We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Exceptional property and most generous hosts”
other travellers have booked this property
3 Dukes Cottage, Backworth
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
3 Dukes Cottage, Backworth
3 Dukes Cottage, Backworth Living Area 3 Dukes Cottage, Backworth Living Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
3 Dukes Cottage, Backworth
3 Dukes Cottage, Backworth Living Area
3 Dukes Cottage, Backworth Living Area
3 Dukes Cottage, Backworth Kitchen Area
3 Dukes Cottage, Backworth Kitchen Area
3 Dukes Cottage, Backworth Kitchen Area
3 Dukes Cottage, Backworth
3 Dukes Cottage, Backworth
3 Dukes Cottage, Backworth Twin Room
3 Dukes Cottage, Backworth Bunk Room
3 Dukes Cottage, Backworth Bathroom
3 Dukes Cottage, Backworth Landing Area
3 Dukes Cottage, Backworth
3 Dukes Cottage, Backworth
3 Dukes Cottage, Backworth
Backworth Golf Club
Cycle along the coastal paths
Enjoy a night out in the vibrant city of Newcastle
Shopping then lunch on Newcastle Quayside - the perfect shopping day
Tynemouth beach - only 5 miles from the cottage
Blue Reef Aquarium in Tynemouth- perfect day out for families
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Backworth, Tyne and Wear, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tim V
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Exceptional property and most generous hosts”
Reviewed 5 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We have stayed many times in Dukes Cottages, both 3 & 4, and we feel that they cannot be bettered. Both cottages are immaculately furnished, they are exceptionally clean, and they are a true home from home. The cottages want for nothing in terms of utensils, and home comforts. Caroline and Gordon are the most generous and helpful people that you would ever wish to meet, a truly lovely couple. These properties (3 and 4) cannot be recommended more highly, as they are truly outstanding.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Dec 2015
"Hello and thank you for taking the time to write your review for 3 Dukes Cottage. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and could not agree with you more about Gordon & Caroline. Cottages in Northumberland look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, the Cottages in Northumberland team."
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidmcil...
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed 7 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Enjoyed week break perfedt location for beach and exploring newcastle. Dog friendly and good beds. Would definitely return

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Road noise
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2015
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to review the lovely 4 Dukes Cottage. We are all so pleased that you had a lovely time and we look forward to welcoming you back to Northumberland in the future!

Kind regards,
Karen.
Cottages in Northumberland.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cazandchr...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Another wonderful stay!”
Reviewed 31 December 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We returned! Staying in 3 Dukes Cottages again is just a privilege. It is truly stunning, well thought out and homely. Everything is thought out to be more than a home from home. My Mum, who has passed this place regularly en route to her Vets, was amazed at the beauty of this cottage. Stunning place in a quiet village which is a fantastic base to explore the North East. Not far at all from Newcastle city centre and the beauty that is Northumberland.
We loved the guestbook inside the cottage, full of good hints and tips on places to visit and eat. Hats off to Caroline and Gordon for putting so much thought into a faultless place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Homely features, the fireplace and reading room.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
squibs187...
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A great find.”
Reviewed 3 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I was invited to join family members at this lovely cottage. It has everything we needed for a great time. If you are looking for the best accommodation in Whitley Bay area this is the place to go to.It was spotless. I did not meet the owners as I arrived after everyone else but I was told they were very pleasant and welcoming and would have been available if we needed anything. We did not need the fire but it would have been lovely to use it in cold weather.
It would be difficult to stay without a car.
We did not take a pet but there was no evidence that there had been pets there. (You can usually tell pets have been there when accepted but not here.)

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Cleanliness and
Liked least: Didn't dislike anything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotty272...
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“5 star doesn't do it justice!”
Reviewed 1 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Just had a long weekend with friends and two dogs at no.3, Gordon & Caroline (the owners) really do go the extra mile to make guests feel welcome and comfortable! Everything you could need is provided for you, even store cupboard items, a well stocked spice cupboard together with the fresh eggs, butter, bacon, bread and milk. I agree with all the other comments, but also want to add how welcome our dogs where made, a very nice and escape proof garden, a bed, water bowl and treats waiting for them!

It's in a lovely village, with a lovely off road dog walk just minutes from the cottage. A very central location, 20mins into Newcastle.

We have already booked for next year and I wouldn't bother trawling the web again when staying in this area, can't recommend highly enough!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$798
/ Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing