We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very Pleasant Beach Front Stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 2a island view

Barton on Sea
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Barton on Sea
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
20 reviews
Barton on Sea
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Barton-on-Sea, New Milton, New Forest, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Clare J
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant Beach Front Stay”
Reviewed 7 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Just stayed here for two weeks whilst visiting family. Great proximity to the beach with a lovely cafe and some shops across the road. Very homely and well equipped. Despite the cold weather, we were very toasty inside. As we were staying over the Christmas period, it was a nice touch to have some simple festive decorations and we were provided with an unexpected but most welcomed, arrival package of milk, biscuits etc. Would definitely stay again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FASandBAS
Horley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our favourite”
Reviewed 26 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

This is a wonderful flat in a wonderful location, but then we are biased as we love the Barton area as a holiday destination. Be sure to check out the Smuglers Inn in Milford.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen H
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Adequate, but not more”
Reviewed 13 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We (a 60-ish couple) stayed for 10 days at this property, whilst in the area for a family reunion. It's an older, converted, property that is tiring, its condition not assisted by the sea air which is part and parcel of its beachside location. It needs some care and attention, for example, showerhead is cracked, and water flows copiously from back of the showerhead. The WC needs a plumber to fix the continual water running.

The sole lightbulb illuminating the steep and dark stairs leading up from the front door was not working for our entire visit - the landlady was aware of this but didn't organise for a tradesman with a tall ladder to fix the issue. Also, I don't find it acceptable for 240v permanent cabling to be run across the sitting room carpet, without plastic conduit. The fuses blew twice during our stay.

To her credit, the landlady checked at time of booking that the access arrangements (steep stairs at both front and back) were OK for us. The stairs would be unsuitable for anyone with mobility issues.

Location is good, if you are looking for a simple, quiet, seaside location. Car mandatory.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2017
Thank you for your response, I am sorry about the light bulb- as I didn't hear from you-I didn't want to disturb you on your holiday and assumed you were ok. Obviously all light bulbs are now working and replaced. We also now have a new shower head and mixer tap in the bathroom. With holiday let's, especially in the summer it is hard to keep ontop of everything the moment it happens as there is very little time between let's.

It was newly decorated last year and we had a new fridge, oven, freezer and dining chairs put in earlier this year. We intend on getting new carpets, sofas and bar stools this winter to help keep it up to date.

With regards to the cable you mentioned it is the sky Ariel cable that runs along the wall. It is of no danger as it's not a power supply.

Kind regards
Tara
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M W
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Tranquil and Relaxing”
Reviewed 11 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

My family and I stayed at Island View for a 5 days at the end of June, we had a lovely peaceful stay. Taking walks along the pebble beach and cliff top, enjoying the ice cream parlour across the road and the Cliff House was a great place to wind down and dine in the evenings.
We also visited a nearby sandy beach at Highcliffe, the house there wasn't worth visiting (2 rooms of red brick) but the beach is a definitely must if you are in the area.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing