We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Exceeded our Expectations!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Captains Cottage

Captains Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Captains Cottage
Captains Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
69 reviews
Captains Cottage
Captains Cottage
Sea view to Criffel and Dumfriesshire from decking area
Sea veiw from decking area in garden
Our nautical but nice house sign
The roaring wood burner in the lounge area
Bedroom one with Kingsize bed
One of the beds in the third bedroom (it has two single beds)
The other bed in the third bedroom (it has two single beds)
Sunset view from Kitchen/Lounge window
kitchen/lounge window with sea view
walled courtyard next to decking platform with sea view
Captains Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Allonby, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 69 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ay47
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Exceeded our Expectations!”
Reviewed 9 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Having just returned from a stay here, we would definitely recommend it. The cottage was clean, comfortable and tastefully decorated throughout and it had all the home comforts that both ourselves and our children needed. Being directly next to the beach, its in a particularly unique setting which makes it even more special. We appreciated the sea view from the kitchen window every morning and our children loved the fact that the park was practically next door!

We used the local pub and chip shop in Allonby and the staff were friendly and helpful at both.There's lots to do in the area and we would definitely recommend the Clip'n'Climb in Maryport for children.

Our only regret is that we didn't book a longer stay, we were sad to leave such a lovely place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Apr 2016
Many thanks for taking the time to review our cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julieesla...
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 23 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

What a super place to enjoy the tranquility of the Lake District next to the seaside. Dogs loved the beaches and the walks. Accommodation was home from home with every needed device & comfort to hand. The picture landscape window with panoramic views across Solway to Maryport harbour to the south and the Southern lowlands of Scotland to the north were unforgettable. Log fire and wifi. Great sunrise and sunsets.
A really great fish and chip shop 100 meters from the Cottage, lots of other eateries in the village.
Will definitely be coming back here. Thankyou again for making such a lovely place to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert C
Blandford Saint Mary
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic Week”
Reviewed 3 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

On arrival we were greeted by Anna and her Husband and straight away we all could tell that this was going to be the perfect holiday home for the next week and we were not wrong. It's a very spacious cottage with every thing that you could wish for and even on the cold evenings the log burner warmed the place up.
If like us you want to visit the lakes or Scotland then it's the perfect base to start every day from.
Within the village you have got a cafe, post office/fish and chip shop and The Ship Inn for excellent food and hospitality.
This is definitely a place that we will be coming back to for another holiday

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stwrtd8
Wakefield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“lovely homely cottage”
Reviewed 8 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Nice cottage with plenty of space. All rooms tastefully decorated and extremely comfy beds.
Location excellent with wonderful views. Very enjoyable stay thank you.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shelaghlo...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“perfect in every aspect”
Reviewed 19 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

4 adults. one 5yrs and one 2yrs children had a brilliant time at Allonby in the captains cottage.Anna provided everything we needed for our 4 night stay.could not fault the cottage for its position,facilities and comfort.Kids play park right next door,great pub over the road.Plenty to do for families in Silloth and on the way to Silloth also in Maryport,no rip off prices for entrance fees,food or beer anywhere we went.Everybody so friendly.Would reccomend to anyone especially families,couples..will definately be going back

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: all of it
Liked least: having to leave
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing