We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressive mill complex”
Review of Cromford Mill

Cromford Mill
Ranked #3 of 12 things to do in Cromford
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cromford Mill is home to the first successful water powered cotton spinning mill. The Arkwright Society is an educational charity devoted to the rescue of industrial heritage buildings and helping to preserve the precious built and natural landscape in and around Cromford. Entry to the site is free, and visitors are welcome to come and explore the Gateway Visitor Centre, with information on all of the things to see and do throughout the Derwent Valley Mills World Heritage Site. Entrance to the first mill and 3D audio visual show of Arkwright himself telling his story is just £3 and tours of the mill are available for £5. As a contribution towards the running costs of the Society, there is a modest charge for car parking ('Pay & Display'). Cromford Mill also offers a wide ranging retail experience in attractive surroundings. All purchases make a contribution to the work of the Society - directly or indirectly. There is a selection of cafes and shops to browse in and around the site including an art gallery and charity shop as well as beautiful canal-side walks. Whether you've come for a walk, stopped to have a coffee or soak up some of the history, Cromford Mills is a lovely day out for all the family.
Reviewed 28 June 2018

Very interesting place to visit, the story of the owner Arkwright was very informative. I paid £5.00 for the tour inside the Mill but although the talk by the guide was very interesting I was disappointed that you didn't get to see more of the inside of the mill which is enormous and thought some of the rooms might be available to see. The cafe was excellent the food was delicious,

Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo T, Front Office Manager at Cromford Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2018

Hello Alison. I am pleased you enjoyed your visit. The ground floor of the Mill Buildings are open to the public , but we rent out offices in the upper floors, in order to bring in a steady income to fund our restoration and regeneration. The managed office space of Cromford Creative above the Visitor Centre does have a reception area and office space for people to rent desks on a casual basis, I am sure that we could let you look round that floor if you are able to come back to see us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (378)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"guided tour"
in 45 reviews
"industrial revolution"
in 31 reviews
"antique shops"
in 10 reviews
"world heritage site"
in 14 reviews
"water powered"
in 10 reviews
"willersley castle"
in 9 reviews
"interesting visit"
in 12 reviews
"historical importance"
in 4 reviews
"fascinating place"
in 8 reviews
"derwent valley"
in 16 reviews
"bric a brac"
in 4 reviews
"textile industry"
in 5 reviews
"cotton mill"
in 8 reviews
"visitor experience"
in 4 reviews
"old mill"
in 10 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 19 reviews
"small fee"
in 4 reviews
Filter

35 - 39 of 378 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

Visited for a starting point for a long walk via the canal as we parked here. Totally get the heritage aspect and the part played in industrial revolution but all we saw was an overpriced cafe, a cider 'wagon' trying to entice customers in and random 'historical' characters wandering about in period dress not being particularly approachable or friendly... Needless to say we didn't hang about here and went for our walk...

1  Thank Tarndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo T, Front Office Manager at Cromford Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2018

Hi Tandy, glad you took the time to come and see us before you started your walk, and sorry that you thought the Café was overpriced...most people say that we are very reasonable for what is obviously freshly prepared food. We are currently improving our Events Programme and so you will often find extra entertainment and activities in the Mill Yard on a weekend. Whether it be a cider wagon, costumed mill workers or a full on Teddy Bear's Picnic, we hope that there will be something to please most people>

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

Paid for a guided tour of the historic mill - the guide knew his stuff and was interesting and humorous - well worth the money. The mill is not what it was in the time of Arkwright but the trust are certainly bring it back to life and the guide did make us imagine what it was like in its time. Also paid for the Arkwright experience (Special rate of £8.00 for both the tour and the Arkwright experience) the mail also houses a few antique shops as well as a café and Shop. - well worth a visit - note that parking is pay and display outside the mill.

Thank den c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo T, Front Office Manager at Cromford Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Thanks for your review Den, and glad you enjoyed your visit. The car parking monies go directly into keeping the site up and running.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

I first visited this some years ago when restoration work had just started.This was my father's day choice.

This large site is still a work in progress but a lot has been achieved. We took the combined ticket for the visitor centre and the guided tour. The visitor centre concentrates on the life of Sir Richard Arkwright, the highlight being the audio visual display in the initial mill building. We were led by a very accomplished guide.

We managed to grab a drink and scone in the excellent cafe before embarking on the guided tour with Philip, another excellent guide. This started inn a room with examples of the spinning machinery. We were shown a short video and the Philip took us around the site exposing how the site expanded and how the water courses were organised to best serve the water wheels required to power the water wheels. He also explained why these mills were made obsolete when the buildings used wood joists, so they were too narrow for the newer, bigger machines.

Taken in conjunction with the other historical gems at Cromford, a marvellous historic area.

Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo T, Front Office Manager at Cromford Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Hi John,

A good Fathers Day choice for a visit! We are very proud of our guides who are all volunteers with us and absolutely crucial to the running of Cromford Mills as a visitor attraction. Pleased that you can see the difference that has taken place over the last few years...it has certainly taken a lot of work!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2018

We were a bit disappointed with what we found at the venue. To say this was the place where the Industrial Revolution of the textile industry started it lacked the wow factor. They presented a good outline by projected image of the story of the site, but it lacked any form of reproductive model of the machinery that would have been housed here. Only sketches gave an idea of what they looked like. A few miles away at Masons Mill there were working machines of a later period of Arkwright's other works. This exhibit was tucked away in what is now a factory shopping centre outlet. It would be well worth Cromford Mill having this relocated to their site to enhance their exhibition and remove it from what is a shopping experience.

Thank stewart l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo T, Front Office Manager at Cromford Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Hi Stewart. We too would love to have some original machinery to display, but unfortunately it is not as simple as just relocating it from somebody else's Mill...I think they would have something to say!! When the Arkwright Society raised the money to purchase the Cromford Mills site in the 1970's, the Mills were derelict and in danger of being demolished. I think you will agree that we have brought them a long way since then, and all the money that we continue to raise through events and ticket monies go towards restoring and maintaining the buildings, and developing us as a visitor attraction. Some original machinery would certainly be on our wish list too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cromford Mill also viewed

 
Matlock, Derbyshire
Cromford, Matlock
 

Been to Cromford Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing