We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Screebe House
Nearby Hotels
US$160
US$149
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$227
US$212
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Killary Lodge(Leenane)(Great Value!)
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
US$397
US$234
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$234
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (106)
Filter reviews
106 results
Traveller rating
89
12
3
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
89
12
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonesty barpool spadrawing roombrown troutthe general managersmall hotelseparate buildingfantastic spotjohn dorytwo nightswonderful staybeautiful housecountry houseguest roomsfly fishingcounty galwaypublic areas
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 106 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2018 via mobile

Myself and my wife have just had the most magnificent meal at Screebe House on the 28th of February. We stayed at Screebe House May 2017 and the food was truly superlative. It was so good we simply had to return to sample Damian’s brilliance in cooking food with truly wonderful flavours.

His cooking is definitely Michelin level and the last time I ate anything like his food was as a guest in a Michelin restaurant in Nice, France.

His partner Suzi is a foodie and both Damian and Suzi presented the plates of food with great descriptions of the food sauces and other food compliments. Stephan looks after a very personal bar in a room adjacent to the restaurant area.

It’s truly outstanding and a must visit if you’re in Connemara. The restaurant is part of a beautiful house, formerly a private house, now opened to the public. One can also stay at the house and the rooms are most comfortable and cozy.

I cannot day enough about the food.

Well done Damian and Suzi.

We will be back soon.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank JJBart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2018

My husband and I recently booked into Screebe for an Anniversary night away without kids. We had been once before and found it exceptional and this visit was no different. We felt so welcome. The staff were friendly, helpful and warm. The facilities were excellent. The food was absolutely outstanding - we wanted to lick our plates and we were sad when mealtimes came to an end. The attention to detail in this hotel is rare and guests are treated like old friends. We honestly couldn't recommend this hotel highly enough and we can't wait for our next visit!

Room Tip: Stay in the old house if you love rooms with character. Rooms at the back have spectacular views.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GelatoSlave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2017

Everything about Screebe House was fantastic. From the moment we stepped into the House on a rainy, dark November evening to be met by a roaring fire and an even warmer welcome by Susie, the front of house manager (and all-around wonder woman), we enjoyed ourselves immensely. The food by head chef Damien and his team--as others have lauded--was seasonal, creative, and absolutely delicious; highly recommend to have dinner at Screebe. The room was comfortable, the beds and sleep like a cloud, and the view the following morning (complete with a double rainbow over the lough), was stunning. Complete with a pre-breakfast visit to the pool and sauna, we left feeling full, relaxed, and happy. Even though it was only a quick night's escape from Galway, one night was not enough--we'll be back!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank R I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017 via mobile

Amazing tasting menu served up by Damian and delivered and explained by the ever helpful Suzy. We've eaten in many Michelin star restaurants and the food on offer here is on a par with the best, inventive, local, seasonal taste explosions! I expect it won't be long until the kitchen gets the recognition it deserves. Had the a la carte on night one too, which was also delicious and spent the morning after alone in the spa between the pool and the sauna. Fantastic spot, will be back next year to see what new delights are on offer. Keep it up Screebe!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Oran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017

There are some issues with this place. They stop serving breakfast at 10am on the dot, which seems antithetical to the whole idea of good hospitality, and they don't even have scones or a sandwich available for lunch. However, the cooking is so extraordinarily good, and the service so warm and friendly, that you forgive them these small problems. The chef deserves a Michelin star, possibly two.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
3  Thank Trevor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews