We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful holiday”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Sunset Cottage

Bedroom with American King Sized Bed
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bedroom with American King Sized Bed
Kitchen and Living Area Dining Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
33 reviews
Bedroom with American King Sized Bed
Kitchen and Living Area
Dining Area
Glass Of Wine On The Terrace
Your 'Back Yard'
Enjoying the View With A Good Book
Winter Views
Fresh eggs for breakfast
Enjoy breakfast on your terrace
Nearby Roque Gageac
PYO from our veggie plot
Nearby river views
Garden views
Fresh tomatoes from the veggie patch in summer
Summer in the garden
Pick your own fruit
More from the veggie garden
Lots of fresh herbs and veggies for you to pick
Views from the cottage
Enjoy some of the local cheese with our homemade cherry chutney
Fresh produce at our village markets every Sunday
The cheese man at our Sunday market
Nearby river views
A local flea market in summer
Famous medieval town of Sarlat, a short drive away.
More from our Sunday market
Garden surrounding the property
Garden surrounding the property
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Rouffignac-Saint-Cernin-de-Reilhac, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
arniboy
lancaster
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Location Location Location”
Reviewed 4 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

What can we say. When we arrived you are totaly blown away by the location. WOW. Then a little later the cracks start to appear. Shall we begin with the access the only way to get to the cottage was across a grassed area that at the time of our visit was covered in all the rotting plumbs that had fallen of the tree that stood by the door. They make realy nice jam if you collect them. It was not posssible to leave you sticky shoes on the threshold because Steve did warn us that their fantastic dog Monty collected shoes and left them in the local cow field ( we discovered that he did the same with washing to). Hows about investing a little time with a spade and some gravel?
Ah the bathroom door, would not shut because Steve had used MDF as the door frame and it had soaked up the over spill from the shower??? Hope you didn't blame us for breaking it (see other 1 star review.
Now what do you use a Dresser for in a kitchen, let me think? Ah yes storing kitchen utensils and crockery. Oh not you don't you use it for storing huge piles of tourist brochures. In some cases 3 or more duplicates. The crockery and utensils you store on open shelves where the numerous flies (Remember the cow field) Walk all over them, making it essential that you wash everything before you cook or eat.
Remember the flies those were the ones that hadn't been trapped in the numerous spiders webs dotted around the property.
Now to the bed room,I have to say the bed left me speechless, or rather the mattress. THE SMELL. Clearly the mattress has never had a protector fitted and has never been renewed on a seasonal basis. I woke up in the middle of the night thinking that I was sleeeping in a Tramps bed. In 30 years of traveling the world and sleeping in countless hotel beds I have never come across any thing less hygenic and more disturbing.
We turned the mattress ourselves after the first night, so you might want to turn it back and put your nose to it Steve.
Oh Steve where we were brought up we were taught the it was bad manners to interupt people when they were eating a meal, having said that thank you for finding and passing back the keys we lost.
Oh when a dvd player breaks go and buy another one you don't ask your other guest to give you the one out of their room.
Guys you have brilliant location but you need to keep the investment in time and money up.
In short lovely location poor maintenance,professionalism and cleanliness.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2016
Gosh, where to start? I think maybe you would have been happier on a city break. To clarify, this is the countryside, yes we do have fruit trees and lots of grass, and yes the fruit does fall off and land in the grass too. Yes there are a few flies and the odd spider (of course we remove them every week but they will always come back). The kitchen is designed to be a French country kitchen, open shelves and old dressers, most people think it’s quaint. (It is clearly photographed in our advert too)
I’m sorry that the tourist brochures were in your way, we leave them in the cottage as people on holiday generally like to look at places of interest in the area.
I must apologise too for disturbing you to hand back the keys that you had dropped in the garden, we thought you might be worried where you had left them and want them back ASAP.
We have now replaced the faulty DVD but in an emergency, if one set of guests are not planning on using theirs that night and the others are waiting to settle down to a watch movie, it seems the most sensible thing to do in the short term. (I suspect you would have had more to say if we had not managed to find a replacement for you at 7 o’clock in the evening).
I will of course check the mattress protector (there is one on the bed) as it may need freshening up, thank you for pointing this out, it’s an easy fix and will be addressed ASAP. But mattress aside, to summarise your review, it seems you were not happy with grass, fruit trees, tourist brochures, the odd spider/fly, the fact that we returned your keys to you at the wrong time and that we replaced the DVD player on the spot for you.
As owners we are advised to keep our responses professional, but the points you have raised are making that quite a challenge this time. (Grass and fruit, really ??) So to any future guests reading this, I can only apologise if I don’t sound 100% professional this time. As hosts we are always happy to listen to any feedback guests may have and when we can, try and improve our service.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen H
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Peaceful holiday”
Reviewed 3 October 2016 for a stay in June 2015

Another great week very peaceful,lots to see and do in the area just not enough time to do it.
Our hosts Karen &Steve are brilliant,very helpful with information on the area and things to see and do.
We will return next year for a longer stay.
If you want a peaceful break then stay here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet
Liked least: Leaving to go home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2016
Thank you for writing about your time here. We'll see you again next year for visit number 3!! The fact that you chose to come back year after year, we couldn't ask for better feedback than that. Warmest wishes to you both K&S
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rinske G
Wellington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No shower or bathroom door - We didn't mind”
Reviewed 2 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

On our arrival night, we noticed our neighbours had already arrived and they enjoyed a quiet tête-à-tête outside the gîte. We didn't mind that we could still hear them as we are quite nosy and were perfectly able to listen in their conversation. Entering the gîte, we were in the dining room, kitchen and bathroom all at once - so that was really handy. My husband didn't mind as only one person at the time can open the fridge, do the dishes and cook and he liked it to be me.

The bathroom (used loosely) is tucked away at the end of the challenging small kitchen worktop as an afterthought but we didn't mind as it is really handy to get into the shower from the toilet in one easy step, so no need to get wet feet. You ask, 'why would you get wet feet?'

Well, on our first night - Saturday - we were told we wouldn't have a shower door as the previous people had broken it. We didn't mind - we quite like a walk-in shower. On Sunday morning, the bathroom door fell of its hinges onto my husband while he was preparing breakfast (or taking something out of the fridge, or doing the dishes). We didn't mind a more open plan arrangement of the gîte - this way we could see, hear and smell each other from everywhere in the room, which was quite comforting. I particularly didn't mind watching my husband in a steamy shower. The broken door was left in the room. We didn't mind - we incorporated it into the living space.

When Steve tried to glue the hinges back in the MDF frame they fell straight back out again and created some sawdust that was left. We didn't mind - when in France do as the French (even if they're British) so we left some goodies in the fridge and scattered around to show our understanding of customs.

After 4 days, we were upgraded to a curtain. We didn't mind this either as it felt very retro trendy and we were keeping up with decor trends.

The broken Sky box was repaired the next day. Steve Dempsey, the owner, really grasped the urgency of this inconvenience of having missed the football highlights, although I didn't mind.

The website and profile descriptions of Sunset Cottage includes promises of foods from the gardens, home-made jams and fresh eggs waiting in the gîte, plus two bikes to use. The jams were a pocket money project to subsidise a cap year. We didn't mind there was only a free bottle of wine on arrival as we are quite partial to a good wine, although preferably white.

The bikes were broken and Steve suggested a bike hire in the village. I didn't mind as I saw this as my way out of cycling.

There is little food storage space but we didn't mind as there was plenty of floor space in the bedroom and it made it cosy.

The bedroom is bigger than the dining room/bathroom/kitchen and has a fabulous big bed with five bookshelves (no wardrobe). We didn't mind.

Perhaps you could argue that it would have been appropriate for Steve and Karen to offer us a partial refund, or pay for a meal out for compensation for the unexpected open plan toilet and shower experience other than offering a second bottle of red wine (which we don't drink), but I didn't mind as I wouldn't have written this review.

The property is in a lovely quiet location, but it does need money spending on it to upgrade appliances, utensils, door frames etc as is it currently pretty shabby.

Would I recommend this gîte to others? Absolutely. As long as you bring low expectations, a sense of humour and mosquito repellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Oct 2016
Unfortunately the previous guests, who left the same day you arrived must have had some kind of accident involving the shower door and bathroom door during their stay. I can only guess as they didn't inform us of this during their stay and we only realized there was a problem with the shower door on Saturday when we came to clean the gite in preparation for your arrival. The problem with the bathroom door was only discovered after your arrival on Sunday and as you say we did attempt to temporarily fix it but it became apparent a quick fix would not work. We did then offer to fix a curtain (although not ideal the only thing available to us) IMMEDIATELY, but was told by your husband and yourself that it was not necessary. It was only later in the week that you decided it was in fact necessary and we fixed the curtain WITHIN HOURS of you asking. I do of course accept that the situation was not ideal. But under the circumstances I am not sure what more my husband or myself could have done. As soon as we were aware of any problem we did our best to fix it. Sometimes things do just break or are broken by guests and there is nothing we can do to control this. Now that the season is slowing down we have a window of a few days to fully replace the door and frame. And replace the shower door too. Both jobs are totally impossible when guests are here, as they would cause too much disruption.
The problem with the Skybox was reported to us on Sunday and was replaced the same day. With regards to your other comments, I do feel the need to respond. The cottages are clearly described as being next to each other. The size of the kitchen and the facilities available, are very clearly shown in photographs and described accurately. I am not sure what you mean by 'the bathroom (used loosely)' it is just a standard bathroom, sink, loo and shower, compact but absolutely adequate for a couple on holiday. I also have to disagree on using the term shabby. Our cottages are decorated every year at the end of the season, so even after one year of heavy use (we are fully booked) they do not have the chance to get shabby. You suggest the appliances need replacing. The coffee machine and kettle are brand new, a few weeks old, and all other appliances (microwave, toaster, hob, fridge etc) are in full working order. And even though we are at the end of the veggie season there are still plenty of tomatoes, fruits and fresh herbs to be picked. Eggs and their availability are unfortunately out of our control, the girls lay when they feel like it.
I do completely understand and accept that the bathroom door situation was not at all ideal but to give us a 1 star rating because of a missing door does seem more than a little harsh. I feel this has influenced your whole review, making your other comments inaccurate.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penzance, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 February 2016 for a stay in September 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sitting watching the sun going down
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
25 Feb 2016
Thank you for writing about your holiday here. Its lovely to hear that you enjoyed your time with us, seeing the sights and making the most of the peace and quiet. Thanks again. Warmest regards Karen and Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 September 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
11 Sep 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review. Its really good to know you enjoyed your time staying here and managed to pack so much into your trip. We know you still have lots you want to do, so hopefully we'll see you both again some time very soon. Thanks again, hugely appreciated. Kindest regards Karen and Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing