We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Thumbs up all round”
other travellers have booked this property
400 year old cottage and shippon
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
400 year old cottage and shippon
Beautiful Open plan lounge and kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
400 year old cottage and shippon
Beautiful Open plan lounge and kitchen
Vintage decor
Kitchen
Barbecue   area .
Sipper bath.
Tastefull decor.
Front door
Outside area
Front view of cottage and shippon
Side view of shippon
Rear garden and shippon
Outside area with gas barbecue.
Side view of shippon
A winter wonderland
Feed the hens,fresh eggs,
Vintage outside decor,
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Eyam, Hope Valley, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Keri H
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Thumbs up all round”
Reviewed 9 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed in this property for a long weekend. Rick and Chris met us on arrival, a warm and very welcoming couple who had some great tips and pointers for the local area.

The house lovely and has everything that you need, a good kitchen and a lovely little outdoor area to enjoy the evening sun. The bedroom is airy and the bed / bedding was very comfortable.

There are, maybe unsurprisingly walks from the front door as well as some spectacular scenery / walks just a short drive away. Besides walking, Eyam itself has a deep history surrounding the Black Death and informatio is easily accessible, and Chatsworth Hall & Haddon Hall are close by.

Overall we had exactly the weekend we had hoped for, walking and a good relax in the peace of the Peak District - perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2015
Nice to see you enjoyed your stay with us,thanks Ricky.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miranda R
1 review
“Beautiful garden, fresh eggs, friendly hosts”
Reviewed 6 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The house is clean and spacious with some lovely little understated touches to the decor. The bath is splendidly deep although there's no shower curtain so I was a bit worried about splashing everywhere... There is a steep staircase to the bedroom, so probably it's not suitable for small active kids or anyone with issues of mobility. Our hosts in the adjoining cottage were very welcoming and made us feel able to pop over and ask them anything about the local area. And we had a basket of fresh bantam eggs which were totally delicious!
The best thing for me though was the little cottage garden where the chickens wandered - we were there in early July and the place was ablaze with flowers - really refreshing and beautiful, and clearly a labour of love.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jul 2015
Thank you so much for your review,glad you enjoyed your stay,the stairs were commissioned and hand made in pine,and are of standard pitch,thanks Ricky and Chris.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jensmum10...
leeds
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cosy, comfortable cottage - lovely location”
Reviewed 2 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We booked to stay here for an evening event at Chatsworth House - very convenient location. Eyam is a lovely place to visit - a short walk takes you to the museum, church and Hall, lovely tearooms and nice pub.There are lots of walks literally from the doorstep. When we stayed we had the added bonus of it being Tideswell's Wakes week carnival.
The hosts are lovely people giving us info about local area, the cottage is beautifully presented - cosy and comfortable. Nice sitting out area, parking a little bit tight for our Volvo estate. All in all a lovely stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and accommodation
Liked least: Car parking - a bit 'tight' for estate car
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jul 2015
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us,thanks Ricky.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
924michae...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay in a great location”
Reviewed 29 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Eyam is a very interesting village and a great place from which to explore the Peak District. And we really enjoyed staying in Ricky and Chris's newly renovated shippon - the standard of accommodation is excellent and Ricky and Chris are very welcoming hosts. We were there during the 350th anniversary performances of The Roses of Eyam (a play about the plague year) and they went out of their way to find tickets for us, for which we were extremely grateful. We would highly recommend it as a place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2015
Nice to see our friends from down under enjoying there stay with us,and all the fantastic history in the area. ,!!
Thanks Ricky.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin H
1 review
“A wonderful, comfortable stay”
Reviewed 11 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Beautiful, cosy and very well equiped. Chris and Ricky were fantastic and made us feel very welcome. A great place to come back to after a day exploring the peaks in the sunshine. Thoroughly recommended.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2015
Thanks,
It's so nice to see our guests enjoying our place,also this wonderful area of the peakdistrict,
Hope to see you again,ricky and chris.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing