We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mrs”
other travellers have booked this property
Fully equipped kitchen, microwave, fridge freezer, dishwasher, washing machine, tumble drier
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Fully equipped kitchen, microwave, fridge freezer, dishwasher, washing machine, tumble drier
Dining area Family bathroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Fully equipped kitchen, microwave, fridge freezer, dishwasher, washing machine, tumble drier
Dining area
Family bathroom
Master kingsize
Sitting room with sky TV
Great Bustards
The garden across the road
Open fire
Enclosed courtyard
View of courtyard from landing
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Docking, Burnham Market, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
FenderCra...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mrs”
Reviewed 16 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have just spent a blissful week at this delightful cottage in the lovely friendly village of Docking. The cottage is perfect, cosy and just the right size for us and our two border collies. The village has a fantastic spar shop that sells absolutely everything you could possibly need. The railway pub across the road is a warm and friendly pub, that serves excellent food. You are only 4 miles from the amazing Brancaster Beach, perfect for morning walks with the dogs before you go off exploring the wonderful North Norfolk coast. You are never far from anywhere, a perfect location for exploring this beautiful area. We are reluctant to recommend this fab cottage for purely selfish reasons as we definitely want to come back :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2016
You'll be very welcome to come and stay whenever you like! Thank you!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ell1es
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bliss!!!”
Reviewed 8 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Spent a week here between 24/9-1/10/16 with my husband and our three spaniels and what can we say. A little gem in a lovely village. It was wonderful, we didn't want to come home. A beautiful locally sourced cake and bottle of wine were on the table to welcome us. The cottage is beautiful and we would love to go back, we had a great time. Thank you Angela your communication from booking was superb.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Oct 2016
I'm so pleased you enjoyed the cottage and your visit to North Norfolk so much, we would love to welcome you back. Many thanks, Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew W
Margate, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable, cosy cottage in a village location”
Reviewed 14 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely relaxing cottage, fully equipped with everything we needed for our holiday. Plenty of room for our party of four adults and a two year old dog. Pretty enclosed courtyard garden, modern kitchen, comfortable and relaxing lounge and bedrooms, luxurious bathroom. Village pub and Spar shop withing walking distance. Pizza van visits the village on a Monday night for a delicious pizzas. Fantastic beaches and plenty of dog friendly places for off the lead runs. Nice surrounding villlages to visit. Would highly recommend and would hope to visit again.

Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2016
We'd love to welcome you back, many thanks for your kind review.
Thank you Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmyw1984
Lincolnshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage!”
Reviewed 28 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fantastic time at this cottage and would recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing, cosy retreat to come back to after a hard day's work at the beach!!

The location is great, Spar shop 3mins walk down the road, decent pub less than 1min away (but very quiet). Docking also has a chippy (closed Mondays, but Eric's at Thornham is open and food still hot when we got home with it) and kids playground, and is only a short drive to some great beaches inc Holme, Brancaster, Thornham and a bit further the beautiful pine wood beach at Holkham. There are also charming market towns to explore nearby, Holt is especially lovely, but you can't beat Hunstanton when it comes to keeping children amused! (Old Hunstanton is also very pretty). Norfolk Lavender is only 5 mins away from the cottage and worth a visit.

The cottage is very comfortable and well equipped, absolutely loads of room for two adults and a toddler, and the sunny courtyard garden is lovely to sit out with a glass of wine in the evening. The outside tap by the back door is a bonus for washing sandy feet... all in all we had a great time and look forward to visiting again!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2016
Thank you for your lovely review, I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacquie W
Brackley, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely quiet, comfortable little cottage”
Reviewed 18 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Just spent 6 nights in this lovely little cottage with my husband and two Dalmatians.
It is very well equipped. Very quiet and peaceful. The morning sun in the courtyard is perfect for breakfast outside. The enclosed garden across the road is lovely for an afternoon/evening relaxing in the sun.
My daughter and her boyfriend joined us for the weekend and although the cottage is small and cosy we had plenty of space for 4 adults and the dogs.
The nearest beach is Brancaster which is glorious and less than 10 minutes drive away.
The pub, 2 minutes down the road, is nice and friendly and serves food.
With the open fire, I'd love to visit in the autumn too.
Definately recommend Samphire Cottage for a dog friendly Norfolk holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jul 2016
We would love to welcome you back.
Many thanks Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing