We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Heaven”
other travellers have booked this property
view from the lake
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
view from the lake
from the entrance dining room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
view from the lake
from the entrance
dining room
the garden
the garden
the lake
sitting room
kitchen
master's bedroom
bathroom master's bedroom
green bedroom
deskroom
toile de jouy bedroom
library
from the valley
swimming pool14mx6m
air view of la Chauviniere
the garden
the lake
viw from the lake
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chateau -
7 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Chateau-Renault, Indre-et-Loire, Centre-Val de Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
mollylily...
Montgomery, Alabama
1 review
“Heaven”
Reviewed 6 July 2016 for a stay in May 2016

One week of our lives we shall always remember.
We booked this gorgeous property to use as a base for touring the gardens and chateaus for which the Loire is renowned. But once we floated into our own private heaven we never left. We had our own Loire Chateau/ Garden experience which we did not have to share with anyone.
The chateau itself is magnificent. Built over a priory dating from 1520, the original kitchen still exist downstairs and is set up for dining if you want to feel as if you have stepped back 5 centuries.This floor also houses a billiard room. Both rooms have massive fireplaces.
The main floor is beautifully appointed -elegant,spacious,lovely in every detail. Beautiful, lighting , gorgeous views from every window,and books for days and days. The kitchen has every accessory, a fabulous gas stove and double oven, deep double sinks- a joy to maneuver. The master bedroom on this floor is large,airy, light and lovely. Ancient climbing roses literally grow into the room when you open the windows.
The upstairs houses 6 bedrooms, all lusciously decorated and most having en suite baths. The nursery made me want to borrow a baby just so I'd have a reason to use it, The floor also houses a magnificent library. It was a real surprise to find something so extraordinary upstairs on a floor I rarely visited (our adult children were living a very nice life up there).
The house itself was magnificent but the gardens and surrounding property were breathtaking - manicured formal gardens, perfectly maintained topiary, open lawns with large fountains and well thought out vistas, stone walled pool and pool house .A large gravel entrance courtyard overlooks a lower lake with a perfectly placed turquoise tea house to draw your eye across to the other side .As was pointed out to me, you could watch birds fly from above from this courtyard as opposed to the usual vantage of viewing them from below. Remarkable. Swans (with 6 baby signets), peacocks, geese, duck- truly enchanting. Sheep and horses in ajoining pastures.A gorgeous mammoth tile roofed barn.
We were very lovingly cared for by the family who oversee the property. They provided us with anything extra we required- barbecue grills, boots in every size, croquet and badminton sets and directions for walking opportunities and nearby shopping. We felt graciously "looked after".
The photographs on this property's website are lovely but they cannot do it justice. It completely overwhelmed my expectations and made a vacation dream come true for our family. We will never forget our time at the Chateau La Chauviniere.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house,the gardens and the exquisite property
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jul 2016
Dear Linda, I feel shy of these wonderful compliments, though I must say they rightfully describe what I also appreciate in this place. You have really discovered and understood the niceties of the place.
Thank you for your discerning appreciation.
Thierry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jo w
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful home”
Reviewed 21 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

There were 9 of us in our party - 7 years old on up to 80 years old. We thoroughly enjoyed the chateau itself with its many beautifully appointed rooms and very historic charm. (Note: the 73- & 80-year-old grandparents were very happy to have the spacious ground floor bedroom as it saved them from climbing up & down the stone spiral staircase several times a day!) We also loved exploring the grounds, rowing on the lake/pond, and feeding swans. And of course, the pool! We splashed and jumped, dived and swam ALOT while we were at the chateau. Pool side accommodations (mini fridge, dishes, glasses, shower & toilet) made lounging & playing even more fun. Thierry, the grounds keeper, Pierre, and his son, Alexandre, were personable and gracious and made us feel very welcome. We would stay here again without a doubt!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the overall "everything" of the home and grounds
Liked least: English instructions for washer & dryer settings would be helpful (small issue)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie...
Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful!”
Reviewed 28 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Our family just came back from 1 week stay at La Chauviniere, and we still cannot get over how beautiful this chateau was. Absolutely stunning inside & outside. The pictures were completely understating the true charm and beauty. When it was raining, our family (9 ppl all together) gathered in the library, which was one of our favourite spot, and drank great wines picked up from near winery. It was just such an amazing family trip that we all wanted. Thierry was always accommodating and very kind, and gave us all the tips and advice we needed, Pierre and Marie-France and Alexander were so warm and friendly throughout our stay. We will miss this place so much and definitely want to come back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BH8718
Vaison-la-Romaine, France
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A hidden gem that takes you back in time”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Better than perfect, this property is the definition of grandeur, hidden away in its own private wood, complete with lake, animals, immaculately-kept gardens, all different types of flowers and lots of secret spots where one can read or just simple relax. And the inside is just as magnificent as the outside! The decor is exquisitely done in total elegance. A perfect welcome was waiting for us as well upon arrival, thank you for that.
The hardest part was having to leave! Thank you very much to the owner and staff for a wonderful, relaxing few days.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lake, animals, nature
Liked least: Literally nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCollinsL...
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So good that we are coming back again”
Reviewed 31 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
3
people found this review helpful

This is a truly excellent holiday rental. The wonderful old house is beautifully decorated and looked after. The extensive gardens include a lake, formal gardens and a walled garden containing a good-sized swimming pool. We were made to feel very welcome by the owner, caretaker, housekeeper and gardener. But actions speak louder than words. We have stayed here twice already and are definitely coming back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It is beautiful and peaceful
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing