We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Priceline
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (18)
Filter reviews
18 results
Traveller rating
13
4
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
13
4
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 18 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2016

We booked for a stay of two weeks. This is rather long, because it is very quiet out there. You have to travel a lot to find the attractions of Liguria. This is a disadvantage. The site itself is very good, The living room/kitchen is spacious enough for 4 people, the two bedrooms are large, with comfortable beds and large wardrobes. The kitchen is well equipped.
The owners are very friendly.
There are a lot of animals around, owned by the owners (sheep, donkey, chicken, cats and rather unfriendly geese) and a lot of wild animals (deer, fox, wild boars and even a scorpion). You have to like that.

Mind you: the road to the property is steep and unpaved (first gear up and down)

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank EddyJ425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2015 via mobile

We are here for a week in September.
The place is managed by an Italian-Canadian couple.
It's a little farm a a hill just above Varese.
The 2 bedroom apartment is nicely decorated and fully equipped with all things needed.
Perfect for a family with kids.
50minutes to Cinque Terre, 1:10h to Genova.
Very good organic / biological food in Varese.
Good for sports like hiking, MTB and just 40 min to the next beach.

Date of stay: September 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank H3Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2014

We had a most enjoyable stay at Il Gumo in Varese Ligure this past July.
We originally had booked a three nights stay there, but because we felt so at home, we enquired if it were possible to return again for a further three nights at the end of our holiday. To our delight the accommodation was free and we were able to return for the last few days of our holiday. Il Gumo was the highlight of our two weeks in Liguria.
The property is located in the wooded hills above the town. Sheep, geese and hens run freely. And a large dog has a welcoming wagging tail. The ideal retreat from the busy world of tourist Italy.
Our accommodation was on a self-catering basis with a lovely breakfast of home baking, organic eggs, home grown fruit and freshly brewed coffee served every morning by the lovely owner Anna
The accommodation is very comfortable with splendid views of Varese Ligure. The more than ample size kitchen is fully equipped and enjoyable to prepare meals in. Every convenience is available with a private terrace where you can watch the sun go down every evening with a glass of wine or two!.
The owners are friendly and made us feel very welcome. The website for this accommodation does it no justice, - it deserves a personal visit!
Varese Ligure is situated in the Val di Vara where you can buy organic produce in a local cooperative. The produce available includes local cheeses, cured meats, honey and locally produced wines and olive oil.
John and Carmel Ireland

Date of stay: July 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 24Carmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018
Google Translation

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews