We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (122)
Filter reviews
122 results
Traveller rating
103
13
4
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
103
13
4
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews honesty bar drawing room brown trout fantastic facilities small hotel pool and sauna quality experience beautiful house country house fantastic spot john dory two nights steak tartare guest rooms fly fishing county galway fabulous stay
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 122 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2018

My husband and I had two peaceful, gourmet nights at Screebe. The food was the reason we booked our stay as we had heard resoundingly good things about it and we were not disappointed.

I was served the two most stunning vegan meals I have tasted. Three different courses each of the two consecutive nights accompanied by wonderfully textured flavoursome sourdough bread and preceded by an amuse-bouche of nori cracker, topped with black garlic puree and leek flowers that was divine. The mains were built around cauliflower the first night and leek the second; the flavours were innovative and the textures were really well combined. My partner choose from the a-la-carte and enjoyed both meals with the steak tartare being especially memorable.

All was not perfect however, the wonderful food came with a price. Sound travels between the kitchen and the dining room and this understandably, is a problem for the chef. We were not particularly aware of the acoustics between the two rooms but we were conscious of the rather loud contemporary music played to overcome it and we asked for it to be lowered. We were told this was not possible and when we pointed out that the level and choice of music was not typical of the peaceful ambience of the country house we were reminded that the standard of food being produced was also not typical and that owners and staff considered it appropriate that the music be played at the level necessary for the comfort of the chef. This exchange was disappointing; not so much because the music wasn't lowered but because we were made to feel churlish for suggesting that our comfort was more important than the chef's. We'd strongly recommend getting advise on acoustically sealing the kitchen from the dining room - this is a fairly routine requirement in restaurant design.

In all other respects the service was exceptional and we were made to feel relaxed and at home. the pool and fitness centre are a great addition. The rooms are comfortable and cozy.

We would strongly recommend Screebe House to family and friends; especially any with an interest in food.

Antoinette

Room tip: Best views are one's with a view to the water. The owners were very accommodating in providing information on the rooms
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Antoinette O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ursula b, Manager at Screebe House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2018

thanks a lot :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

Beautiful house, very intimate, peaceful and cosy. Service was outstanding. The food was simply incredible. Fine dining at its finest. Damien the Head Chef has created a tantalising menu, executed superbly. I had the beef tartare to start and the John Dory for mains. Both dishes compete for dish of the year for me.
Breakfast was delectable as well. Fresh turf smoked hake benedict

Would highly recommend this place for a chilled vibe for the discerning foodie.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank RubioAlvarez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ursula b, Manager at Screebe House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2018

thank you :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2018 via mobile

Myself and my wife have just had the most magnificent meal at Screebe House on the 28th of February. We stayed at Screebe House May 2017 and the food was truly superlative. It was so good we simply had to return to sample Damian’s brilliance in cooking food with truly wonderful flavours.

His cooking is definitely Michelin level and the last time I ate anything like his food was as a guest in a Michelin restaurant in Nice, France.

His partner Suzi is a foodie and both Damian and Suzi presented the plates of food with great descriptions of the food sauces and other food compliments. Stephan looks after a very personal bar in a room adjacent to the restaurant area.

It’s truly outstanding and a must visit if you’re in Connemara. The restaurant is part of a beautiful house, formerly a private house, now opened to the public. One can also stay at the house and the rooms are most comfortable and cozy.

I cannot day enough about the food.

Well done Damian and Suzi.

We will be back soon.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank JJBart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2018

My husband and I recently booked into Screebe for an Anniversary night away without kids. We had been once before and found it exceptional and this visit was no different. We felt so welcome. The staff were friendly, helpful and warm. The facilities were excellent. The food was absolutely outstanding - we wanted to lick our plates and we were sad when mealtimes came to an end. The attention to detail in this hotel is rare and guests are treated like old friends. We honestly couldn't recommend this hotel highly enough and we can't wait for our next visit!

Room tip: Stay in the old house if you love rooms with character. Rooms at the back have spectacular views.
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GelatoSlave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2017

Everything about Screebe House was fantastic. From the moment we stepped into the House on a rainy, dark November evening to be met by a roaring fire and an even warmer welcome by Susie, the front of house manager (and all-around wonder woman), we enjoyed ourselves immensely. The food by head chef Damien and his team--as others have lauded--was seasonal, creative, and absolutely delicious; highly recommend to have dinner at Screebe. The room was comfortable, the beds and sleep like a cloud, and the view the following morning (complete with a double rainbow over the lough), was stunning. Complete with a pre-breakfast visit to the pool and sauna, we left feeling full, relaxed, and happy. Even though it was only a quick night's escape from Galway, one night was not enough--we'll be back!

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank R I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews