We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful, House, Stunning Location, Great Host...”

Review of Batchcott Hall

Garden view of Hall
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Garden view of Hall
Twin Room Lawned Garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Garden view of Hall
Twin Room
Lawned Garden
Summer at Batchcote
Master En Suite
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Terrace
Kitchen
Childrens Tennis
Childrens Room
Tree House
4th Double
Kite flying Long Mynd
Lounge
Dining Room
En Suite 3rd Double
Garden Views
Spring Views
Panoramic Views
Spring at Batchcott
Entrance with parking
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Picklescott, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jadelicou...
UK
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful, House, Stunning Location, Great Host Eileen!”
Reviewed 19 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We were all very very impressed with our long weekend stay at Batchcott Hall in Picklescott. The house was more than what we were expecting in so many ways. Stunning location with fabulous views, the gardens are very pretty and there is even a sunken trampoline and tree-house! All the bedrooms are large and have their own bathrooms and the very large beds are extremely comfortable.
The living areas are all fitted out with lovely furntiure and the kitchen is stocked with everything you could need - we even had a small welcome basket waiting for us from the lovely Eileen!
A short walk down the road takes you to a very nice friendly pub that serves very tasty food.
I can't really fault this place - it truly served us perfectly as a large group of friends visiting the area for a wedding. We're just gutted it's already booked for the New Year period!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words, enjoyed you all staying with us for the wedding. Sorry we cannot accommodate you for New Year 2014!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brownies...
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An absolutely amazing house”
Reviewed 28 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We went with uni friends and lots of children and the house just suited everyone and all their needs. Eileen couldn't have done any more for us, from putting away our Tesco order as it arrived early, to baking a cake, bowl of fruit and wine to start the weekend.
All bedrooms and bathrooms simply divine and so comfortable. It was like staying in a hotel.
Lovely surroundings for walking and a great pub within 5 min walk.
Definitely one we will be revisiting for sure.
A simply superb and incredible house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2013
Thank you so much for your review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilikegood...
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic! Will be going back again!”
Reviewed 16 January 2013 for a stay in October 2012

This is a fantastic house, wonderful garden, lovely views, a great location and a very personal service from Eileen. We had a fantastic time and Eileen couldn't have done any more to make our stay any more perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything! Personal service, flexible, wonderful character house, great grounds for kids too
Liked least: I really can't think of anything we didn't like
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2013
Thank you for you review and so pleased you all enjoyed yourselves at Batchcott.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martyn b
Harpenden, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic place for a big group with children”
Reviewed 4 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012

We stayed for four nights over NYE 2012 and had a fantastic time. We were four couples with seven children and the facilities suited us perfectly. All the rooms are large and very well fitted out with four bathrooms. Plenty of space for dinner etc and lots of room for kids to run around. Eileen was also very helpful both before and during the stay. Would thoroughly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space, kitchen, table tennis and tennis, multiple bathrooms, helpful owner
Liked least: Slightly out of the way location with 10 min drive along single lane roads
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2013
Thank you for your Batchcott review and it was a pleasure to have you all over the festive period.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Supatx
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful venue in beautiful setting for a large family get together”
Reviewed 30 December 2012 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Batchcote Hall is a beautiful home, plenty of space for everyone (there were 16 of us) yet comfortable and warm. The house is well equipped with modern luxury bathrooms, a wonderful farmhouse style kitchen with Aga, spacious dining room and cosy lounge. The grounds are well maintained and although the weather kept us inside, enjoying the large log fires, we were able to delight in the stunning views across the fields to the Shropshire hills from the huge picture windows. Eileen, the manager could not do enough to make sure that we had everything that we needed and made us feel completely relaxed and 'at home'.
We enjoyed an excellent pre-Christmas meal at the local (Picklescott) pub - The Bottle and Glass and were made to feel very welcome again when we called in for drinks on Boxing Day.
A very enjoyable holiday leaving us with happy memories that we will cherish.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lovely old house and stunning views
Liked least: The weather during our stay!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2013
Thank you for your kind words and it was a pleasure to have such a lovely family group staying at Batchcott
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing