We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing, Postcard Pretty”
other travellers have booked this property
Carbonnel a 17th century farmhouse.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Carbonnel a 17th century farmhouse.
Tha gîte comprises the left part of the house. Driveway to gîte.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
Carbonnel a 17th century farmhouse.
Tha gîte comprises the left part of the house.
Driveway to gîte.
Terrace.
Terrace view.
Entrance, dining room.
Dining table.
Sofa bed on ground floor.
Sitting room, first floor.
Sitting room.
Sitting room.
Open plan bed room.
Bed room.
Open plan bed room.
Bathroom.
Sitting corner.
Cooking at the fireplace...
Leg of lamb from local salt marshes...
Local Torteaux crabs...
Going to the beach...
Family seal...
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
La Haye-du-Puits, La Haye, Manche, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jonson D
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing, Postcard Pretty ”
Reviewed 23 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

The hosts Mickey (incredible chef) and Ricardo (yoga guru) have B&b down to a "T"! The place is stunning , comfortable and Mickey's cooking (dinner available 24 hours notice) is exquisite!!! Ricardo offers KCR (Kinetic Chain Release Therapy) which is a must for anyone who is in anyway stressed or tired, and hot yoga instruction in his hot studio (24 hours notice ). If your in the area or just need a little weekend getaway , then check this place out . You won't regret it !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2017
Thank you, Jonson D.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah P
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Romantic rural retreat”
Reviewed 11 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The gite is beautiful. Ricardo and Micky have thought of everything. The bedroom is flooded with light and you wake to birdsong and 180 degree views of the skyline. The night sky was full of stars and the mornings misty sun and the mood still high in the sky. Magic. We can't wait to come back when it is warm enough to sit in the sun on the private terrace and eat outside.
The morning delivery of fresh bread and croissants by Ricrado was such a treat.
There is lots to do in the area, amazing beaches and walks.
It is a very special place, run by very special people who have done an amazing job restoring the farmhouse. Wonderful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The style of the gite
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2017
Thank you, Sarah.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luke Jame...
1 review
“Outstanding!!”
Reviewed 8 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Excellent location! Stunning building. Located far enough away from the local town to give you peace and quite but not too far if you want to nip out for dinner or a day trip.To top it off the owners where very welcoming and friendly and clearly love having guests. I can not recommend this place highly enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The roll top bath
Liked least: it was all great
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2017
Thank you, Luke.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorna W
Guernsey, United Kingdom
1 review
“Secluded, peaceful and welcoming”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We arrived at the Carbonnel to be welcomed by Ricardo and Mickey who made us feel right at home. After a glass of red wine and a warm introduction we were shown to the Gite. The Gite was lovely, the light and airy rooms were beautiful along with the amazing views. Mickey's small hints of her heritage were reflected in the artwork which was showcased around the Gite. We loved the private terrace and happily sat out in the sun with a glass of rose wine.
Ricardo and Mickey were very helpful and had left us a map of places to go, they even printed out a timetable of the D-Day Celebrations which we had travelled from Guernsey especially for. Ricardo was kind enough to go and get us bread and pastries in the morning, meaning we could relax in the spacious lounge with a coffee.
The area of La Haye-Du-Puis is lovely, the town being only a 5 minute drive away has some lovely little shops, cafes and patisseries. On the first night, having arrived quite late we went into the town to find somewhere to eat. We stumbled upon Le Colquin which is a small restaurant on the main road, the menu was very reasonably priced and the food was very good.
The Gite was prefect for us as nothing was too far away, we travelled to all the D-Day beaches, Carentan, Saint-Come-Du-Mont, Sainte-Mere-Eglise, Bayeux etc without any trouble at all.
We would definitely stay again at Carbonnel and have recommended it to our family and friends.
If you do go, listen out for the owls and say bonjour to the friendly black cat!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful location and friendly hosts
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2017
Thank you, Lorna.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidHofb...
1 review
“Glorious”
Reviewed 5 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Carbonnel is set in the heart of the countryside with easy access to a variety of nearby, historic towns - and most importantly for us, the beach. Ricardo and Mickey showed us to what they called a secret beach, and it was a fair description - all morning and over lunch and into the early afternoon, we literally had it to ourselves for all meaningful purposes (I tanned more in one day than I had all summer, and the water was warmer than I had expected; at least, not as cold; my partner wore a half wetsuit - because she had one - but I didn't). And on our final night, Mickey made dressed crab for us (an extra, but modestly priced). I don't know how many stars Michelin would give it, but it seemed gourmet to us! It was just a fantastic place to chill and get away from it all. We will definitely go again. (I should note that access to WiFi is virtually non-existent in the residence - thick farmhouse walls - but works flawlessly outside on the terrace area that goes with the residence/gite. However, there is a flight of stairs to the living room and a further flight to the bedroom. I could not recommend it to people with mobility issues. But otherwise, I have no reservations whatsoever.)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The weather and location with proximity to great, isolated beached.
Liked least: Leaving... :(
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2017
Thank you, Davidhofberg.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$136
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing