We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A dream come true”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of The Song House

The Song House and Iconic Muckish Mountain in the Background
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Song House and Iconic Muckish Mountain in the Background
Twin Room Bunk Beds
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
The Song House and Iconic Muckish Mountain in the Background
Twin Room
Bunk Beds
Cosy Fireplace
The Fire Pit In Use
The Song House Garden and View Across Fields
Beautiful walks in the wilderness nearby
Fantastic Views Everywhere
Beautiful and Expansive Local Beaches
Mount Errigal
Ray church - 6th Century Ruins
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Falcarragh, County Donegal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
spaceofse...
Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
“A dream come true”
Reviewed 4 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

For many years ive wanted to visit ireland and when this opportunity came my way I finally got to go. I have never stayed in such a beautiful location. And to get to sing in th e old church with candy and all of us was amazing. The house is delightful, nothing to fault whatsoever, candy invited us to a local pub with music, it was fantastic. Candy and her husband were very welcoming and accommodati ng. Thankyou for giving me such beautiful memories. Hope to be back xxxx

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2017
Dear Grace, I am so pleased that you loved the Song House and Donegal so much. We welcome you back any time x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vivilalal...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautifully refurbished, Stunning location, a real gem”
Reviewed 4 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The views over Muckish Mountain are absolutely stunning - Candy calls the windows the "TV" because the view is ever changing with the weather and light. It's wonderful to find somewhere that has been recently refurbished with such care - the house retains its traditional charm but everything works! Lovely showers, all new windows so no draughts. An open fire with peat blocks and a fire pit outside for warm evenings. Candy is a wonderfully welcoming host who is very knowledgeable about the local area. I took the entire property for 5 days to hold a retreat, using the large living area as a workshop space. I was delighted, as were all the participants.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2017
Vee it was wonderful having you and your group. So thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. Please come back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robyn R
2 reviews
“A lovely big house with stunning views in Donegal”
Reviewed 3 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

I stayed in the Song House on a Singing on the Wild Side course run by Candy.
Very comfortable accommodation, lots of space, beautiful garden adn stupendous views of Mukish mountain. Candy and Robyn were very welcoming and arranged walks, trips to lovely gardens, the beach and the casltle. The local beaches are amazing. The music in the local pub was also a great treat.
I also reccommend Candy's singing courses -excellent!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2017
Thanks you Robyn, it was so good having you here, and your friends. All best
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nursemarg...
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“perfect weekend to destress”
Reviewed 2 August 2017 for a stay in June 2017

hi Candy I may have already given a review but just to add to them it was a great weekend and distressed me 100%. It didn't matter that the weather was a little varied it was the atmosphere inside that made it all. We felt very welcome and the house was very homely . ye couldn't ask for better. Thank you once again . maybe we could make it an annual event.mARGARET

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2017
Dear Margaret, I'd love your choir to come annually, what a special idea. yes! (I hope you meant destressed, not distressed..) All best Candy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A thoroughly enjoyable weekend at the lovely Song House”
Reviewed 20 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

A thoroughly enjoyable weekend at the lovely Song House
The Song House was used to celebrate the 10th anniversary of our choir.
It was perfect for the occasion. Not only did it provide comfortable overnight accommodation for 12 of us, but we used the big room for a lovely singing workshop with Candy, the owner of the cottage. The accommodation is in a beautiful area, walking distance from the village of Falcarragh and close to some stunning beaches. The fantastic Garden Centre/Nursery Cluain Tor is a must for anyone who likes gardening and you'll also find some very interesting history to explore in the area.
Candy and Robin made us very welcome and I can definitely recommend The Song House.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jun 2017
So pleased you enjoyed your stay so much. we thoroughly enjoyed having the Voice of Lecale to stay. Come again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing