We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A real gem of a place.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Les Chauvins

Les Chauvins; 17th Century Farmhouse & Maison D'Amis
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Les Chauvins; 17th Century Farmhouse & Maison D'Amis
20ft x 30ft swimming pool, sheltered in the walls of an old barn The pool has a powerful jetstream to swim against (Sallow end 1m, deep end 2m)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Les Chauvins; 17th Century Farmhouse & Maison D'Amis
20ft x 30ft swimming pool, sheltered in the walls of an old barn
The pool has a powerful jetstream to swim against (Sallow end 1m, deep end 2m)
The sunbathing area from the Games Room to the pool
A view of the pool from a bedroom in The Farmhouse
Relax in our banana chairs and take in the breathtaking view
Have fun in the games room, with the pool table, baby football, darts, Wii bar and gym
The games room has everything for a party; Music, bar with fridge, space......
The dining room in The Farmhouse, with original fireplace is cool in the summer
The kitchen in the Farmhouse leads onto the bar-b-que and terrace area for al fresco dining
One of the two bedrooms in the north wing of the farmhouse, overlook the swimming pool
The Juliette room in the south wing of The Farmhouse
A queen size bed is one of the beds in the twin room of The Farmhouse
The Maison D'Amis, a beautiful 17th Century Cottage
The sitting room in The Maison D'Amis, with log burner, flat screen TV and wonderful views
The spacious kitchen/breakfastroom in the Maison D'Amis
The original antique French bed in the ensuite double bedroom, Maison D'Amis
A double bedroom in The Maison D'Amis
Enjoy one of the many terraces here at Les Chauvins
Fields of sunflowers welcome you to Les Chauvins
Les Chauvins can host your party. Perfect!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
8 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Salles-Lavalette, Charente, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Lucy S
Cotswolds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A real gem of a place.”
Reviewed 7 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed here with 10 members of my family and we had the most relaxing time at Les Chauvins. Madeline and Marcus were wonderful hosts and made us all feel welcome.

Our accommodation was immaculate, the pool gorgeous and surrounding countryside stunning. We were in the middle of fields of sunflowers and hay bales. We were ideally situated as local amenities were just a short drive away. Every morning a few of us borrowed the bikes to ride to the village bakery to get croissants and baguettes. What a treat!

My daughters loved feeding the guinea pigs and goats in the garden.

There was so much to do in the area but it was really hard leaving the lovely pool and garden!

Madeline and Marcus were on hand at all times and gave great advice of where to visit and dine.

I would have no hesitation recommending this holiday let and would love to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VixFin
Southampton
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything we wanted & more!”
Reviewed 6 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

13 members (3 generations) of our family enjoyed the most relaxing 2 weeks at Les Chauvins. We all stayed in the farmhouse & cottage & there was plenty of space for us to spread out & do our own thing in the day & then come together for dinner in the evening.

We stayed in the farmhouse in a beautiful, light & airy room and spent most of our time lounging in the sun in the court yard or down by the pool as we were lucky with 2 full weeks of sun.

The owners made us feel welcome from day 1 & their local knowledge is brilliant, those little restaurants tucked away you wouldn't know were there along with local events, we went to the local Bric a Brac & the Friday market in the town nearby.

The location was idyllic and I would recommend a bike ride to the local bakery in the mornings for fresh baguette & croissants as the views are stunning especially first thing in the morning. There's also a lovely little walk down into the neighbouring fields, along the stream & into the woods.

We got to the last day of holiday not wanting to go home & I would recommend Les Chauvins to both small & larger groups of friends & families as there's so much space for everyone to have some time apart & just relax as well as having the space to come together in the evenings.

Lovely properties, welcoming owners, beautiful setting & so many wonderful memories to take away.

How helpful were the directions to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property as it suited everyones different needs
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda F
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“YOU MUST STAY HERE!”
Reviewed 28 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

What a find! My extended family and I stayed here for 2 weeks. We knew as soon as we walked through the gate we had found a real gem. The farmhouse and Maison D'Amis are both VERY spacious properties and have been renovated to a brilliat standard - a home from home. Both are wonderfully equipped and lack absolutely nothing. The grounds and gardens (of which there are plenty) provide space for everyone to sit and chat and eat together (we were a party of 13) or to find an isolated little spot to have time alone. We range in age from 3 to 70 and there really was something for everyone. The pool was fantastic, DVD's and games a plenty and enough books to satisfy the most avid bookworm. The chickens, guinea pigs, goats and Sky the cat certainly kept the children amused for hours (together with some of the adults!)We had planned to go out and explore the area but to be honest it was just so perfect we only went out and about for 2 or 3 days Le Chauvins is so perfect we didn't want to go out! Madeleine and Marcus are charming hosts, helpful, friendly and coudn't do enough to make out holiday enjoyable. They were a pleasure to have met. You really MUST stay here, I really can't find fault with it, apart from the fact that we had to leave and come home!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Just everything!
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QuakerChe...
Chesterfield
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Brilliant, Brilliant, Brilliant”
Reviewed 19 August 2013 for a stay in June 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Just driving down the approach road for the first time I sensed it was going to be a good holiday. We had booked the Maison D'Amis which is the smaller cottage attached to the main farmhouse. A party of four adults we found the accommodation perfect, not small at all, we were shown the Farmhouse which is amazing and really large.

The owners are lovely, friendly people who really go out of their way to make your holiday perfect. There was a lovely welcome pack on arrival containing loads of delicious goodies to help us settle in.

The location is perfect, very rural yet just a short drive to a nearby town. There are many places to visit, far to many to mention here but you will find a helpful guide in your accommodation full of great ideas for days out. Having said that if its a get away from it all holiday you're after then stay where you are, you have everything on your doorstep; swimming pool, BBQ, country walks. This place has it all.

Would I go back? Oh yes, we are taking the whole family there next year, we've booked both the Farmhouse and the Masion D'Amis. Really looking forward to it

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2017
Bedankt voor uw recensie en we kijken ernaar uit om u snel weer met u te zien (sorry if this is a bad translation...but you know google translate :-) )
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing