We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Villa with a warm atmosphere!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Sagar Villa

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Betalbatim, Salcette, South Goa District, Goa

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

tellatrav...
Bangalore
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Avoid this place!”
Reviewed 1 July 2018 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed at this accommodation a few months ago during our trip with friends in Goa.
From the word go this place was a disappointment. I do not understand how this place has received good reviews. The bathrooms were probably the filthiest ever. We booked this place after reading the reviews which happened to be misleading. The home was nice but its upkeep was really bad.
After arrival we noticed that living room hadn't been dusted. In the adjoining dining area, the table was dusty too and hadn't been wiped. In the kitchen, the counter top also hadn't been wiped. There were no clean sponges, paper towels or wipes.
There were some used old scrub pads for dishes. The floors were dusty.
What was most appalling were the bathrooms, they were filthy. The toilet bowl hadn't been cleaned and was dirty. The floors were not mopped, dirt was visible, the shower walls had grime, soap scum, there was mildew in the shower wall grouting. The sink wasn't cleaned either.

Only good thing was that the bed had laundered sheets.
We all were so appalled by the whole situation and had to call the manager back. It was necessary to show him how filthy the bathrooms were and show him how the rest of the home needed to be swept and mopped as well.
After he saw all that, he said he would arrange to get the place cleaned. It was already early evening by the time we had this conversation. As we had made plans for the evening we told him that the cleaning would have to be done the following day, anyways no cleaner would have showed up at that hour of the day. Hence I felt we could do some immediate cleaning of the bathroom counter top, disinfect w/c surfaces and wipe the kitchen counters before use. These areas were the ones that absolutely needed to be sanitized before use. The dusty floors and dust on the furniture wasn't as important at that moment and could wait till the next day. I requested him to buy new scrubs pads for the kitchen, paper towels and a disinfecting spray for us. The manager was was responsive and was nice about getting the required supplies.
I took pictures of all these areas so that we could communicate with the owner and explain what we had been subjected to.
After the manager brought the supplies I cleaned the bathroom surfaces myself
with the disinfectant. There was dust and grime that I wiped off. We were there to have fun and relax and this is what we had to do.

But to begin with we shouldn't have been subjected to this situation. It was the responsibility of the owner and manager to make sure that the place had been cleaned before it was rented out.
It doesn't matter whether it is a 2 star or a 5 star accommodation, the basic hygiene and cleaning is an absolute essential for any hotel, bed and breakfast or a vacation rental.
We expressed our displeasure to the owner of this property, mentioned to her all the above, the inconvenience we had to bear and the time that we wasted during our short two night stay cleaning the bathrooms. We noted that if she truly believed in what we said, she should refund about half the amount. We left it up to her to decide, we had already paid in full. The owner was very good about it and did process the refund.
Our vacation was short but experience left a bad taste.

Date of stay: December 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2018
Dear Guest, You had expressed displeasure about the cleaning of the villa and we had explained to you that the cleaning was a one time issue due to some issues the cleaning lady had. Hence we had acknowledged and offered and given the 50% refund for your booking. We addressed this during your stay and subsequently as well.

A reviewer must differentiate between temporary problems and permanent ones and to write off the place and give it a rating of one is too harsh and unreasonable.

We are sorry to see this negative review despite your kind words in your final email to us quoted “The property is good, and the the location is very convenient for the beach. Once we cleaned the place we could enjoy it.”
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha S
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Villa with a warm atmosphere!”
Reviewed 22 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

This adorable villa is the perfect getaway for a calm, rejuvenating reprieve. With a beautiful pool just a stone's throw away and a beach just a 10 minute walk away, there's always accessibility to some fun in the water. Furthermore, there are plenty of excellent restaurants with delicious food and a great ambience. The villa itself was spacious and full of light, complete with a homely aura and a lovely view of a rice field. I would definitely recommend this place to a family or a group of friends looking for a charming place to stay.

Date of stay: May 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambassado...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely incredible place”
Reviewed 5 May 2017 for a stay in November 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Sagar Villa for 3 weeks.
What a little Gem!!!!!
The place is a perfect hideaway yet very close to everything.
One can practically feel the beach,standing on the back balcony of the Villa.
It is a secure gated community so definitely family friendly.The owner Samira and her partner were easy to communicate with.
I have to make a special mention of the caretaker John who did everything within his means to make our stay comfortable.
Just a small downside there is a need of a washing machine.I am certain Samira will look into it.
We cannot wait to book another stay at Sagar Villa.

Date of stay: November 2016
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaferlife
1 review
“Loved it!!”
Reviewed 24 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Very clean house with all you need. In a great location near beach, shacks and Nanu resort. Make sure to visit Joel's shack. You won't be disappointed with your stay at Sagar Villa.

Date of stay: December 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Dec 2016
Thanks Sid. Very glad you had a good time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agarwalla...
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect getaway!”
Reviewed 10 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We didn't expect to find peace and tranquility when we checked into Sagar Villa, 100 mts from Betalbatim beach and 5 minutes from all the fabulous eating joints around it. And that's exactly what we found! Stayed there for 3 days, cooked meals when we felt like, and simply put up our feet in the terrace overlooking the fields, swam in the pool, or simply lounged on the beach when we were in the mood for some hustle and bustle. Its an awesome place, immaculately maintained, at a great location. My family and I can't wait to go back!

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: location, cleanliness, proximity to beach
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.