We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Salen Cottage

Salen Bay .The arrow is Salen Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Salen Bay .The arrow is Salen Cottage
The cottage from just outside Salen hotel the bay is just 1 minute from here Salen Bay
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
Salen Bay .The arrow is Salen Cottage
The cottage from just outside Salen hotel the bay is just 1 minute from here
Salen Bay
Salen Jetty
View from front of cottage Tide out at this point
Through the house
View from bedroom
Another view of the bay
Through the front door
Bedroom
Really cosy lounge
Kitchen
Kitchen Dining Room
Salen Cottage was built in1853 and was the old police station and the room on the left was the jail
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ardnamurchan Peninsula, Lochaber, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JoanneHer...
Hertfordshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Riddled with damp & black mould!”
Reviewed 17 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
5
people found this review helpful

The cottage is in a beautiful location and is spacious but that's where the good news ends. We arrived to find damp staining all over the walls and ceiling of the kitchen and living room and the bedroom was so damp that a dehumidifier had been left running by the owner .. the bedroom also stank of damp and mildew. The clothes cupboard in the bedroom had black mould growing on the wall. Mould was also present on many of the window frames, the inside front door frame and all round the bath. This cottage could be lovely but it is a health hazard in its current state. It needs a proper damp proof course and the roof has obviously previously leaked. The bathroom needs to be completely renewed and the whole place decorated throughout. the area is lovely but you would not want to stay in this cottage. We were glad to leave.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2017
We were deeply shocked and disappointed at this review left on Trip advisor especially as the visit concerned involved a four day stay and not one word r.e " The health hazard"
There was a problem two weeks ago with water penetration on gable end bedroom wall and a new drain has now been installed hence the dehumidifier in bedroom.
The cottage has been occupied since the. problem was addressed and arrangements are in place for paiintes to redecorate.
We noticed the slight damp staining on kitchen ceiling and had a slater inspect it. He is coming week commencing Feb 20th to rectify problem.
A new white bathroom suite was installed 3 was ago.
We are very proud of our lovely cottage and as you can see from previous reviews this is the only negative one we have had.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueBear6...
Ayrshire
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent cottage”
Reviewed 6 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Stays here for six days in August, the cottage is in a beautiful position in the village with excellent views over the bay and a thirty second walk to the Local hotel for food and drink.
The cottage has good sized rooms with an excellent bed and lovely kitchen, there is a large wood burner and electric central heating but we did not need to use them.

I would absolutely recommend this cottage, it is a great base for exploring around the area while being hand for food and drink in the hotel and supplies at the jetty.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna D
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely cottage and surroundings!”
Reviewed 4 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Cosy but spacious cottage with great views out to loch sunart. Enjoyed the log fire after long walks in the wind and rain! Stayed 4 nights over new year with my partner and dog we had a super time. Such a beautiful part of Scotland we walked around sanna bay, ardnamurchan lighthouse, loch shiel and glenfinnan.
Thanks Graham C.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig W
Bishopton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant wee cottage in the heart of Ardnamurchan”
Reviewed 18 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I (and dog) are just back from a terrific few days at this little gem in the heart of one of the most beautiful parts of Scotland. The cottage is terrific for 2 people, with a cosy lounge and fireplace overlooking the bay at Salen. The kitchen is nice and reasonably well equipped, as is the bedroom. Wifi was terrific for the Highlands, as good if not better than ours at home! A great base for exploring the area. Bring your own toiletries and logs/coal (some provided but if you use the fire like us you'll need reinforcements!!). We would happily return! Many thanks Graham!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosy lounge and the view!
Liked least: Shower pressure was not great but its a highland cottage not a city hotel!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgowmi...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely break with husband and dog. Good location”
Reviewed 10 August 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Enjoyed the stay very much. Great location handy for local pub (where dogs were also welcome). Climbed Ben Hiant, hiked around Sanna Bay (both a reasonable drive away), and generally had a very relaxing time. Cottage clean and comfortable. Enjoyed a bit of bird spotting with the telescope (although we have no idea what we were looking for!).

Good location to make the drive from south (in our case Glasgow) not too long but still enjoy a remote location with a shorter drive to all the corners of Ardnamurchan using Salen as a base.

Heating didn't kick in after almost 3 hours of the fire on on our first day but engineer was called very quickly and rectified issue with the programmer (unseasonably cold June!). On our last night local shop ran out of coal so perhaps make sure you're well stocked in everything you might need in case - there are not many shops around.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing