We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent romantic getaway”
Private hot tub
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private hot tub
Lodge Living/dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
102 reviews
Private hot tub
Lodge
Living/dining area
Outside the Sauna
Sauna
Our Gazebo over looking our beach and Loch Tay
Interior of grill house with hot tub
Lodge and hot tub hut
View over Loch Tay
On the Loch in the Canadian Canoe
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Fearnan, Loch Tay, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 102 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Andrew M
Elgin, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent romantic getaway”
Reviewed 2 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

My wife booked the lodge for our 10 year anniversary and it did not disappoint as what it promised in the travel guide. A few of my wife's friends have stayed previously and could not fault it when they recommended it to us.

The lodge is idyllic and just the right size for a couple to get away from it all, the furniture is nice and comfortable, an excellently comfortable bed, and the welcome gift that awaits is a really nice and personal touch that we both appreciated.

The outside hot tub was just the ticket for relaxing in and the outside speakers are a nice addition too.

The location to local amenities is just about right and the views out to the loch are great. The beach side gazebo was picturesque with covers to shelter from the wind if necessary.

Overall we both had an amazing time, it was a great retreat to just forget about the normalities of life and enjoy time in each others company. I cant praise Ali enough for what she is able to provide.

I would make one recommendation though, a chimmenea or wood fired bowl on the outside veranda would be a great addition.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2015
Thanks very much for your comments, I'm really pleased you enjoyed your stay at Birchwood. Thanks for your suggestion, we're actually about to incorporate the grill house below the Lodge into the Lodge garden in the near future - so this will provide somewhere that guests can sit with a fire and BBQ. Hope to welcome you back some time. Ali
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jen C
Forfar, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful loch Tay!”
Reviewed 11 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We returned from our little break to birch wood on Friday and we are still suffering from the holiday blues! We had such a great time. The lodge is beautiful and has such a nice cosy, homely feel. The private beach and its views are beautiful and the hot tub and sauna are such great way to relax and unwind!
Our second stay at the lodge and we'll most definitely be back :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 May 2015
Thanks very much for your review. I'm glad you had a lovely time and had the weather to enjoy the views up the Loch. Thanks for visiting Birchwood, Ali. :o)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calrae201...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Luxurious solitude!”
Reviewed 10 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

My girlfriend and I enjoyed a thoroughly relaxing stay at Birchwood. Easy to find thanks to Ali's clear directions, with a bottle of wine awaiting us on our arrival - we enjoyed ourselves from the first minute to the last. The lodge itself is well appointed with everything you might need, and the sauna and hot tub really set it apart from other places we've stayed. The real gem though is the (private) beach. Sitting down by the water with a nice beer and a good book was bliss! Already looking for an excuse to go back...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beach, hot tub, isolation
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 May 2015
Thanks very much for your review - I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay at Birchwood. I hope you do find an excuse to come back! Ali :o)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria...
Emsworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Honeymoon Stay”
Reviewed 22 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed at Birchwood Lodge during our recent honeymoon in Scotland. We had a wonderful stay. The lodge is cosy and spacious. Ali had thought of everything. Coming back in the evenings after a walk in the hills to a sauna and hot tub was a real treat. We were lucky to have some fine weather and the views over the loch and the beach were fantastic. We look forward to visiting again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Apr 2015
Thanks very much for your review - I'm glad you enjoyed your Honeymoon at Birchwood. I think you got some fabulous weather too ... which just adds to the experience. Maybe not warm enough for swimming at the beach yet though!! :o)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lois C
Darvel, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Total relaxation”
Reviewed 10 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

A lovely lodge for two, situated a 40 second stroll from the banks of loch tay. It is on the hillside with great view so the loch. The lodge has it's own small private beach with a gazebo to admire the most perfect views of the mountains reflecting the loch. It is very quiet. The odd car on the road, but predominantly the sounds are wild birds - jays, woodpeckers, robins, wrens, pheasants a plenty. There are a load of walks and cycle paths and then the lodge has it's own immaculate sauna and hottub to recover from any outdoor activities.
Every amenity and implement is provided in the lodge, including towels and fluffy robes. My husband and I are tall and we have an extra big bed at home. The lodge bed is a double so it was a bit neat. However it was very comfortable and we were shattered with cycling and fresh air, so we slept fairly well. The nearest village is the beautiful Kenmore, with a few good eateries. We liked the restaurant next to the crannog centre the best for food and service .
If you love the outdoors, want to chill, suit yourself and include a bit of romance with your other half, you would be hard pushed to find anything better than this.
We are already working out annual leave for a return trip.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The whole package
Liked least: The weak electric shower
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2015
I'm really glad you enjoyed your break - thanks for the suggestion of popping a bird book in the Lodge in your email, I think that's a great idea. I would love to put a King or Superking in the Lodge - but as you know the bedroom is snug ... however I have tried to make up for the Double Bed by making it a super comfy one!! Thanks for your comments. :o)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing