We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect gite”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Moulin des Gobards

Front view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front view
View of the mill from the canal Front yard with fun for all!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
Front view
View of the mill from the canal
Front yard with fun for all!
Entrance hall
Fully equipped kitchen
Dining room
Living room (with queen size fold out sofa)
Bedroom #1 with two single beds
Bathroom with shower (in bedroom #2)
Bathroom with bath (in bedroom #1)
Bedroom #2 with a queen size bed
Terrace/Patio with bar-b-que
Popette, one of our 3 goats
Fresh eggs every day :-)
Catch of the day from our stream
Havana & Diego
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Watermill -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Savigny-en-Revermont, Saone-et-Loire, Bourgogne-Franche-Comte

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
uncypetea...
Melbourne Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“The perfect gite”
Reviewed 6 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

My family and I had THE most amazing time staying at the Moulin des Gobards gite. Seriously it was perfect.

The location of the property is awesome, situated nearby to a beautiful country town surrounded by lush farmland, rivers and trees. Our 2.5 year old daughter particularly loved visiting all of the animals on the property and playing in the yard. A very special easter treat of new chicks a highlight, however the sheep and goats were my favourite.

The accommodation itself is fantastic and very well appointed, with excellent amenities and linen. It felt like a real home that was very comfortable for the four of us. The building has been expertly refurbished, so it's warm and also really clean.

The hosts, Isabel and Perry were could not have been more helpful, kind and generous. They made us feel at home from the moment we arrived and ensured we had everything we needed including fresh eggs, and advice on visiting the local area (we went to Baume-les-Messieurs, then to Beaune and then to the market at Louhans - all of which were great choices). Clearly the hosts have put it a lot of work to make the gite a special experience for all.

Overall our experience staying at Moulin des Gobards could not have been better. I only wish we had more time to stay in the region and enjoy more food wine and country lifestyle.

Thanks again to Isabel and family for such a wonderful four days.

** don't forget to give me a helpful vote if you liked this review.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane L
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Peaceful Country Retreat, Charming, Fun, Friendly”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Moulin Des Gobards is a charming gite. Very comfortable, with lots of nice little touches like the fresh eggs and home made jam.

Our hosts, Isabel and Perry and their family made us very welcome - sharing useful information about the surrounding area and even taking us out on the occasional trip which proved fun and interesting.They were the best hosts we've had yet - always there when we needed them, but never intrusive.

The animals (goats, sheep, chickens, ducks) were a nice distraction from (our) real life and something else for the kids to enjoy. Swimming pool and zip wire, along with our own private garden made this a good outdoor area too.

Inside the gite, we had a DVD player and a good selection of music and DVDs (though you might want to take one or two of your own DVDs just in case). A good range of adult books too!

WOULD WE RECOMMEND MOULIN DES GOBARDS? DEFINITELY.
(Our party included 2 children 11 and 15, needing chill out time after a very busy activity week before.)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The river, animals, spaciousness, friendliness
Liked least: Nothing really worth commenting on. If I'm being REALLY pushed, could have had a few more tupperwares /another serving bowl, but that's it.)
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mochabert
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A sanctuary and action base in the countryside of Burgundy”
Reviewed 27 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012

We stayed at the gite with a young child (2.5 years old) this year. We were here last year, liked it so much that we have gone back (twice).

The property has many charming features, such as a large garden (with swimming pool, trampoline, swings, zip line, etc - enough to keep children busy for a week), a farm full of animals on the little island on the site, and a river running through it (child-proofed). The gite itself is an old mill house, updated with modern equipment and chic deco at a high standard. My favorite part of the house was its kitchen, very specious and usable, joy to prepare our holiday meals in.

The place is located outside a very quiet country village, but quite accessible to many attractions in the region. Cities such as Lyon, Dijon, Besançon, Beaune are all 1.5-2 hour drive and good day trip options, while the area offers a lot of outdoor activities, We enjoyed hiking and long walks, via ferrata/rock climbing, and acrobranches (forest adventure parks with zip lines) and many are within 1-2 hours' drive again.

Another beauty of this place is that you can be on your own and independent in your gite from the main part of the house where the hospitable owner family lives, but they are right there to give you local news and tips,if you wish, and they are very helpful indeed. We highly recommend this place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodgen
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed 3 May 2012 for a stay in April 2012

From the moment Isabel welcomed us to our home for the next week, we knew we were to have a wonderful time. With tips on where to visit in the local area, help with booking rail tickets, the best lookouts to view Baume les Messieurs - we were given great tips from someone who has an insiders view of the area.

The Gite itself is beautifully furnished with everything you could need. Attention to detail is in evidence everywhere. The setting is magical - right on the old mill stream, bird song, a wonderful menagerie of goats, sheep, ducks, rabbits, chickens and an extremely friendly family dog - a wonderful break from the city, yet incredibly close (about 1 hour drive) to Dijon, Lyon, Beaune etc.

Highly recommended for a perfect, peaceful getaway. Thank you Isabel for sharing a wonderful part of France!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location & the Gite - both idyllic
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pooter_Le...
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed 11 September 2014 for a stay in July 2014
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Kleine kinderen
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing