We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Tigh na Cala

'Tigh na Cala' 4 bedroom, 2 bathroom detached stone built cottage.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
'Tigh na Cala' 4 bedroom, 2 bathroom detached stone built cottage.
Living room Living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
'Tigh na Cala' 4 bedroom, 2 bathroom detached stone built cottage.
Living room
Living room
Spacious living room to comfortably seat seven.
Dining Kitchen with dining table.
Kitchen
kitchen
Dining kitchen
Utility room with washing machine, tumble dryer and drying rack.
Downstairs shower room with shower cubicle, toilet and wash handbasin.
Downstairs bathroom
Master bedroom upstairs with super king sized bed with cast iron fireplace.
Downstairs bedroom with king size bed.
Upstairs family bathroom with shower over bath.
Upstairs bathroom
Twin Bedroom with sea views.
Spacious twin room
Upstairs hallway.
A welcome pack awaits your arrival together with fresh flowers.
Detached cottage with off road parking and garage.
Secure walled garden for children and pets.
Garden with BBQ and outside table and chairs for sunny days. Dog and child safe.
Harbour in Portknockie.
From Portknockie, one of the coastal walks leading to the gold sandy beach at Cullen.
Cullen golf course looking towards Portknockie with walks along the coast.
Another walk from Portknockie to the next coastal village of Findochty.
Sunset over Portknockie looking towards the Caithness Coast.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Portknockie, Moray, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Norwegian first
Any
English first
DavidSc0t...
Galashiels, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent Cottage”
Reviewed 5 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013

There was 6 of us stayed here 06/04/13 for a week. The cottage is lovely it is a good size with plenty room. Has a great family sized kitchen with a large dinning table. Welcome pack on arrival really good. Cottage is in a perfect location which is great for exploring all this area has to offer. We would highly recommend this cottage. Many thanks to Stuart and Sharon for making our stay so comfortable..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Just like being at home..
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tanner833
Manchester UK
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cottage”
Reviewed 27 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We stayed at Tigh na Cala for ten days and absolutely loved it. Sharon and Stuart have made it feel like a home rather than a rental cottage. From the moment we (my wife and our friend Norma) entered there was nothing but the utters "brilliant", "great", "wow", as we looked around it. We have stayed in the picturesque village of Portknockie in other cottages before and they have all be very good. Tigh na Cala is the best of them, in our opinion. The decoration is light and bright, it is equipped to the highest standard. The beds and linen are of outstanding quality and comfort, (so much so, many a morning I had to be called down for breakfast) and we had the best nights sleeps ever on holiday.
Whenever we visit Portknockie, this will be our first Port of call (excuse the pun).
Thank you very much Sharon and Suart.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It felt like a home rather than a rental property.
Liked least: There was nothing about Tigh na Cala that we didnt like.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jo s
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous cottage, we have been several times, it feels like home by the sea.”
Reviewed 10 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013

The cottage is wonderful ,in a lovely fishing village with friendly locals. There are lots of great walks nearby and in the cottage are many infomation leaflets and books giving great ideas on what to see and do in the local area.

Stuart and Sharon have thought of everything , the cottage is so well equipped, the beds so comfy we find it hard to leave, and we have already booked to come back later in the year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lCumbrial...
Cumbria
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Fabulous cottage, best we've stayed in......”
Reviewed 1 June 2012 for a stay in May 2012

We stayed for one week in May 2012, the cottage is fabulous with everything that you need for a great holiday. The kitchen is well equipped, the outside space is lovely, the bedrooms are a good size and lovingly decorated. Two good size bathrooms...we highly recommend a stay here. You even get chocloates on your pillow!!! The owners have thought of absolutely everything. We walked along the cliffpath to Cullen beach then along the beach into the town. We were fortunate to see the dolphins jumping out of the sea at Spey Bay. We visited Dufftown, Lossiemouth, Portsoy, Cullen, Buckie, all very nice but none of them were as peaceful and quiet as Portknockie. Sandend is also lovely so peaceful, well worth a visit. If you enjoy Scotland and quiet peaceful holidays you'll love it here and you will not find a better cottage than Tigh na cala.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything ...hard to choose what we liked best but the comfortable beds were great.
Liked least: No DVD's ...would have been good for evenings.
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geirr K
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing