We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mr”
other travellers have booked this property
The Searle Lounge is cosy yet spacious with dining for four.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Searle Lounge is cosy yet spacious with dining for four.
Vulcan Lodge - Searle Searle Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
The Searle Lounge is cosy yet spacious with dining for four.
Vulcan Lodge - Searle
Searle Lounge
Searle kitchen
Dine in Style
The Searle's stylish Bedroom
Lots of Space
Drift from bed to garden on warm summer days!
Rhayader: market town and gateway to the Elan Valley
Mountain Bike Centre, Rhayader
Penycareg dam after rain
The beauty of Penycarreg Lake
Castle Mound, Rhayader
Winter Sun from Rhayader Bridge
Sledging in the Park
Rhayader by Nature
Waterfall in Rhayader
The splendour of autumn in the Elan Valley
Carreg Du Reservoir
Canoe on the Wye in Rhayader
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Llanwrthwl, Llandrindod Wells, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Chris G
1 review
“Mr ”
Reviewed 8 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

A fantastic place to stay with fantastic facilities. Excellent location with great access to North Wales and South Wales. I would recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2016
We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and your very positive feedback is much appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to post the review.

Best wishes

Elaine
Owner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
2 Mar 2016
It was nice to welcome you back to stay with us. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay despite the February weather and thank you for your positive comments.

Best wishes
Elaine
Owner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 10 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
1 Jul 2015
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review about the Searle Cottage. Thank you too for your very positive comments. The Searle is our most popular cottage and I think this is because - like you say - it is very spacious for a one bedroom unit. We do of course now have another spacious one bedroom cottage on the ground floor (the Tudor) which has been designed to accommodate guests with limited mobility and like the Searle it is becoming quite popular.

Thank you again for your review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Margaret...
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful cosy cottage in a lovely location”
Reviewed 17 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We had a lovely short break in The Searle in October. Everything about this cottage is superb. Although we arrived early Elaine was with us within 5 minutes to welcome us and show us around the cottage. The tour guides and information books were extremely useful, and the welcome tray with tea, coffee, milk, welsh cakes and wine was very much appreciated and enjoyed.

Everything in the cottage is as described on the website and it has been sympathetically converted to a very high standard. We loved the split level with the steps from the kitchen to the lounge and the bed has to be the most comfortable we have ever slept in on holiday.

We visited the Elan Valley dams, Llyn Clewedog (via the scenic road), Llyn Brianne (the 4 in 1 S-bend was an experience), and Devil's Bridge where we ate in the little tea room next to the car park. The menu here is a bit limited but the food and service we had was excellent. Our last visit was to the Gigrin Farm Red Kite Centre at feeding time. What a spectacle!! This had to be the highlight of our holiday.

We loved everything about The Searle, from Elaine's warm welcome, the excellent standard of amenities and comfort in the cottage. it's location and the added advantages of a café with excellent food and a well-stocked mini-market close by.

Definitely the best cottage we have ever stayed in - we will be back, hopefully for longer next time

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything about this property is perfect
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Nov 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Searle Cottage. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. It is always very gratifying to get such positive feedback and we look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Elaine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1davie1
Crewe, United Kingdom
1 review
“Glorious Mid-Wales Cottage”
Reviewed 25 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

What a sublime cottage this is.
We were met by the owner Elaine who made us very welcome and showed us round.
The welcome tray was much appreciated with tea, coffee, milk in the fridge, some welsh cakes and even a bottle of Merlot wine.
The information provided covered everything from all appliance instructions, walks, drives, doctors, vets etc. etc.
The decor and furnishings were all to a very high standard.
We can throughly recommend this property and have since booked another week in December.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of accommodation
Liked least: Leaving to come home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Nov 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of our Searle cottage. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the welcome tray. Thank you too for your positive comments - much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing