We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nice dog friendly gite at a quiet location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of La Bucaille

Crabapple blossom at Gîte La Bucaille.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Crabapple blossom at Gîte La Bucaille.
Cosy nights by the fire Spacious Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Crabapple blossom at Gîte La Bucaille.
Cosy nights by the fire
Spacious Lounge
Perhaps a quiet read
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Twin room
Fully equipped kitchen/diner
Large luxury bathroom
View from Garden
It's a hard life relaxing in the garden!
The church at La-Haye-Du-Puits
Ruins of Julius Caesar's camp at Mont Castre
Lake at Mont Castre fishing & pedalos
Beach at Portbail
Le Mont Saint Michel
Memorial to the fallen at Omaha Beach
Anniversary of the D-Day airdrop near Sainte-Mère-Église
Clifftop walks at Carteret
Carteret Beach
Stunning sunrise at La Bucaille
Walk for miles on our local Beach at St Germain Sur Ay
The cliffs at Point d'Hoc which were taken by the 2nd US Rangers on June 6 1944
Beautiful beach and clifftop walks at Carteret
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
La Haye-du-Puits, La Haye, Manche, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Bziet
Dongen, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice dog friendly gite at a quiet location”
Reviewed 5 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

The gite is situated at a small road. Only cars of people who live here drive here. Very dark at night. In front a fenced garden. About 10 minutes by car to the sea at Bretteville and the town La Haye du Puits with several shops.
The english owners Melanie and Mark live next door with their dog and gave us a warm welcome with information and a filled basket with wine, cake and more ! They are around if you should need them. The beds were ready to go asleep, kitchen and bathroom towels are available, as well as cleaning stuff. There are dvd's , tourist information, games and english books in the gite. 2 bedrooms, bathroom with Central healing , kitchen and living room. There is a wood burning stove which you need in the cold evenings. There are 2 portable electric radiators which can be used around the gite. Free WiFi two hours per day.
We and our dogs enjoyed the stay because it was quiet the days around new years Eve. We only heared about two times a bang of fireworks at 12 o clock. And only a few times during the week a socalled bird scarer. So Normandie and La Bucaille is a nice place to stay , also in December with dogs who are afraid of fireworks.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterandr...
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great holiday”
Reviewed 26 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Very good, Excellant 2 weeks away meltham and mark very welcoming and a lovely welcome pack on the day of arrival so no rushing around on the first day

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOHNHEPPE...
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
285 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Wonderful campsite”
Reviewed 31 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Travelled with my wife and 2 young children. It's a little tight getting onto the campsite but once you get used to it it's fine. We were met by Mel and Mark who run the site and who are very helpful and always on hand should you need anything.
The pitches are massive so we were able to get our van, shelter and tent all on one pitch, all for 19 euros per night.The toilets are cleaned regularly and the rest of the site is also kept spotless,. The kids enjoyed the little swing and watching the chickens.
The site is about 10 minutes away from the nearest beach and 5 minutes away from the town of La Haye Du Puits which as several restaurants, bars, banks, butchers and bakers. Market day is Wednesday and it was massive. You are about 50 minutes from Cherbourg and about 45 minutes from Utah beach.
The site as 6/7 pitches and nice and quiet, there's washing up facilities, a fridge and 2 showers. We washed our clothes at the big Intermarche in the town, 4 euros for a small wash and 8 euros for a big wash.
There is WIFI on site so you can keep up with what's happening with the weather.
We really enjoyed our stay and if we're in the area wouldn't hesitate to book again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Could have done with a slightly bigger fridge freezer
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie J
Newcastle Under Lyme
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely Gite, Quiet location”
Reviewed 30 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Basically if you're after a bit of P&Q to relax which is pet friendly, you won't go wrong staying here. Ideally located a couple of minutes from the traditional market town of La Haye-Du-Puits and a 10 minute drive to lovely beaches of South Normandy.
The cottage is well maintained with a sitting room, kitchen, spacious bathroom and two nice bedrooms. The secure front garden has a south facing aspect to catch the sun. Garden furniture, sun loungers and a BQ are there for you to use.
The Gite is about 150 yards down a lane. At the end of the lane turn right for the town and left for the beach, very simple to drive about. The roads around the area are quiet at all times.
The beaches 'Les Plages' are long, sandy and un-crowded. There are lots of them to explore along the coastal road. Free parking at the beaches are the norm, also in the town.
There are two main ways to get to La Bucaille. The ferry to Cherburg then a shortish drive onwards or the drive down from Calais. With chose Le Shuttle because of the dogs not allowed on deck on the ferry. Journey times are roughly the same. Le Shuttle is the cheaper option.
Further afield there are the beaches of the Normandy landing. These are busier and attract more tourists but not overly busy. Utah beach is around 45 minutes drive and Omaha about an hour. There are lots of museums and I particularly enjoyed the Airbourne museum at Sainte-Mère-Église.
Our Hosts Melanie and Mark are very nice people and gave us a lovely welcome pack on arrival. We have booked again next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Location
Liked least: The shower is a bit small
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raveon69
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good location, very hospitable hosts, well worth a visit”
Reviewed 12 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Location Ideal for Normandy. The hosts were very helpful with info and guidance to the area. There was a welcoming basket of food already for us on the table. the gist was very nice and comfortable with everything we needed to make our holiday enjoyable.For English people having hosts who were English was an added bonus allthough this would not have spoilt our holiday. We will return some day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Our friendly hosts
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing