We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$457
View deal
Hotels.com
Booking.com
US$458
View deal
Expedia.comUS$461
CheapTicketsUS$461
eDreamsUS$458
View all 14 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveller rating
59
4
1
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
59
4
1
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews martina seating specialties team treat palazzo garden
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 66 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2020 via mobile

Wow! I don‘t even know where to start!
If you are looking for a calm and relaxing stay, combined with a stunning personal service of the employees, this is the place to be!
The 5 stars are well deserved. We‘ve been to a lot of high class hotels and this little Hotel (just 13 rooms over all!) definetely earns the definition high class / luxury.
The room was amazing. The estate was completely renewed two years ago (it used to be a real Palazzo back in the 15th century). The whole inside and outside areas are well furnished. Style at it‘s best.
The service of the staff is execeptional! They treat the guest in the best way we could think of. There is no one to be highlighted, due to the fact that the whole staff is loving their jobs.
100% reccomendation if you are looking for a great time with your beloved person!
Yannick

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Vegas12121212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martina Provenzano, Direttore generale at Palazzo Ducale Venturi - Luxury Hotel & Wellness, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2020

Mr Yannick, Wow!
What a wonderful review, we truly appreciate your trust in us.
Thank you very much for your kind words. I can assure you that the entire hotel staff enjoyed catering to your needs as much as you enjoyed your stay at our luxury boutique hotel that is Palazzo Ducale Venturi.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2019

We stayed for 4 nights at the Palazzo Venturi, and it was one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. The welcome was incredibly warm, and the staff throughout our stay were unfailingly helpful and thoughtful, booking restaurants and suggesting places to visit. At first glance the town of Minervino is not hugely attractive, but once you have walked about it a few times you discover many beautiful buildings and it has an historic central square. The hotel itself is in a very grand building, which has been beautifully renovated. Our room was spotlessly clean, very comfortable and spacious. The swimming pool area was lovely - the gym could be a bit bigger and better equipped, but I think that is being remedied. Breakfast was excellent with some innovative dishes. My only quibble would be with dinner - it was very expensive for the food provided, which, while tasty, was not 'fine dining.' There are two very good restaurants in Minervino - Oregano stands out, and nearby Matisse was very good too. Overall a lovely place to visit, with lots to do in the locality (excellent sea bathing) and nearby Lecce is historic and stunning - take the walking tour.

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank dianaappleyard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martina Provenzano, Direttore generale at Palazzo Ducale Venturi - Luxury Hotel & Wellness, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2020

Dear Mrs Aplleyard, we are happy you fully enjoyed your experience at Palazzo Ducale Venturi and appreciated the area and its beauties.
We have very good memories of your stay and look forward to having you again as our guests in the future to present you all the news of our hotel.
Warm greetings

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2019 via mobile

Had four nights here as part of a package. It was absolutely amazing, from the attentiveness of the staff, to the excellent food and beautiful surroundings and room.
A renovated medieval convent, the hotel has sympathetically restored it to a fine hotel. We had a fantastic four course meal (expensive - very - but worth it) accompanied by local wines. Breakfast (included) was also made up of carefully prepared food, accompanied by local fruits and pastries.
The room was exceptionally large and comfortable. Serviced twice daily, it had period furniture, artworks and a large king bed.
Downside - the town is a very basic country town. No public transport, you will need a car unless you are happy to be driven by the hotel (at a cost) to attractions which are all 15 minutes plus away. Not really somewhere you wander around at night (not dangerous as such, but very closed up) so be prepared to eat at the hotel.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Liz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2019

Central location, this hidden gem is unbelievable. The saltwater pool, the architecture, the story is truly a special experience that I am happy to have found! Would stay here again for more than 2 days!

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WheninRomeIdothis2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2019 via mobile

We spent 4 nights at this hotel last week. First the positive, the cook and waiting staff were incredibly friendly and the food was very good. I repeat this again, we loved the incredibly nice cook.

Unfortunately, at checkout the front desk staff member “Frederica” presented us with the final bill, not only listing the additional dinner and the daily tourist taxes, but also the “remaining balance” of more than 1000 Euros as she claimed we had only payed 833 Euros so far through the booking.com webpage. While mistakes can happen, my wife and I have never encountered a behavior that followed, in particular not at a 5-star hotel. Instead of resolving the issue, which clearly was a mistake in their computer system, we had an hour long discussion that our receipts are wrong because their system shows that we only payed 833 Euros. We presented front desk staff member Frederica with the booking.com receipt and a printout of our credit card statement that showed that we payed for the entire stay already on May 20 with booking.com, $1700 Euros for four days. Frederica then decided to call booking.com, nobody helped us to load our luggage in the car pr offered us a drink while we were waiting the repeating 5 minutes. I told Frederica that we had an 8 hour drive all the way to Ancona ahead of us, but she responded that she will keep my credit card if we decided to leave. Eventually, they let us leave after having a lengthy discussion in a backdoor room, where they must have discovered that Frederica made a mistake. Other staff members apologized but the unprofessional behavior was not excusable. Needless to say, we received an email from booking.com a few days later that they are aware of a problem that occurred at checkout and that we indeed payed for the entire stay ahead of time.

Apart from the complete disgraceful behavior at checkout, the hotel also had additional shortcomings: no blow dryer, no coffee machine, no dental set, no shoe polish kit, no comb, and no alarm/sound system in the hotel room, and the shower was with a curtain, and as somebody else wrote in their review, form the last century with lukewarm water and a weak stream. Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the hotel, despite being completely overpriced, but the behavior at checkout was such an outstanding negative experience that we will certainly not come back. For those of you who do decide that this overpriced hotel is just right, please make sure that the hotel knows that you bring a car as parking is extremely limited. We were welcomed with the question “you did reserve a parking spot?” “ Oh yes you did.” Thank god, otherwise our stay would probably have started with the discussion we had at checkout. Check out our other reviews for other great hotels in Apulia.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank AndreHoelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalazzoDucaleVenturi, Direttore generale at Palazzo Ducale Venturi - Luxury Hotel & Wellness, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2019

Dear Mr Andre,
first of all, thank you for your kind review, having a feedback by our guests is always important and help us to improve more and more.
We are happy to read that you have enjoyed our chef and his cuisine, and we are desolate about what happened at the check-out.
Unfortunately, one of our staff member made a mistake, not realizing that your booking was prepaid through a booking.com virtual credit card. She got also confused about the discount you were asking for, as it didn’t appear in our system (it resulted to be external to our commercial contract but issued between booking.com and you).
- All our rooms are equipped with hairdryer, it is in a black fabric bag in the bathroom.
- We choose not to equip our rooms with a coffee machine: we are proud of our local blended coffee served in the traditional Italian moka, and our skilled personnel is at the guests’ complete disposal to serve it 24h a day, also in the room. Moreover, our minibar is included in the room cost, is out of charge and daily refilled.
- Dental kit and comb are available on request.
- Shoe sponge is available in every room, it is inside a wooden box next to the sink, and shoe polish is available on request.
- Inside each room there is a rope that, if pulled, sends an alarm signal to the reception desk. General alarms are in the corridors audible from every room, as established by the regulations in force.
- The palace is a REAL XVI century palace, recently restored under the control of the Authority for the Cultural Heritage, which has the important role of preserving historical building from too intensive intervention, sometimes to the detriment of comforts.
- For the same reason, our parking places are limited, available for free but on reservation, and we specify it on each website. Anyway, all our staff is always ready to encounter the guests’ needs even without reserving the parking place.
Please, apologize any inconvenience, and if you would like to be again our kind guest, we will be happy to show you the best of the Salento Hospitality.
Lastly, we consider of great importance the suggestion made by our guests, but it is maybe excessive label us “unprofessional”, and this is proven by the continuous eulogies we receive from Italian and foreign guests.
To demonstrate this, you asked us for a refund of your first night on August, 12th, a request which we promptly answered positively to.
I can assure you that all our staff work hard to satisfy the guests’ needs, and any disappointment or merit must be addressed to the all team and not to one person in particular.
All the Best,
Martina Provenzano
General Manager
Palazzo Ducale Venturi *****L
Luxury Relais & Wellness

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews