We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (121)
Filter reviews
121 results
Traveller rating
102
13
4
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
102
13
4
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews drawing room honesty bar brown trout the general manager small hotel separate building pool and sauna beautiful house country house two nights quality experience fantastic spot john dory guest rooms county galway open fire public areas
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 121 reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2017

Everything about Screebe House was fantastic. From the moment we stepped into the House on a rainy, dark November evening to be met by a roaring fire and an even warmer welcome by Susie, the front of house manager (and all-around wonder woman), we enjoyed ourselves immensely. The food by head chef Damien and his team--as others have lauded--was seasonal, creative, and absolutely delicious; highly recommend to have dinner at Screebe. The room was comfortable, the beds and sleep like a cloud, and the view the following morning (complete with a double rainbow over the lough), was stunning. Complete with a pre-breakfast visit to the pool and sauna, we left feeling full, relaxed, and happy. Even though it was only a quick night's escape from Galway, one night was not enough--we'll be back!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank R I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017 via mobile

Amazing tasting menu served up by Damian and delivered and explained by the ever helpful Suzy. We've eaten in many Michelin star restaurants and the food on offer here is on a par with the best, inventive, local, seasonal taste explosions! I expect it won't be long until the kitchen gets the recognition it deserves. Had the a la carte on night one too, which was also delicious and spent the morning after alone in the spa between the pool and the sauna. Fantastic spot, will be back next year to see what new delights are on offer. Keep it up Screebe!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Oran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017

There are some issues with this place. They stop serving breakfast at 10am on the dot, which seems antithetical to the whole idea of good hospitality, and they don't even have scones or a sandwich available for lunch. However, the cooking is so extraordinarily good, and the service so warm and friendly, that you forgive them these small problems. The chef deserves a Michelin star, possibly two.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
3  Thank Trevor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2017

We stayed here for two nights and enjoyed every second of it. It is pure luxury. The rooms, the spa area and of course the view. We ate here on both evenings and the food was superb. We had the tasting menu (9 courses) costing €70. We hope to return.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank niftydublin55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

We absolutely love this place!!! The staff are super friendly and the setting is idyllic. It only has 10 rooms so it has a real homely feel with a personal touch. Oh, and peat fires, peat fires everywhere - delightful!

It's actually not that far from Galway City - maybe 45mins/1hour so not too too demanding a trip by any stretch.

But the real show-stopper is the food... Ho. Lee. Sheet. It is out of this world! I literally cannot describe how good it is. I've eaten in two San Pellegrino Top Ten (of Fifty) restaurants + a couple of one/two star restaurants in Ireland this summer and this blew them all out of the water. I kid you not. And breakfast is probably the best hotel breakfast I've had anywhere.

On the Saturday afternoon we drove to Clifden, rented bikes and cycled a loop to Ballyconneely and Roundstone - a great trip to build up an appetite. There are plenty of walks and cycles closer-by as well. Screebe is on 40,000 acres of land so they are not short of space!

Overall, I cannot recommend this place highly enough!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews