Guest House. The most perfect holiday again and we will definitely be back next year. Krisitina and Sunny made sure everything was perfect, even the weather!
Mornings feeding the iguanas, enjoying a swim in our private pool and deciding where to have lunch was about as taxing as it got.
Cannot say enough good things about this holiday rental. Perfect!
BTW I see some person thought the roof was asbestos. Not so. My husband checked it out and it is fibreglass.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric P
Fort Worth, TX
Level 6 Contributor
501 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
“Found our pot of gold !”
Reviewed 16 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
4
people found this review helpful

It was no concidence to us that we had a rainbow appear right by Bunkum during our stay, we truly believe we found our own little pot of gold. (pic) We had the property all to ourselves for 5 days and made great use of the pool and all the room we could ever want to stretch out in. The property is situated on a cliffside immediately on the water. It is about a 5 minute drive from Woodlands Beach which was fun snorkelling for the family.

It has lovely fruit trees and flowering plants all over the property (est 2-3 acres). I gathered mangos and plum rose (taste lightly rosy with a pear texture) each morning for breakfast. I'm sure there are other fruits during other seasons. It also had a few wild iguanas on the property that live on the cliff side that would visit us each day. The kids loved feeding them mangoes...just slice and toss it to them.

As for Sun and Kristina, WOW! They really made the stay for us. Not only did they arrange tours, rental car, picked us up from the ferry, beverages in the fridge...all the normal things you would expect. They went WWAAYYY above and beyond it was incredible. A few examples:
1) We did not have a car for our first day, but needed groceries.....Sun took us the grocery store and waited for us.
2) It was getting late our first afternoon and we didn't have the spirit to cook that night, so Sun not only took us to a restaurant to place a take order...he then went back and picked it up for us a couple hours later.
3) Kristina was going to drive us back to the ferry on our last day. Scheduled for 430pm. She learned that due to the tropical storm passing south of us that they ferry decided that day that they wanted to leave at 2pm. She not only called to tell us when she learned (just after 1pm), but came over to get us and take us to the ferry too....and we made it with time to spare. (thank you Clover Lea too for the info). She also followed up after our ferry ride just to make sure we arrived safely back in Antigua.
4) When I originally booked our stay the ferry schedule had different travel days. When I received the July schedule, we had to leave a day early. I had all intentions to pay for a nights stay in both places due to this being our issue. When I asked Kristina to send me a Paypal for the tour we took with Sun, she deducted the night's stay we could not have due to the ferry schedule without being prompted by us. While we really appreciated the offer and did accept her generoisity....we sent Sun a "tip" for the tour and pizza delivery in the same amount as the refund. He more than earned it....and this was before the early ferry departure whirlwind. :-)

As mentioned, we also had an island and volcano tour provided by Sun which was excellent. Getting closer to the destruction (within legal limits) was one of the highlights of our stay in Montserrat. If you have any desires for a volcanic tour, I highly urge you to go with Sun. It was very informative and we said "WOW" on more than a dozen times during the tour. Not to mention calling ahead to the Montserrat Volcano Observatory to get them to hold the scheduled playing of the movie a few minutes until we arrived. (be sure to ask Sun to stop at the police station to get you a temporary license if you plan to drive, then the car can be delivered to the house and you don't have to go get the license)

Sun also turned us on to a few gems on the island....Hilltop Cafe (run by his father as a community center project)...excellent pasteries and coffees. Ponts....great seafood and Sunday barbecue plus a very warm and welcoming host (John). Tina's for pizza, burgers and other food. Btw, if you want to get a snorkel/scuba guide, I highly recommend going with Scuba Montserrat. Andrew and Emmy were great as well.

We are planning to go back to Montserrat on one of next couple vacations and will definitely make plans to stay with Kristina and Sun again, but for a much longer stay. :-)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$150
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing