We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy, peaceful retreat.”
other travellers have booked this property
From the cottage door, Enclosed Garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
From the cottage door, Enclosed Garden
Spacious room for table and seating View from kitchen to lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
From the cottage door, Enclosed Garden
Spacious room for table and seating
View from kitchen to lounge
open sitting room
Part of Kitchen
Other side of kitchen
View of Kitchen
Another angle of kitchen
Door to the enclosed area of Maid's cottage
Shower room with wash basin
Full size shower cubicle
Shower room
View across the open fields to Skiddow
Sunset over field to Allonby
Isle of Man across the sea  from Allonby
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Allonby, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Yeeeeed
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Cosy, peaceful retreat.”
Reviewed 26 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

My friend and I came to stay for 3 nights during the summer holidays. We enjoyed the peace and quiet of the beautiful area, making the most of the nearby beach and stunning views. We were treated to a stunning sunset and lots of wildlife on our doorstep.
The cottage has everything you could need from a washing machine to an oven, to lots of crockery and comfortable beds.
We were made to feel completely at home :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrisL608...
Spalding, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“EXCELLENT, the best holiday cottage for many years.”
Reviewed 20 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Cottage was excellent, clean and tidy, comfortable beds, sofa lovely to sit on after a day
out. T.V had a very large screen, not the small ones you normally get in rented places.
Countryside very beautiful and not to far from the lakes. The sunsets over the Solway Firth
looking towards Scotland are a sight to see as are the stars at night.
Brenda, the owner, cannot be more helpful and I would recommend this to anyone who is looking for a quite place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth W
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cosy cottage in a beautiful location”
Reviewed 25 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Maid's Cottage was the first holiday I've booked with a friend, and we were not disappointed. The cottage was lovely and cosy, perfect for evenings in by the fire. It was well-equipped, although the oven was a bit of an enigma at first (aren't they all!)
Allonby was only a short walk away and we enjoyed pottering along the beach (in both sunshine and rain!) There was a spectacular sunset on our second night, which was framed beautifully by the Cumbrian and Scottish hills. Brenda was very welcoming, and we assured her we would pass our recommendations on to our friends!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrisvose...
1 review
“Beautiful place to relax”
Reviewed 28 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Had a lovely time at the cottage relaxing in front of the fire on the night and visiting the beach and other villages through the day, Brenda was very accommodating hank you

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chilledou...
Uk
1 review
“Perfect retreat”
Reviewed 4 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Me and my husband stayed in maids cottage from 31st dec to 4th jan 2015 for a new year break. Lovely little cottage very clean, warm and cosy. Brenda is very friendly and made us very welcome when we collected the keys. The cottage had everything we needed, couldn't have wished for better, like home from home. We had a meal at the local pub, Ship in Allonby. Food was great and very tasty and portions were extremely generous. All in all we have had a great time and will most certainly be making another visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;