We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic villa”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Les Chenes

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Montguyon, Charente-Maritime, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jensenfam...
New Waltham
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic villa”
Reviewed 22 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had a wonderful week at les Chenes. It had been my twins birthday on the Wednesday and they had a present and card left for them in the villa which was a lovely touch.

We had a powercut the first night from 6pm until midnight but we listened to the live music that was being played at the Town Hall which sounded like it was in our garden!

Weather was good apart from 2 cloudy days.

Thanks for a fab holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2016
Really pleased that you had a wonderful time. It was a shame about the power cut (affecting both Les Chenes and some other villas in the community) but it was good that the Utilities company fixed it so quickly. There are wedding parties and fetes through the summer held at the Town Hall although they don't usually have the music so loud that it sounds like it is in the villa's garden - at least you appreciated their music choices. Love your profile photo which looks like its come from the pool at Les Chenes :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive M
1 review
“Lovely villa with fantastic pool and games room in a quiet safe lication”
Reviewed 21 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The owner Mandy made our stay at Les Chenes so welcoming from her excellent email correspondence to her phone call the day before we went and also on our return.

On arrival our boys were greeted by personal marked up gifts in their names - Mandy had totally gone one step further than she needed too along with the provision of the basics for our first nights stay.

The Villa has a fantastic pool and sun bathing area which also provided some welcoming shade on lovely poolside furniture.

Free WIFI throughout the villa both inside and out - a MUST these days for children and adults alike.

A well stocked games room, 4 brand new bikes, table tennis, badminton, goals, swingball, golf clubs etc. and a large safe garden to play in.

The Villa is in a quiet location and we used our car to explore the local area and beyond. Ideally we would have liked a few more local places to eat as we often travelled 20-30 minutes for evening meals.

Make a point to speak to the pool man / gardener - he gave us a brilliant listing of places to go. Especially try the market at Chalais, Jonzac evening food market, Brantome (amazing!!!) and St. Emillion (get yourself a private Tut Tut wine tour!)

Can't fault Les Chenes and Mandy!

Thank you
Clive, Chtistine, Lewis & Callum x

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2016
We're really pleased that you had a great time and enjoyed all the facilities which Les Chenes has to offer. In terms of places to go and eating out, aside from asking the pool man, there are also many brochures in the villa which can help and we also provide additional information at www.leschenesholidaylettings.com which now that we have wifi can be accessed from the villa. Totally agree with your comment on Brantome, it's definitely worth a day trip :) We hope you visit Les Chenes again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola M
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything you could want from a holiday home, especially for a family with young children.”
Reviewed 31 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We have just arrived back from our second visit to Les Chenes, another superb holiday with everything you need from a holiday home. The property is very well equipped and ideal for young children as the pool area is secure and there are plenty of garden games for entertainment in the evenings or when the weather isn't so good. Our four year old spent virtually the whole holiday in the pool or lazing round on the poolside sofas, there was no need to venture out. We would highly recommend Les Chenes to anyone considering a holiday in this part of France.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2016
Many thanks for your review and glad that you had another lovely time at Les Chenes. We continue to add furniture/equipment/games to the villa in line with both suggestions from guests and our own thoughts on what else we can do to make holidays even more enjoyable. The poolside sofas became a favourite area with our kids as well this year, comfy but with wifi still accessible (well, they are teenagers). We hope you'll come back to Les Chenes again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveP555
Liphook, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The place to relax”
Reviewed 26 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Les Chênes, (the Oaks), is a delightful villa in a very peaceful setting. If you want a very chilled out holiday this is the place to go.
If you go at the right time of year there is a field of Sunflowers across the lane from the front of the villa and grape vines next to them. The garden is massive and the gates to the lane can be closed to stop youngsters escaping, although there is no need to worry about traffic as we only saw an average of seven cars a day.

Mandy, the owner, was fantastic at keeping in touch and even rang us a few days before the holiday and again two days after we got home to make sure everything was ok.

The first surprise was the very kind gift that was left in the villa for our one year old grandson.
The welcome pack was one of the best we’ve had on our numerous villa holidays.
The pool deck is superb with plenty of loungers and a nice shaded area with seating and a table. The safety gate prevents youngsters from getting to the pool unattended.

If you do want to watch a little TV there is a substantial selection of DVDs plus plenty of books, games and CD’s.

The American style fridge freezer has filtered water and ice on tap which is great on hot days. The washing machine and dish washer are very useful too.

Beds were comfortable and Mandy even asked us how we’d like the beds configured and where we’d like to cot for our grandson, so everything was set up for us when we arrived.

We could have stayed longer and returned home very relaxed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful setting
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2016
Many thanks for your review. It's nice to find out what the crop was across the road this year, we were out in June and at that point it wasn't clear exactly what the farmer had planted. Your grandson isn't quite old enough yet but we've often treasure hunts round the gardens with a list of things that the kids have to collect (e.g. an oak leaf, a cherry blossom, mint, an apple, the list is endless) to win a prize - educational and harmless fun giving a little extra R&R time for the adults. We hope you'll consider coming out again soon.

P.S Seven cars sounds like a busy kind of day :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lightning...
Witney
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Total Relaxation Guaranteed!”
Reviewed 12 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We recently spent a glorious relaxing week at Les Chenes and cannot recommend it highly enough (apologies for the long review but we feel it’s justified!). The booking process and contact with the owners Mandy & Colin was effortless and very friendly, with prompt replies to any correspondence. The villa was easy to find and Julia & Dave (the housekeepers) greeted us with much enthusiasm. Once they’d shown us around the villa and advised of local attractions and amenities, we were left alone to enjoy our holiday, but we knew they were easily accessible and on-call should we need them. A lovely Welcome Pack was provided which included all the basic food/drink items needed until you could go to the local Intermarche which is only a 10 minute drive from the villa in Montgyuon (you definitely need a car when staying here).

The poolman visits once mid-week in the early morning and he too was very friendly and a hive of information about the local area. The villa itself is wonderfully comfortable, clean, spacious and very well equipped. During our stay we had a couple of rainy days but there was a huge library of (English) DVDs, games, books, CDs, etc. to keep us occupied as well as the games room itself and the WiFi and satellite TV worked really well.

We spent most of our week relaxing in or around the large pool which is solar-heated (as expected it was a bit chilly on less-sunny days but lovely when the sun had been out for a while). The comfortable poolside loungers were fabulous and we especially enjoyed sitting under the covered area when it got too hot. The peace and quiet was amazing, the villa is not overlooked or has any close neighbours and most of the garden, pool and patio areas are completely hidden from the road (we estimated no more than 8 cars passed by during the day). The villa is surrounded by the sounds of nature with crickets chirping and lots of birdsong and we’ll always remember the delight of watching swallows dipping into the pool to cool off in the early evening! A few small geckos were seen around the pool and we were visited by 2 local cats during our stay but neither bothered us. We’d also recommend laying on the rocking patio loungers stargazing at night… heaven!

During our stay there was the French fuel dispute so wanting to conserve diesel we didn’t travel out very much, however there was more than enough information provided at the villa regarding restaurants and attractions for all the family both local and further afield and we hope to explore more of these on our next visit (thankfully by the time we left to come home (reluctantly!) we had no problems getting fuel) and once back in the UK our security deposit was returned within 5 days.

Thank you to Mandy & Colin for providing a wonderful villa in which to enjoy the perfect relaxing holiday. We shall certainly be returning to Les Chenes as soon as possible!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet.
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jul 2016
Thank you Geoff and Sheila for spending the time to post these lovely comments. We are so pleased you enjoyed your holiday at Les Chenes recently, and that you are keen to return in the near future, to explore some of the many wonderful places nearby. Many thanks again for your kind words.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing