We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic.....AGAIN!!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Les Chenes

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Montguyon, Charente-Maritime, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Laura L
Bream, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic.....AGAIN!!”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We returned for second year and was not disappointed. Still as fabulous as we remembered.Villa is exceptional with everything you need, the pool and other facilities are outstanding.
The area too is magnificent, so much to see and do. We even managed to find an aerodrome where we were able to take a flight over the villa and surrounding area, brilliant!. Karting was a favourite with my husband and teenage son.
Maggie, the manager and her husband, were extremely helpful and friendly and she makes sure the villa is of a very high standard when it comes to cleanliness.
So all in all, another successful holiday which we thoroughly enjoyed to the max

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The area, the villa and the pool
Liked least: nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 May 2015
Many thanks again for your custom and your lovely comments. We are delighted you had another great time at Les Chenes and that you were made to feel "at home" by our Manager and staff. It was great to hear of all your wonderful new experiences, especially the flight in the small aircraft.
We would love to welcome you back again in the near future.
Thank you for taking the time to comment.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seppy71
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A beautiful villa with private sprawling gardens. We had a wonderful week in this lovely part of France. Spotlessly clean, very well equipped and large private pool. Our kids loved the games room and garden. Peaceful location and easy to get to from Bordeaux airport. Would love to return and highly recommend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Les Chenes, your comments are much appreciated, thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alibirdy6...
nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A lovely place to unwind”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The villa is down a little lane in the small village of Neuvicq. It is beautifully private but doesn't feel isolated. The property is well maintained and contains everything you could possibly need, including a good sized swimming pool and an outside eating area/BBQ. The gardens are huge, plenty of space for kids to play, and all safely fenced in.
Mandy, the owner, was very helpful and friendly when we booked the villa, and the information folder she sent us prior to our holiday was brilliant.
Maggie, the manager, was there to greet us when we arrived and called in half way through the week to make sure everything was ok. She was lovely, very friendly and knowledgeable about the area. Her and Chris (pool man) gave us some great tips on where to shop, places to visit etc.
A car is essential to explore the area, but there is plenty to see and do within an hours drive of the villa. This is a lovely area of France, miles of vineyards and rolling countryside, but there are plenty of sporting activities close by so you can have as active, or relaxing a holiday as you like. For bad weather days the villa has plenty to keep kids amused, including table tennis, play station and loads of DVDs, sky TV, books and games.
Word of warning, there is no wifi nearby so teenagers may be forced to communicate verbally!

The only criticism we have of the holiday is we didn't have enough time to see everything we wanted to, so this means we will have to return in the not too distant future!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very private, but not isolated. Well equipped.
Liked least: Steps into pool are quite high, might be difficult for anyone elderly or with limited mobility.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2014
We are delighted you had a lovely holiday at Les Chenes, thank you for your kind words. Hopefully we will see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birdie134
Bangor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Happy Days at Les Chenes”
Reviewed 23 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

What a delightful place to stay. Villa lovely and set in a large garden great for relaxation or for children to play in. Everything was perfect. Loved the solar heated pool. Good barbeque area. Plenty of places to visit each unique in its own way. Convenient to nearest village Montguyon. Cannot wait to get back and as there will be a flight from Belfast as well as Dublin to Bordeux it is easy to get to. Roll on next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it.
Liked least: I had to go home.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 May 2014
So glad you enjoyed your stay at Les Chenes, thank you for your kind words. We do try to provide a high standard of service and accommodation. Hopefully we will see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bream, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool
Liked least: nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$120
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing