We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely fantastic! :)”
other travellers have booked this property
Kitchen come dinning area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen come dinning area
Downstairs plan Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Kitchen come dinning area
Downstairs plan
Lounge
Plenty of space in the lounge
Wet room on ground floor
Bathroom with shower over the bath with plenty of room
3rd bedroom upstairs. Double bed with lots of room
4th bedroom upstairs Double bed plus single bed
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Allonby, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
deanekell...
Wallasey, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely fantastic! :)”
Reviewed 12 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Our stay was very pleasant. When we arrived we were greeted by the owner who was lovely and gave us a tour of the house and two cottages. We were really impressed how stocked it was with all dishes provided. The owner even went out of her way to get us a muffin tin as we had left ours at home! Everything was very clean when we arrived and there was plenty of space at the dining table and in the living room for us all to gather. There is loads to do within a short drive and Allonby and the beach is a short walk away. I would definitely recommend Crookhurst to anybody and we will definitely be coming again! :)

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael L
1 review
“Lovely large house”
Reviewed 1 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Lovely large house with plenty of space for everyone. We had the large farmhouse plus the adjoining cottage and found enough room for 15 adults. The living room is large enough to accommodate everyone and the garden is nice to sit out in. Kitchen was well equipped. Only a short walk/drive into Allonby and the beach, and not far from the lake district for days out.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrLOSTY
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Does excatly what you would want”
Reviewed 12 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

A group of 12 of us stayed here for a weekend in October. The house is perfect, the rooms are larger than the photographs suggest and the kitchen was a good size for so many of us. The bedrooms and bathrooms were all fair and fit for purpose. The only downside is the low door heights, if you are 6ft or over you will need to duck under every door. This is common in buildings of this type and there is not much the owner can do about it but it’s still worth mentioning.

The location is great. Very quiet and tranquil with farmland surrounding the property. It’s a 15min walk along the country road to Allonby or a couple of minutes in a car. There is no pavement so I would not recommend walking on the country road in the dark.

The owner, Brenda was very accommodating and great to deal with.

Would recommend it.

Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
789kerryl
Upton upon Severn, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Perfect in Every Way”
Reviewed 3 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Once again, another fantastic holiday location, we had such a wonderful time last August holidays that it was worth the 5 hour drive back up again. This accomodation is homely and perfectly located to be able to walk into Allonby, swim in the sea, run around with the dog and our daughter on the endless sandy beaches and eat great value pub meals in town. Wtihin short driving distances, you are able to visit the beautiful Lakes of the district and many other tourist attractions. We love it so much, we have already booked Crookhurt Farmhouse again. The owner Brenda could not be lovelier, you just want to hug her. Brenda, thank you very much for showing us and our little girl around the milking farm & the adorable gingerbread cake. See you again next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: That it felt homely, not like a holiday destination
Liked least: That we had to leave
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
younggrah...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant long weekend.”
Reviewed 25 August 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Stayed in the farmhouse with 6 of my fishing companions for a long weekend,couldn't have asked for better accommodation,everything you require is in this property just bring your food,there is two or three places you can eat out if you wish,great fish and chip shop in Allonby( not to be missed out), i must thank Brenda for everything nothing was a problem if you required anything, i would recommend this property to anyone wishing to stay in this particular area.( fishing wasn't much good) thank god for the fish and chip shop, we would certainly come and stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property and location .
Liked least: The fishing.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$472
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing