We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“great place to stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Welcome to the ORR a Grade 2 listed property with a modern design finish & spacious open plan li
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to the ORR a Grade 2 listed property with a modern design finish & spacious open plan li
Thanks to our guests for awarding us a coveted Trip Advisor 5-Star award last season. A warm welcome awaits you behind this unique front entranceway behind your own secure period door.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
Welcome to the ORR a Grade 2 listed property with a modern design finish & spacious open plan li
Thanks to our guests for awarding us a coveted Trip Advisor 5-Star award last season.
A warm welcome awaits you behind this unique front entranceway behind your own secure period door.
Your opening view of the LARGE open plan living area which means no-one gets trapped in the kitchen.
Flat screen digital TV,DVD player,Stereo and BT Openzone wi-fi are joined by traditional games
Original Victorian open fireplace with a bag of fuel to get you started, bring some marshmallows !
Our growing library that means that the ORR lives up to its name , help yourself during your stay.
Ground floor Family roll-top Bathroom, great for a soak with a glass of wine or the local brew!
Simple BUT well equipped kitchen featuring butler sink & NEFF appliances, most importantly dishw
Up the wide and manageable stairs to the bedrooms , stairgates & doors at the top keep everyone
The Master Double bedroom complete with Bedknobs and Broomsticks iron bedstead and solid wood floors
The Middle twin bedroom with a small double and single bed, period iron beds with modern mattresses
The last bedroom,small double and tall single period beds , with plenty of furniture and space too!
All bedrooms feature original feature timber beams and period pine furniture with modern heating!
The marriage of old and new means the ORR is quaint but with ALL modern comforts - light and WARM.
Bring a toasting fork and make the most of this original fireplace.
Its the personal touches that mean we hope you enjoy your stay !
Xmas at the ORR always includes a real Xmas tree with all the trimmings, we are always full at Xmas!
Southwold's unique Pier, quintessentially British, vintage games, attractions and great Fish n
Suffolk has more Windmills per square mile than Holland , some are well kept , others are derelict.
Suffolk has some wild,unspoilt natural beaches where you can find peace, solitude and some odd stuff
NEW cream-tea island at nearby Southwold Boating Lake and Cafe , great place for tea & twitchers
Pleasurewood Hills theme park is a few moments drive away and well worth a day out when visting.
The Norfolk Broads is 20 minutes away from the ORR & Day Boats or river trips are another great
Southwold the nearest Town to ORR , great for a bit of Star spotting or do the Adnams Brewery Tour
Come and join us and stay for the WORLD Crabbing Championships at nearby Walberswick.
Suffolk is home to the world renowned Adnams and Aspalls breweries , both within minutes of the ORR
Come and spend your holiday in one of England's special LISTED buildings.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Converted chapel -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Wrentham, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
dell7747
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great place to stay”
Reviewed 9 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Yet again a great time at The Old Reading Rooms always clean and tidy... Hayley there with kettle boiling for tea weather a little cold but property nice and warm !!!...bottle of favourite red wine Many Thanks Andy and Hayley

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 May 2016
Great to see you again and thanks for continued support. Hotter this week now for sure !!! Feel free to come back soon , cheers A & H
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh_Fish...
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Christmas celebration at The Old Reading Rooms”
Reviewed 3 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

This is a lovely, spacious place, and is very well equipped. Whilst only 4 of us stayed for the period of the letting (5 nights), there were 9 of us on Christmas Day and we all has a great time. The house has a lot of character and includes some very pleasing design features introduced by the present owner. The lounge area has splendid sofas and a reclining armchair, while the beds were most comfortable. The kitchen area is modern, with electric oven & hob, fridge, freezer, microwave, dishwasher and washing machine. It was good to have two toilets available, one in the shower room (upstairs), the other in the bathroom (downstairs).
Hayley went out of her way to make us welcome and provide for our needs, so full marks on that score too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spaciousness of rooms
Liked least: On main road (A12), but this was not really a problem
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2016
Thanks for the positive review , we are so glad you made the most of what the ORR has to offer especially after your 'journey' here, well done!! Please feel free to return and visit us again , we'd love to see you back , have a happy and SAFE 2016 !!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROBERT M
Hamilton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Self catering just doesn't get better thank this. Simple.”
Reviewed 14 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed at the Old Reading Rooms with my brother and teenage niece who both thoroughly enjoyed their stay, the property being suitable for various age groups. The customer / client service from the owners Hayley and Andy Warnes was impeccable. We had such a warm welcome from Hayley ; it made us feel at ease straight away. The property is full of charm and character with period features- very spacious yet cosy too. Equally suitable for smaller numbers eg 2-3 as well as larger parties up to 6. Well situated in beautiful countryside with easy access to places of interest. Music lovers should check out the nearby Old Granary Studio, (Peel Farm), Maypole Green, Toft Monks, Beccles. Home made food on concert nights. Bliss.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The character and uniqueness of the property - full of quality and charm. Spacious yet cosy.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Dec 2015
Thanks so much for this kind review , we are glad you enjoyed the ORR and would love to welcome you back any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dell7747
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“old reading rooms”
Reviewed 17 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

A lovely property well developed into a homely cottage very comfortable ..bedrooms decorated well with comfy beds ..located well for the beech and other attractions after a hiccup sorted quickly by Andy and the lovely Hayley we had a great time with our French friends .We will be booking again at a later date and have recommended that our daughter and son book with their families

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Nov 2015
Thanks for your kind words and understanding of our technical hitch. So glad that it didn't upset your break and as with all these things its not that problems sometimes happen , its how quickly and the lengths you go to resolve them, i trust from your comments you were happy with our efforts. The offending item is now being replaced !! Be great to see you again and please advise your family members to advise us of the link when booking. Thanks again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R
1 review
“Mr”
Reviewed 4 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Wonderful homely cottage lovely big front room and Cody comfy beds. We all enjoyed our stay for our parents 60th wedding anniversary. Thank you for making us feel so welcome and we hope to return

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Nov 2015
We'd love to welcome you back to the ORR for another family gathering , thanks for visiting us and for your kind comments, cheers.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$155
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing